We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ticked all the Olympic boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dillons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dillons Hotel
Ranked #283 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ticked all the Olympic boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay at reasonable rates over the Olympics which was probably a big ask but we found the Dillons which we were very pleasently surprised with. The house is a lovely old house with a borrowers style front door. The area it is in is a lovely leafy part of London and the street is very nice and feels very safe. We were out at 6:30am every morning to get to the Olympic park which was very easily served by Hampstead Heath train line. The pubs being the George at the top of the road and The Garden Gate are really nice and welcoming. Scott the barman in The George is a legend. Overall the rooms were fairly large as we were staying in a 3 they aren't The Ritz as the decor is a little dated but everywhere is spotless. I was concerned about sharing a bathroom as I have never done this but there are multiple showerooms which fit the bill perfectly. Basically we were after PRICE, area, cleanliness and it ticked every box. I don't know anywhere we could have stayed in such a great location for 2 nights during the Olympics for Premier Inn prices per person. Excellent. Then to cap it off we had to leave the room early again by 6:30am but had to check out by 10am, this left us with a problem in regards to our bags. We forgot to arrange anything the night before and were rather cheeky and just left our bags packed in the room and then called the hotel after the breakfast service was done and advised/apologised but they couldn't be more helpful and were more interested that we enjoyed the sport we were watching than our bags. When we got back the bags were waiting for us in reception and they were brilliant about it. If you want a cheap and cheerful no bells stay in London I can't rate Dillons Hotel more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
18
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseau, Dominica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Were desperate looking for a hotel in the area, but I guess with pre - Olympic rush all hotels were full, ended up finding a room in this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised when we got there, it has a lot of character..it is old, but room was comfortable and clean. We did pay a lot more than the prices people quote on other reviews.... but as I said we were their very close to the Olympic Games, so I guess we paid the price!
As other reviewers have mentioned I personally didn't interact with the staff since we got there after 5, and picked up key from table, but this really didn't bother me. Staff was very friendly over the phone when we called to make the booking and very accommodating since we needed an extra bed for my 4 year old. Over all if I had to stay in the area and didn't want to spend a lot in accommodation I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadezkda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived here after spending a week at wonderful B&Bs in Ireland. The quality of Dillons in comparison was a major shock.
There was no one there to greet us. We rang the doorbell several times, and a few minutes later, a rather disheveled looking guest (I think!) let us in. The place had a very unpleasant odor, and the hallways had poorly maintained features. Our room smelled extremely musty and the beds were basically squishy sponges. Having traveled quite far, and stayed in much nicer B&Bs, we were not gonna waste one pence on this place, since we would be in London for the week. We packed our bags right up and moved to the Crowne Plaza (a wonderful place in a fantastic location).
An even more unpleasant statement of Dillons is that when we contacted them to complain, they refused to even refund the cost of the first night, we didn't even stay there.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Dillons is a good quality old B&B that is dated in its decor but well maintained. The office is not manned all the time so when we needed an iron in the afternoon we couldn’t find one and there was no one around to help. There was noise from other rooms in the hotel but this was to be expected in an old converted mansion block like this. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable and there is a great continental breakfast supplied in the breakfast room in the morning. The staff, when around, were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in North London. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is clean and confortable, toilet 1 floor down, the area is very silent, no noise from traffic. Metro station (Belsite park) is very close to the hotel (5 min walking).
Breakfast is totally disappointing and very poor, only few marmelades boxes, no salt food, you can ask some toasted bread.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely location, but rather disappointing in other respects,

My bedroom was clean,but very basic. The bathroom was unheated and a mix of old exposed piping and the shower cubicle was tiny and quite horrible.

As for "breakfast" ..........only one word. YUK !

As a cheap-ish hotel in a prime London location it is adequate, but don't expect anything but basic( albeit clean) accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend in october, Our room was nice , fresh and very clean, The bathroom was ok, I felt a few things could be updated but for the price I cant really complain. Cant comment on the breakfast as I slept through it. The staff were very friendly,
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juno34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#483 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avoca House Hotel
Avoca House Hotel
#172 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Guest House
The Gardens Guest House
#42 of 556 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmore Suites
Glenmore Suites
#202 of 774 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons Hotel

Property: Dillons Hotel
Address: 21 Belsize Park | Hampstead, London NW3 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dillons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Dillons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dillons Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing