We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small Rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crestfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crestfield Hotel
Ranked #531 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Small Rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Price was OK for the night... I wouldn't say I got value for money, we were on the top floor of the hotel with heavy suitcases as we were headed to Paris the next day, so that was fun! The hotel did not have lifts which was not helpful at all. The stairs were narrow and somewhat rickety. The room was small and wonky, the bathroom not especially clean though surprisingly powerful shower though not great with draining. It was very warm in the room, no A/C. The breakfast was OK, just bread/cereals/ham/cheese, though again where we ate was small.

I have two good points about the hotel, the staff were very helpful and the location is amazing if you want to be close to King's Cross/St. Pancras. Otherwise, not great value for money, and very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank propapanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    367
    245
    62
    48
See reviews for
149
257
98
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel for nearly a week. The position of the hotel is very convenient to Kings Cross and St Pancras train stations, only a few minutes walk. The room was very airy and clean, with crisp white bedding, which was changed every 3 days. We were provided with fresh towels every day. The free WI FI was very good which made my son very happy. Breakfast continental and plentiful. There is no lift, so not too good for those who cannot go up stairs and one thing I missed was the land line in the room. Otherwise we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and it looked on to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

There is very little positive about this place. The personell is friendly but unprofessional and the location is convenient. Apart from these the hotel is dreadful. The beds are short and narrow, the room is only superficially cleaned every second day, the internet is free bzt unstable and exremely slow. They messed up my receipt did not react to my request for a vegan breakfast. The shower is dirty and the sink at the height of your knees.

Helpful?
Thank grumpycrum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a family room for the four of us. It was small but acceptable, The price was right and the location was great just a block from St. Pancras/King's Cross. The breakfast was OK - cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, plain yogurt, ham and cheese and juice. The staff was friendly. Free wi-fi worked fine for us.

Now for the cons. We were fortunate we only had carry-on size luggage as there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow (We were on the third level). The bathroom was very small with a floor drain in the middle. After taking a shower the floor of the bathroom was all wet. We asked for a couple of extra towels so we could mop up the floor so the floor was dry after showers were done. Also no A/C or fan in the room. We never felt like the room got cooled down sufficiently at night (we were there in late June and the highs were in the 70s - would have thought it would be more comfortable). Overall it was OK, but we were at the hotel only for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

good price, location to most tourist spots and next to st pancras... what more can u ask for ?
we arrive at 8am on first day n they were kind enough to serve us free breakfast before we explore the city. staff are friendly and helpful n room size was not as small as mention n I'm 6 ft tall.
only thing is wo lift and wifi is slow at time otherwise go for it...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 701kenny069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was very nice and clean, but as the whole London, they were very short on space. The rooms are too small, you can not turn around in it. Breakfast was quite descent, but once when we went later, they literally wanted to throw us out. Girl went from table to table saying the breakfast is finished, even if we were still eating. Everything else was great!

Room Tip: 50 was a fine room but it is on the ground floor, I suppose it is better on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This small hotel is located only steps from St. Pancras RR Station. There are quite a few of these small guest houses and hotels along the side streets in this part of London. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was included and very good, indeed. This is not a 5-Star hotel, but well worth considering especially if you are using Waterloo or St. Pancras stations. The latter is your connection with the Eurostar train to Europe. The only problem was the absence of lifts...but we were overpacked so our struggles were our own fault.

Room Tip: The downstairs room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#241 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#484 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#640 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#406 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#790 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#236 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crestfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestfield Hotel

Property: Crestfield Hotel
Address: 3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #531 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crestfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crestfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crestfield Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing