We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of Crestfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crestfield Hotel
Ranked #553 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booked 3 rooms 2 doubles and 1 triple. Attic double was tiny, Basement double stank of damp and the triple though ok the bathroom was gross. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms lovely and warm, rooms clean and towels changed daily. Staff very friendly.Reception is locked 24hrs, you have to buzz in and out, which was strange seems reception was always manned. Breakfast ok though on day 3 of our 3 day stay there was a lot of mouldy bread on offer to make your toast. Very close to Paddington which was ideal for our sightseeing. On the whole ideal for a base but don't expect too much. Would stay again though not for 3 nights.

Room Tip: request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor not the basement or 3rd floor, no lift and stairs are very na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 954 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose this hotel as it had reasonable reviews, the price and because it was located near the Kings Cross rail station (couldn't be much nearer) and they would store luggage before and after our stay. It is reasonably clean although the decor in public areas is tiered in places. Wireless access was not working when we were there.
Our room was a quad with four single beds. The beds were comfy and we slept well apart from the noise above which started at 0600 and sounded like a dance school for elephants. This also occurred to a lesser extent on an evening. The en-suite shower room was small and due to being a wet-room difficult to use. There are no hooks or shelves in here so unless your careful everything, including your clothes) get wet.
Breakfast was basic but included a selection of cereals, fruit salad (tinned), yoghurt, ham, cheeses, eggs, toast, fruit juice and toast with tea and coffee. This sounds good but was all cheap items and fairly tasteless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my way to France... Very close to St Pancras...it's basic, clean, a bit worn in places but considering the price I suppose its ok. Rooms are small and bathroom basic. If you want somewhere just to rest before going on eurostar it's good...not for a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Few steps from King's Cross Railway Station for travel all over London (10min from Victoria Station)and from St Pancras International Railway ideal for Luton transfer (30min), Eurostar trains, and other England trains.Plently of food shops and restaurants close by the hotel.Good breackfast,the same every day but absolutely enough for a good start of the day.My room was ok, for 2 persons may be small, but remain a good choice for the price paid (London is more expensive as other european capitals).Very good cleaning of the room,HD TV and coffee/tea maker

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This two-star hotel is located just next to the King´s cross station, so the connections all around the city are really good via underground. We arrived at the hotel a little before noon and our room was not ready yet, but we were able to leave our bags at the reception and go see the surroundings of King´s cross. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was polite. Our room was not in the same building as the reception and breakfast room, but in the building next to it (we just needed to walk through the inner yard). Our room was located on the third floor facing the street. The stairway is narrow when going up with your luggage, but you don´t carry your luggage up and down every day... We stayed here 6 nights.
The room was small but nicely decorated. With luggage open there were hardly any room left in the room (for us it was not a problem, while we really used the room only for sleeping). We had an en-suite bathroom which was big enough but would have needed a bit more cleaning. Water pressure was not very good but you managed to get yourself clean. The walls are thin and the window has no insulation so you can hear the street noise. If you are a light sleeper you might want to consider taking ear plugs with you, or to ask for a room facing the inner yard. Free WiFi was working nicely during our stay.

Breakfast was included with the room price, and there were a selection of cereals, toast, cheese and ham. I would have liked to see some fresh fruits in the selection as well but anyways the breakfast was ok.

If you are looking for a BUDGET hotel with reasonable price, good location and inclusive breakfast, I´d say this is a good choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I just read a negative review written by a woman who was stunned to find no lift at The Crestfield Hotel. I have yet to find any of the BUDGET hotels in the Argyle Square to have a lift. So, let's be clear: the rooms will not be large; the stairs are not wide; the rooms that are not en suite will have a shared bath; and regarding your credit card--don't leave home without it. My own experience is that the wi-fi worked fine; the breakfast was good; the reception staff was quite helpful; the room was clean and quiet; and I would happily stay there again. If you require a lift/ elevator, The Great Northern Hotel will supply one for three-to-four times the room rate to be had at the Crestfield and other budget hotels in the area near Argyle Square.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very close to kings cross n st pancras station. Stayed overnite. Free wifi, very helpful. No lifts. But got room one floor down opposite breakfast hall. Room is abit small, but hey this is central london, so its expected. Room inclusive of basic continental breakfast. The lady preparing breakfast was nice and friendly. Decent bathroom , and individual heating. For people not familiar with the area,once you come out of kings cross or st pancras station, walk straight up to euston road. U need to cross this road but u will be facing argyle street. Walk to ur left towards the McDonald's at the junction. What u will see is kings cross inn from the front / main road. Crestfield is along the same row but next door, small sign board. Elderly people need to be a bit careful with the stairs. Very Good for short stay.

Room Tip: Book early, weekends can be full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anusha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#627 of 1,081 in London
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#842 of 1,081 in London
461 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#400 of 1,081 in London
2,131 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#875 of 1,081 in London
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crestfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestfield Hotel

Address: 3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #553 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $90 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crestfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crestfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crestfield Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing