We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are unlucky enough like I am, you'll stay here too.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Waterloo Hostel
Ranked #544 of 873 Specialty Lodging in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you are unlucky enough like I am, you'll stay here too.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want to skip and ignore all the terrible reviews like I did and stay in this hostel, don't complain no one warned you.

If you want to stay in a small alley far away from either tube station or bus stops, stay here.

If you want to suffocate in a room which accommodates 15 people and which has absolutely no air conditioning or windows when temperature reaches 30 c degree everyday, then come.

If you want to be woken up at 2a.m. only because their stupid staff had key in the wrong entries, which leads to your beds being double booked, and you need to show another member of staff the receipt of your payment of four nights stay as proof, then after they realised it's their fault, you are asked to share a bed with your friend so that they can fit those double booked people in, do stay in London Eye hostel.

In short if you want bad customer service, come to London Eye hostel.

If you want to have only icy water for shower on the first day of your stay, and only boiling water for shower on the last day of your stay, choose London Eye hostel.

If you want to use unstable wifi, stay here in London Eye hostel.

If you want to sleep in a bunk so law you can't even sit on your bed, come to London Eye hostel.

If you want to write a review as negative as can be in the last night of your stay, because you're so empressed you can't even wait until check out, choose London Eye hostel.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sobrevivirsansfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    86
    59
    105
See reviews for
21
30
87
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you want to skip and ignore all the terrible reviews like I did and stay in this hostel, don't complain no one warned you.

If you want to stay in a small alley far away from either tube station or bus stops, stay here.

If you want to suffocate in a room which accommodates 15 people and which has absolutely no air conditioning or windows when temperature reaches 30 c degree everyday, then come.

If you want to be woken up at 2a.m. only because their stupid staff had key in the wrong entries, which leads to your beds being double booked, and you need to show another member of staff the receipt of your payment of four nights stay as proof, then after they realised it's their fault, you are asked to share a bed with your friend so that they can fit those double booked people in, do stay in London Eye hostel.

In short if you want bad customer service, come to London Eye hostel.

If you want to have only icy water for shower on the first day of your stay, and only boiling water for shower on the last day of your stay, choose London Eye hostel.

If you want to use unstable wifi, stay here in London Eye hostel.

If you want to sleep in a bunk so law you can't even sit on your bed, come to London Eye hostel.

If you want to write a review as negative as can be in the last night of your stay, because you're so empressed you can't even wait until check out, choose London Eye hostel.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilytian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by a rude guy at reception.
WiFi did not work for the duration of our stay.
Room was tiny, sheets and towels were in a pile on the floor in the corner of the room, not folded or anything.
Toilets and showers were extremely dirty, and only two of each on each floor.
No aircon, had only a small fan and a window which could not be opened.
Kitchen is extremely dirty.
Would never stay here again, and would not recommend it, definately not worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddiejmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rock up at 11 at night to check in after a long plane ride to an extremely rude employee. After being told that the wifi was down (one of the only two reasons for staying here) we went to our room for 3 probably being smaller then harry potters cupboard. It stunk like a dead mans feet, had a window which wouldn't open, bedding dumped on the floor, a mere fan to cool the place and no room to even open a suit case.
Getting past all that you have the toilet and the showers.. Two of each and possibly more diseased then a used condom.
To make matters worse the shower is push button and hotter then a boiled kettle.
2 toilets, 2 showers and 1 sink on each floor containing 50+ people.
The place is horrible! A homeless man would sleep better. Location is good but I would take sleeping on the mat out the front over staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgee8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

OK, my title is a bit hyperbolic, but the essence of it is accurate. London Eye Hostel is a place to stay for a night, but don't let your expectations get further than that. Much of what I have to say has already been said: comical bed-to-room ration, mustiness, and push-button showers that dribble a very little bit of water (and I'm not entirely opposed to push-button showers). I did not have an ideal experience with the staff and believe my expectations of service are usually reasonable, if not generous, in comparison to a lot of people. My stay was broken up into two bookings over the course of a week. It is likely that they will tell you that they cannot accept a credit card while you are there because their system is down and they did that for both of my bookings, even after successfully using the system in the first. Due to a personal situation, I pushed to try a credit card for both bookings and it worked fine both times. While it's possible that the system has legitimately been on the fritz, it is also possible that they are avoiding payment of credit card fees. I don't have a problem with cash being encouraged as a method of payment for this reason, but it would be nice if this would be an openly stated preference. The second hostel (an Astor) I stayed at during the week was slightly more expensive, but leaps and bounds better in every other respect.

Room Tip: Avoid room 43.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyebwa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice staff, but not a great hostel. There are too little toilets and bathrooms. They are dirty most of the time because they are cleaned once a day I think. The window frames are filled with dust and mold. Thank god for the great location and the nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raksha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#651 of 1,069 in London
1,400 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#38 of 873 in London
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#122 of 873 in London
167 reviews
Home London
#479 of 873 in London
268 reviews
Pimlico
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#290 of 558 in London
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Waterloo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Waterloo Hostel

Property: London Waterloo Hostel
Address: 73 Lambeth Walk, London SE11 6DX, England (Formerly London Eye Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 873 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — London Waterloo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your London Waterloo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Eye Hotel London
London Waterloo Hostel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing