We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too noisy”
Review of Belgo Holborn

Belgo Holborn
Ranked #1,356 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Fancy food and beer in a bank vault? That's what the Belgo in London's Kingsway is offering as a converted former Lloyds bank, with the bank vault having been transformed into a Belgian beer cellar! Despite the building's history, the decor is contemporary and relaxing, but it's the beer list which is truly eye-catching, with over 250 beverages to choose from. The food is typically Belgian, offering treats such as Belgian Sausages, mussels and frites with mayonnaise, and a wide range of meat and vegetarian dishes. There are many fantastic, money-saving special offers throughout the year, but with even a three-course meal served at a reasonable price, this is one gastronomic experience that won't break the bank - even if it's in one.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“too noisy”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went there during the olympics.
The food is not bad and the restaurant itself is ok but to much noise and you can't hear what others with you are saying.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIROCCO2138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    177
    86
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just like being in Belgium”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love Moules and Frites but unfortunately there hard to find in the Uk, but here you get a kilo of Mussels with a choice of Classic or Traditional sauces, they are good quality and a very good size, the Frites are great with a Aioli dip,there is a good choice of Belgium Beer and a nice atmosphere to enjoy with good service at reasonable prices

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The most delicious mussels anywhere!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Belgos is a fantastic place to eat if you love mussels, fries, and beer. They prepare mussels more ways than I can remember. My husband tried several of the beers (they are made by Belgian monks) and loved them all. We have eaten here 5 times and have never been disappointed. Our service has been wonderful and the staff have been helpful and friendly. It's casual and inexpensive for London. How about giving it a try despite the negative reviews from some other people?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Terrible service let them down badly.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Belgos a few times and thoroughly enjoyed it but my experience at the Kingsway branch was shocking.

We were left waiting while the staff cleaned tables and wandered around the bar area. One of the kitchen staff, after failing twice to raise a waiter/waitress by shouting, had to walk out from the kitchen to find someone to come and deliver food to another table.

When our food finally arrived we were amused to find that it had beaten our drinks to the table. We had another 5-10 minute wait before they arrived.

After the meal, before we could order any more drinks or dessert (and before we'd asked for it!), we were given the bill. It was 2300 and the website says it closes at 0100!

We removed the optional 12.5% service charge from the bill, paid the remainder and left. We shan't be going back. Such a shame, the food and beer selection is great but the service was insulting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grizzle_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food shocking service!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a friday after the theatre after friends raved about it.
Although the food was good and reasonably priced the service was laughably bad!!
We had been really looking forward to seeing the rest of our Friday night out at the restaurant and even booked a table via the Internet for 1030pm.
They clearly shouldn't advertise that they are open until 1 if they are clearly not in the mood or prepared to serve you.
We were reluctantly seated and then left for ages whilst the waitress cleaned tables around us. Eventually a different waiter came and took our order. Our food arrived about 20 minutes later before our drinks. I had to remind them twice, still cleaning tables in between bringing our drinks. As soon as we finished the bill was given to us (we hadn't intended asking for it)! To which I said "we're finished are we"! The waiter said yes we closing. About 15 minutes later after more cleaning around us they came back to take our payment! The bill had the nerve to include a 12.5% service charge! They did not get it!!!
I said the service was bad but they clearly couldn't care less and didn't offer any complimentary drinks. So finally had to cut our eve short and go home!
THANKS FOR RUINING OUT EVENING!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VCDC1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgo Holborn also viewed

 

Been to Belgo Holborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing