We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Fun and a definate return!”
Review of ME London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ME London
Ranked #73 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a London ex-pat I have been trying to find a centralised hip, fun and luxury hotel well ME is all that...the rooms are gorgeous and although the low lighting and black marble may not be to everyone's taste it is the staff who shine at ME is a city I adore the one thing I have often noticed is that people can be dismissive and cold in the service industry however at ME the staff couldn't ME more helpful and I always felt that my custom was valued....I loved Radio bar...the views of London wrapped around me like a panoramic tourist advertisement for all that is great and wonderful of the london skyline, the staff at Radio once again were the highlight...even though we had just gone up for a look around on the first night we were offered seating and looked after very well. I loved this hotel. I loved it's style. Okay I probably wouldn't bring the Mammy but I will be back and I would highly recommend this hotel on the edge of Covent Garden.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank 1981mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello 1981mary,

We indeed want to bring the edge to this area as a chic place to be as you rightly described.

How lucky were you to pop into Radio to enjoy those drinks and not to mention that epic view. We do pride ourselves on being alternative but we can definitely accommodate everyone including mammy should she wish to join you on your next visit.

Why not give us a call in advance so we can personalise your stay with us.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

it's a very modern hotel with all amenities and great service. The roof top bar has some of the best views of London... you can see canary wharf, the gherkin, the london eye, tower bridge, big ben, houses of P etc. While i wasn't traveling with kids, i did see a few at the hotel and the hotel seemed very welcoming to families. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable... good amenities and funky lighting pad but easy to manage. One note -- my room didn't have a tub. Will also had there there was a slight mishap with my room where the hotel made a mistake and they were very quick to apologize and make it up to me with a little amenity. Every place makes mistakes and it's how you handle them that sets good service apart. Only thing i didn't like is the hallwyas on the bedroom floors are too dark. low lighting is cool but these (in my opinion) are just too dark. While the roofbar was great -- we also ate at STK and were not wowed. Perhaps because the desserts weren't so great and that's the last thing we ate!

Room Tip: if you want a tub, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citymouse225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello citymouse225,

You’re naming those sights better than us! How amazing is that view from the bar!?

We agree that the odd mistake can happen and we strive to fix it quickly. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was positive and we really want to see you come back again and try our new menus that we are sure will tantalize your taste buds.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night after an evening function elsewhere. Although public areas somewhat uber-chic for our tastes, with black low-lighting corridors ( each to their own), the room was excellent. Although quite small it was extremely well designed and fitted, making use of the available space very well. Fixture and furnishings very modern ( bedside lighting control panel) and extremely well soundproofed. We had a first floor room facing onto the Strand, and when I walked in I immediately thought I would have to ask for a different one due to road noise - until I realised I couldn't hear any! We had a very peaceful night.

A very good hotel at a very reasonable (for London) price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sidneytrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sidneytrip10, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are delighted you thought the room was excellent, well designed and fitted. Our soundproofed windows are a special design of Foster and Partners, simple exceptional. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Next time you come to visit the Me London please contact the AURA team in advance and we will try our best to accommodate you in a higher floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Myself and my wife visited this hotel for an anniversary treat last week and could not have been more impressed.

Firstly however, I will say that this hotel is likely to split opinion as it is very much at the 'funky' modern end of the spectrum! Anybody who prefers a more traditional style hotel with a bit of history this is unlikely to be your cup of tea!

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly doorman who accompanied us in the lift to the reception area which is unusually on the first floor of the hotel. The reception (which looks like something from the matrix) has an amazing 'pyramid' style architecture with an atrium that rises all the way up to a window of the floor in the rooftop bar. I'm sure that the reception staff must get used to everyone gazing gormlessly around the hotel in wonder!!

We were offered a welcome glass of champagne and as it was our anniversary the hotel were kind enough to upgrade us to an amazing room on the 9th floor. Corridors were dimly lit, but very chic and the low level lighting just serves to add to the overall effect. The room was immaculately clean with a balcony overlooking Aldwych, fantastic bathroom, very well equipped, incredibly comfortable bed and some great lighting options.

After an afternoon of traipsing round shops, we returned to our room to find as complimentary bottle of champagne which was really appreciated and a very nice touch,

Radio Bar was very trendy with great views over the London skyline and we were invited up for complimentary drinks and canapes in the afternoon. Residents get access via a special lift on the ground floor where a member of staff gives you access to the 10th floor.

Other points to mention:-

- Staff all very friendly and efficient but particularly the doorman & the concierge.
- Brilliant location, in easy walking distance of Covent Garden, the West End, etc.
- Didn't use either restaurant but both looked very modern (as you'd expect) with varied menus.
- One minor gripe was that when we ordered breakfast in bed in the morning we were charged £3 for the privilege and then charged a £7 'tip'. Not something that changed our opinion of the hotel but something we will know the next time we visit.

Overall, we were made to feel very special and although it is a bit 'pricey' we would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. We will definitely be returning to celebrate our next 'special occasion',

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuWeightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear StuWeightman, thank you so much for this fantastic review. You are very right, Me London is not a traditional hotel…. We are glad you were impressed by our unique Atrium and all what it has to offer. We enjoy exceeding our guests expectations and even more when we are aware our guests have something special to celebrate, we are glad you enjoyed our Energy rooms with stunning views with a fresh glass of champagne.. that is call luxury.. Once again, thanks for sharing your ME London Experience with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was booked in for a Champagne Afternoon Tea for my birthday celebration with my husband as a treat from our son, must admit did not know the hotel and from the outside looked a bit plain but upon entering the Marconi Lounge the decor was fabulous, the champagne and afternoon tea was fabulous we was well looked after by Naheed our waiter who was very helpful with his information on the variety of teas on offer would definitely recommend this for a special celebration.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Barbara, Thank you so much for this stunning review. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed the most original afternoon tea in the city in the best location and all under the most amazing architecture and deco…come back soon to try the rest of Outlets of the hotel soon, we will be delighted to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Reception is located on first floor which requires getting a lift to reception and then a lift to room (and same on check out) but also allows a quiet glass of fizz while staring at the triangular atrium during check-in. Our room was lovely - with all the features you would expect from a top establishment and some lovely extras in the minibar (including popcorn and a 'sweets' bag which would be ideal if you had time for a movie). Our welcomes, both on the door and at reception were generous and we were made to feel at home even though we were there on an Amex offer. I imagine this is a little out of our usual budget but a great place to stay if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Wilo13, Thank you so much for this gorgeous review. A warm welcome and a glass of “bubbly” is our way of starting the great journey within the Me London Experience. We are honoured to learn you had a great anniversary celebration here with us and we are very happy as well to know your liked the hi-tech rooms and well stocked minibar. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

The rooms are very modern and have all the latest gadgets. Our room also had a great balcony with table and chairs.

The roof top bar was the main attraction but could hear it in our room until the early hours and that was my only complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello 007matt,

Thank you so much for posting your review about your enjoyable experience at ME London. It’s upsetting to read that we were so close to those five stars and can only hope that you’re willing to return soon and give us another chance to fill in the blank!

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,476 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,148 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#44 of 1,077 in London
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London

Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $283 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ME London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing