We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a "wow" in London's theater district”
Review of ME London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ME London Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a "wow" in London's theater district”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a section of London that I had stayed in before, the West End-the Strand. I did not realize what a wonderful location this is, close to so many restaurants, museums, fun shopping (Covent Garden). The food was excellent, innovative. The Radio Bar on the roof is terrific, unless you are older and don't like the loud music, low lighting - yes, I must be getting old!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Vicky M, thank you for your fantastic review! We at the ME London are thrilled you enjoyed the location of the hotel next to Covent Garden and all what this neighbourhood has to offer. Radio bar is quite versatile, for a quieter option, you could choose to come in the afternoon to enjoy the views and the gorgeous food and cocktails we have in the menu. Thank you again for the fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    479
    158
    72
    56
See reviews for
354
1,322
100
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights at the end of September. The location of this hotel is great and very accessible to most of the tourist hotspots in London. It's very modern decorated and stylish. However, we found that other than having a stylish decoration and trying very hard to be a top class hotel equipped with a fanciful rooftop bar, the hotel hasn't made its basic right. Most of the equipments in our room do not function properly. When we arrived on Friday, we were told that the wifi was down and will be fixed asap. The ASAP for the hotel actually meant three days later. As we were in London partially for work, having wifi really means that we can work whilst we were away. We made numerous comments to the management but they always said they are fixing it now and will be on later. What a bunch of liars ! We have to go to the nearby Starbucks to get our wifi. :(. Next, the tv in our room doesn't really work very well. It seems like it is permanently in hibernation. We have to press 'on' for at least 10 to 15 mins before it can be turned on. The worst thing is the sliding door of the shower and toilet. We are so concern that whenever we close it, it will never be opened again. There are numerous occasion that we accidentally close the door and we need to open it by great force! Thanks goodness that we haven't broken the door or caused any accident. Our room is located at first floor. During the weekend, the hotel open the bar at ground floor and it's an all night loud music until 1am. Definitely not a good idea if u r seeking a good night sleep ! Will I stay this hotel again ? Definitely not, such a flashy hotel that hasn't got its basic right. The management needs to wake up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy_UK_CBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Andy_cbs, thank you for your review. I am truly disappointed to learn your experience was not up to the ME London standards. We had difficulties with our Internet provider causing disruption in the internet service. Unfortunately sometimes there are situations beyond of our control and for that we are truly sorry. We have implemented a backup internet line to stop this issue from occurring again. In regards of the TV we are in the process of changing all the system making it more user friendly and with more international channels options for all kind of travellers, because we understand all our guests are different and they all have different tastes. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our prime location and the sleek hotel decoration. Next time you book, please contact the AURA team and we will organise a room in a higher floor in a quieter area. Mr Andy_cbs, we hope to see you back soon so you see how we improve thanks to the valuable feedback from valuable guests such as yourself. We will make sure next time you visit, you will enjoy the real, enriching and fabulous experience that Me London strives to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a good time at the hotel, staff were energetic and keen to help, the roof top bar was excellent, service outstanding.

A little disappointed with the room - for a 5 star Deluxe i would have expected a bit more - TV signal on all channels kept dropping out, the bathroom doors don't close properly and the room is quite small.

That said fantastic mini bar and a small balcony.

If you can get it at the right price then not a bad stay at all.

look out for James on Concierge - brilliant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you experience the cool vibe of our team and you had an excellent time in the rooftop bar. We are in the process of changing our TV system making sure this is up to the 5*experience we strive to provide. We are happy you enjoyed the in room bar offer! The size of the Energy Rooms is over the London Market average size but in case you were not fully satisfied you should have let us know and we could offer you alternatives. Please contact us next time you book and we will make sure you are fully satisfied with your room category choice. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a well located hotel right in the centre of the theatre district and close to Covent Garden. This was our second stay at this hotel and we had a very friendly welcome from Jamie the doorman. The reception is on the first floor and we tried to check in at 12.30 but were told our room was not available, despite the booking form saying you could check in from 12.00 am. It turns out that this is a best efforts option for the hotel so we were offered a room immediately if we upgraded for £55 which we reluctantly accepted. The upgraded room was large and spacious with a nice bathroom. The standard rooms are just as good and have better floor to ceiling windows. There is a hairdryer provided but nowhere to plug this in near a mirror which was very annoying. We reported this on check out and the Front Office advised Customer Services would contact us but we are still waiting for a response. The Radio Bar on the roof has great views and is worth a visit although the drinks are expensive. Overall a great stay but marred by the poor Customer service on checking in and out.

Room Tip: go for the standard room as high quality and well fitted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfuntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn you came back and enjoyed the prime location of ME London. Guaranteed check in time is 3pm. We will always try to have the room ready prior to that time. In order to comply with the UK legislation only razors and electric toothbrush can be plugged in the toilets. You could use the plugs and mirror in the desk when using the hairdryer. The views from Radio Bar are breath taking and we are glad they were part of your Experience. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and your great rating TandCfuntrips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just wanted to say thanks to all at ME for a great experience. My girlfriend and I had supper in Cucina Asellina last week which was fantastic. We got a bit lost (OK, I was directing) and the girl at Reception, I think her name is Annabel (Scottish lady) was great with directions and it was good to know we were then in good hands. Thanks to everyone - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 734Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
734Anonymous, thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are happy to know you enjoyed the Asellina experience, the best Italian restaurant –in this side of Aldwych,  The ME London staff is our best and most precious attribute, Annabel is a superstar! Thanks for the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for our anniversary, our first impression was WOWL.. The interior of the hotel is fabulous.
We was greeted by JAMIE ANTANIO at the front. He was more than helpful to us and went beyond his duties to help us and explain everything to us. He has a friendly manner and more than happy to help. We couldnt check in because our room wasnt ready until 3pm, which was a little diappointing as i had requested an earlier check in time. When we could get into our room we was let down a little as we had booked a Luxury double with balcony and river view, only to find we had been put in a twin room with a balcony and city view... Maggie the Manager came up to see us which we felt was nice rather than talking to us over the phone and she explained that she had looked to move us and could not even upgrade us as the Hotel was fully booked. We was very disappointed but she then went on to say that she would compensate us by halfing the price of the room and gave us a bottle of champagne, requested that the staff made the bed into a king. This all happened very quickly and although disappointed to start with MAGGIE made the situation right .
On another note: The DJ Radio room at the top of the hotel is a must, the views over London are spectacular and not something that you should miss.You do have to be on the list to get in so make sure you tell them on arrival.

When we was leaving the Manager of the hotel had requested too see us and apologised for the misunderstanding.
All in all if you are seeing a show nearby than this makes this hotel a must. Marks out of 10 - (10) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kelly m thank you so much for your fantastic review! We thrilled to see that even though we did not start in the best way Maggie managed to make a big difference in your ME London experience. Our guests are of paramount importance to us and we will go above and beyond the possibilities to make things right for them. Maggie and Jamie are both superstars! Thanks for the recognition. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the ME London Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my partner booked to stay at ME hotel over the weeknd as it was a special birthday occasion. It caught our eye straight away when looking through where to stay in London. It looked like the sort of place we would have an amazing weekend at and it definitely lived up to our expectations. This hotel was ' on another level' by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. We loved how modern the hotel was. From the rooms, restutants, bars and interior design. Most of all what made our stay so welcoming is how friendly every member of staff was especially 'Jamie' who welcomed us on arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to Jamie. He was their until we checked out the hotel and helped us with everything we wanted to know. He made our stay very entertaining. Overall this hotel was a 10/10 for us. We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missleftiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Missleftiee thank you so much for your great review! At the Me London hotel our aim is to exceed expectations and we are thrilled when we fully achieve this. Jamie is a great asset to our team a 5* Doorman! Thank you for the recognition! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the always exciting ME London hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,068 in London
2,103 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,068 in London
4,607 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London Hotel

Property: ME London Hotel
Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Business Hotel in London
#95 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ME London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing