We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in fun hotel”
Review of ME London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ME London
Ranked #73 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great Amex deal for 1 night here and really enjoyed it.
On arrival I was escorted to the stylish reception room and offered a glass of Prosecco. A great start!
The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. Nice view over The Strand.
Met a friend for drinks (Fri afternoon) and we had no trouble getting into the Radio Bar, though a later arrival did have to wait a bit. This had a great view, good cocktails and pleasant staff. In fact, the staff in the hotel were charming throughout the trip.
Great location too.
I`d certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello SimonBrighton,

We love being called fun as we always try hard to make every guest’s stay an enjoyable one.

How lovely is that Radio Rooftop bar!? It’s great to hear that you and your party were able to fully experience it even when it got busier as it often does on weekends.

Should you ever be in the city again why no pop in and see what we have on offer!

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great stylish Hotel in the heart of a vibrant city. Big like for the desgin and style. Young and very friendly stuff, saw no one older as 30. Concierges and Front Desk is highly involved to make sure guest have the best experience. Only to find the lobby at the very first arrival is difficult to find - but stuff will guide you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Daniel A, thank you so much for this fantastic review! We are happy you liked the design and the great location of the ME London Hotel. We are very proud to learn that our stuff was very involved in your experience. The ME London team is full of energy, caring and very hands on, ensuring every detail is perfect for our valuable guests. Thank you so much for sharing your great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Striking architecture. Gloomy halls. Clever techy rooms (although funnily enough the TV blips every 5 mins and the air con dies inexplicably).
A hotel that's hired out hourly to the most awful London crowd of wannabes you could ever wish to avoid.
Everythings a franchise. Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
11  Thank iancSurrrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear iancSurrrey thank you for your review. I am truly disappointed to learn you didn’t fully enjoy your experience when staying with us at the ME London. We are happy you were impressed by the striking and superb architecture of Sir Norman Foster and the high-tech in the rooms. As an environmental friendly hotel, the AC unit has a movement sensor. The AC will be active if you are in your room but will stop to save energy if you are not there after 20min. In regards of the TV we are in the process of changing all the system making it more user friendly. We also understand that all our guests are different and they all have different tastes. Mr iancSurrrey, we hope to see you back soon so you see how we improve thanks to the feedback from valuable guests such as yourself. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a fantastic looking hotel, very attentive hotel staff, nice contemporary decor throughout. When we arrived we were given the option to upgrade our room (714) for a fee which we did, unfortunately we kept awake by the thumping beat of the music from the rooftop bar, which closed at 3am, brilliant bedroom but no sleep!!!
We had also booked dinner at the Cucina Asellina one of the hotels restaurants. We were greet very nicely by the staff, and seated at a well positioned table, again brilliant decor. We placed our orders, and our starters arrived, unfortunately somewhat tepid, we mentioned this to the server, who took my husbands starter away to replace the dish with a hot one,not a mega problem and it was rectified very quickly. However we had both ordered the Lobster Fettuccine, we were so disappointed with the quality of this dish, the lobster was inedible it was really tough and chewy. We again brought this to the attention of our server, who just listened and went away. Some ten minutes later the Maitre D' arrived our table to advise us that she had been informed of the situation and was apologetic, she offered us a dessert, but to be quite frank we were so disappointed at this point we refused, she then offered us some coffee which we accepted.
On the hand the Marconi bar was superb, good service, good music, very good staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rs1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello rs1949,

I apologise sincerely for only just getting back to replying to your review.

Thank you very much for your feedback first of all so we can identify where we went wrong with your stay.

We’re over the moon that you were impressed with our overall look and design because we do pride ourselves on being a leader in this respect. However no amount of bricks and mortar can give a guest the full experience; this is where service should come in. We truly regret the mishaps that occurred and we like to assure you that this does not reflect our everyday service.

It is a relief to hear that we redeemed ourselves and steered your experience back to a positive one by ensuring that the rest of your stay was fantastic.

Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband booked this 5 star hotel this weekend as a treat for my 40th birthday and I have such mixed feelings about it.

The location of this hotel is great and close to the Embankment, Covent Garden etc. We were going for a dinner cruise in the evening so it was perfect location for us.

Arrival was great and very smooth ...we stopped outstide and our car was taken off us to be parked up and we were taken by a very friendly member of staff to the reception which is on the 1st floor.

This hotel really does have the wow factor ... I certainly felt overwhelmed! The reception area is just amazing and found check in to be very smooth as well as being given a complimentary champagne which was really lovely.

I think general information about the hotel facilties would have been beneficial but not received.

Our room was on the 8th floor, and it took us about 5 minutes of trying to get the lift to move to find out that you have to put your room card in a slot first before the lift will go anywhere which would have been nice to have been told about on check in.

Our room was gorgeous and certainly exceeded our expectations. King size bed, large bathroom with twin basins and lovely twin shower. You can choose mood lighting in the room which we thought was very cool and lots to choose from with the mini bar. There was no tea/coffee making facility which was a little bit frustrating first thing in the morning as I woke up about 2 hours before my husband and would have loved a coffee.

Now this is where the experience goes downhill a little...

As we were out in the evening, we decided to get ready and go to the rooftop terrace for a drink before we went out for the evening and this was part of the attraction when my husband booked.

We got in the lift at 5.30 and pressed for the 10th floor which is where the rooftop terrace is and subsequently spent the next 5 minutes in a lift that just kept going down! Eventually another guest told us you had to go to the lobby and switch to another lift. We were then faced with a security guard who we felt looked down on us (not trendy enough?!?!) and first of all asked if we had a reservation and I said no we are wanting to go to the rooftop for a pre dinner drink and I was then told it was closed for a private function.

There was a queue there (at 5.30) and I can't help but feel that this was not the truth and purely that we did not fit in with their pretentious and trendy clientel! I have never been in a hotel before where I have not been able to simply go and have a drink in the bar.

In the lobby there is the Marconi bar which is very nice too, and we sat and had a couple of cocktails there instead.

Having had dinner out, we got back to the hotel at about 10.30 to a completely different ambience and felt like we had walked into a nightclub foyer rather than a 5 star hotel.

We sat in the Marconi bar and had a drink, listening to music pumping out of the SLK bar which was situated right by the Marconi bar and thumped out even louder each time the door was opened. The lobby was chaotic with people walking in and out for access to the bars in the hotel and we sat watching the staff approaching the groups of attractive girls to give them a 'pass' into the SLK bar/club (whatever it is).

Luckily, myself and my husband have a good sense of humour and we found it we found it quite entertaining but it all felt a little surreal too as I have never been to any hotel (let alone a 5 star) that seems to turn into a nightclub in the evening, and a pretentious one at that.

We certainly felt out of place and took our drinks to our room instead.

Unable to review the breakfast as we didn't get up in time, but check out was smooth and our car bought round to the front of the hotel for us very swiftly.

I am confused by this 'hotel' ... it is a great location, the decor has the wow factor, but I didn't feel like it really put the hotel guests first and certainly very disappointed we couldn't have a drink on the rooftop terrace and felt like we weren't 'trendy' enough.

I didn't have a terrible time, the experience was good but I can't see I would want to return because I didn't feel particularly valued as a guest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Every guest we have in-house should be treated like the VIP they are. Thank you so much for bringing these issues to our attention. ME London strives to exceed our guests’ expectations and ensure that each guest is made to feel welcomed, at home, and treated. Regardless if the stay is for business or pleasure, each guest should have an experience they remember positively. We are investigating the service you received and cannot apologise enough that you felt uncomfortable in our hotel. Our clientele, just like the population of London, is diverse and cosmopolitan and therefore we expect our staff to be able to treat our in-house guests with the same high quality service. Don’t dismiss us just yet. Please come back, contacting the Aura Team directly, and we’ll ensure your next stay is one to remember for all the right, wonderful and exciting reasons we built our guest experience on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one Saturday night on a promotion through Amercian Express. The hotel looked fantastic on the website and we were excited to see the roof top bar as it was a hot and sunny day. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly concierge desk. The hotel is very new and modern. Rooms were decent size. We dropped off our bags and headed to the rooftop bar around 6pm just before dinner. The 'bouncer' refused us entry saying the rooftop was full. We were told by the hotel that guests did not need to make bookings. The bouncer let more people in as we were standing there in disbelief. Girls with mini skirts the size of hankerchiefs were all ushered in while us hotel guests were refused. One of the guys at the concierge overheard me saying how ridiculous this place was and came up to us and told us he would get us in. He went to talk to the bouncer and they made us sit another 5 mins before they told us to go upstairs. We stayed for 5 mins on this rooftop and left. The people seem to be transported from a Vegas party scene where girls were bleach blonde and wore dresses 2 sizes too small and guys who would wear sunglasses all night and buy magnums with their parent's credit cards. The rooftop bar was no where near full. My partner and I just didn't 'fit' the profile.

We went back to the hotel after a late dinner and found our room freezing cold. even after turning off the air con, the temp stayed at 14c the entire night. We found in the morning that some of the shampoo and lotions were half used. The shower was nice and large and thank goodness for sufficient hot water as we needed to thaw out from sleeping in the Ice room.

although location is great, I highly recommend that if it is a comfortable, classy 5 star hotel you are looking for, this is NOT the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously at ME London and we are investigating all of our rooms air conditioning to ensure that the issues you experienced during your stay do not occur again. We are very sorry that you had such a cold room and would hate that being the memory you associate ME London with. Our aim is to excite our guests; to entertain them; and to exceed their expectations. Please do come back – with guaranteed entry to Radio Bar and the service you deserve there, too – and allow to show you why the vast majority of our guests rave about us. We want to deliver the right experience and would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag this one. We had a free night there (on Amex promo) so thought we'd check it out as we wanted to try the roof terrace bar which is otherwise impossible to get into.

Very warm welcome from Ruairi, the concierge, who took us up to reception and gave us a prosecco. Check-in was okay - but lift system with key card slot a bit unpredictable and not explained by receptionist (and neither was the default safe code).

Room was nice, if a bit long and thin. Comtemporary, milimalist design that we like, but may not suit all. Nice view over the theatres opposite. Huge comfy bed. Nice double rain shower.

Touch screen controls for lights and aircon not properly connected and just fell out of the wall revealing the electrical connections... not very safe! The controls themselves were good - choice of ambient lighting colours a nice touch - except for the aircon control. When we arrived, room felt freezing (was at 16 degrees according to the display) so I turned the aircon off and we went to check out the roof bar.

Got to lift and were told it was full and we could come back and try later. We pointed out we were guests and were told it made no difference as it was "at capacity" - with guests and [mainly] randoms.

We complained to Jamie, the other charming concierge, and he led us back to the lifts, had a word with the pretentious door staff (apparently the bar is run by a separate events company to the hotel... not a great idea, in my opinion... clear conflicts of interest). We were told we'd be let in "soon - when they're ready". 5 mins later we were granted access to the lift. Felt like the bad old days of queuing for hours for a crappy club to be told you were wearing the wrong shoes.

When we got up there, the bar and the view are lovely, but it was only about half full. I think "at capacity" can be roughly translated as "we are keen to maintain an air of exclusivity by barring entry and keeping a long queue outside". Also, it was full of the sort of people I'd happily push down a deep mine shaft and seal the entrance off forever. Basically, yer standard London "cool crowd" (as they would define themselves)... wall-to-wall vanity, pretension and labels, and not a lot of fun to be had. We didn't stay long.

Went out for dinner (at the exceptional Social Eating House on Poland Street) and returned to find the room even colder (now at 14 degrees!) despite the touch panel reporting the aircon as "off" and with a target temp of 30 degrees still showing!

In summary - excellent service from the two charming concierges, horrible service from the pretentious terrace bar team, some dodgy technical faults, and a pretty off-putting clientèle loitering around the lifts and preventing guests gaining access to the terrace.

If we'd paid for the experience, I'd be pretty angry. As it was free, I'm just going to warn others about it on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and heard no noise from the bar/club on the 10th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Steve_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

As we’ve said before, it really thrills us to see our staff mentioned by name! Ruairi and Jamie are two of our excellent Concierge team, who – like all the staff at ME London – are dedicated to ensuring our guests receive more than the high quality service they expect. This is why we are so disappointed to read that you received poor service from other members of our team. Although our outlets, including Radio Bar, are operated by The One Group, they are still part of ME London and trained to the highest level. We are taking this comment very seriously and investigating what happened. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. May we reassure you that this is such a rare occurrence here at the Hotel and we would hate for it to mar your decision to stay with us again. Don’t dismiss us just yet and give us the opportunity to show you just why we’re London’s best, new, service focussed 5* hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,476 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,147 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#44 of 1,077 in London
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London

Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $283 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ME London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing