We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Achingly Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ME London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ME London Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Achingly Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The architecture of this hotel is stunning and the experience from the moment you enter is hugely attentive. We we greeted by the door man and passed on to some one who escorted us up to reception and poured us a glass of cava, we had a bit of a wait to check in but the conversation was polite to ensure the wait passed quickly, in fact I wish I had taken the name of the Italian gentleman as he also made an effort to recognise and talk to us throughout our stay. We were equally impressed with the the 2nd person who helped him to accompany us to our room (quite why we needed 2 people I am not sure, but it was a lovely touch when the receptionist phoned him mentioning our name to say we had arrived - almost like he was expecting us!). In fact of the whole welcoming experience it was the receptionist who probably let it down as she wasn't anywhere near as attentive as the others.

The rooms are fabulous and even though we stayed it the lowest level room we were impressed with the size (bigger than a similar rate room in The Sanderson), I have read several views commenting on noise but to be honest we had no issues at all, although having experienced the bars in the hotel I can believe this may be an issue on certain floors (we were on the 4th floor).

The bars and restaurants are designed to attract a young/young at heart crowd. We went into Radio for a drink before heading out for dinner and there were huge queue's for non residents (probably not surprising given the gorgeous day and the stunning terrace & views - I think there were hardly any of the major London landmarks you couldn't see) although things were getting a little messy even at 7.30 - a result of too much drinking in the sunshine I think! We wandered into STK on our way back which was also buzzing & there seemed to be a flash mob dance going on which virtually everyone in the restaurant was taking part in - it was brilliant to watch. We also tried the bar in the lobby, but the service was a bit lacking here - although we were impressed with the price, £9 for a glass of champagne in a central London hotel is pretty reasonable.

My only slight grumble would be despite contacting the ME reservation team before hand and mentioning to a couple of the guys who greeted us that we were there to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary there was no recognition of this during our stay. As a comparison we also stayed in London for our first and second anniversaries both of which were recognised by the hotel's, now I appreciate you can't upgrade everyone (which is what happened at St Martins Lane) and this is down to availability, but equally a little touch like a bottle of wine and a note (as we had in The Sanderson) goes along way. For a hotel that is clearly trying to differentiate itself on service little touches like that make a big difference.

However, I would absolutely recommend this hotel and in fact we just about to stay in the same chain in Barcelona so I hope we have as good an experience there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. It highlights the atmosphere and vibe of ME London. We’re a dynamic and exciting hotel; entertaining our guests and exceeding their expectations, all the while providing a seamless, attentive and personalised service. I cannot apologise enough for not recognising your anniversary. As soon as we find out about it, our Aura team kicks into action for all special occasions to create that extra, memory-making touch to the experience we want to provide. Come back for a birthday, anniversary, or even a special Tuesday, and we’ll show you just why we’re London’s best (and most stylish) new hotel. Thank you, once again, for your constructive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    457
    153
    69
    54
See reviews for
328
1,243
93
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here midweek, using avios points. When we checked in we were disappointed to hear the the rooftop bar was closed for a private function. Upon seeing my disappointment, we were offered champagne and our room was upgraded to a suite. This is a designer hotel with gloss black corridors which are a little disorientating! The room was great with the best stocked mini bar I've seen - you can even request a bartender to come and shake your cocktail! We drank in STK that had a great atmosphere and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drussel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Indeed, Radio can both be very busy and booked for private functions. I am delighted to hear that we compensated your understandable disappointment. This is just one example of ME London putting the desires of guests at the top of our priorities and exceeding their expectations. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sleek, chic, and precise. Everything about this hotel is geared to catering to your every whim and comfort while surrounding you with gorgeous, sleek marble design and luxurious linens. Opt for the inclusive breakfast. Pricey but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Renee Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We cannot wait to see you again and impress you further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a few major wrinkles. After spending long hours traveling to London it was a real treat to enter this hotel. The room was amazing, bed very comfortable - but there was so much noise coming from the roof top bar it was impossible to watch TV or go to sleep before 1:30am. Numerous complaints to the front desk did not alleviate the problem. I had an early morning train to catch the next day and felt awful in the morning. My daughters wedding was 2 hours outside of London and I arrived exhausted due o lack of sleep. Ruined my day!
The very least I expect from a hotel is a good nights sleep. ME FAILED MISERABLY in this regard.
The only other complaint was the lack of lighting in the hallways. Really creepy for a single woman looking for her room.
Definitely would not book here again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment. The very last thing we want for our guests is to have a disturbed night’s sleep and, therefore, we are investigating the noise situation. Considering you had such an important and exciting event the following day, we are doubly regretful that your ME London experience did not exceed your expectations. We don’t want to fail anyone. If you would allow us to, please come back and allow us to show you why the vast majority of our guests keep coming back to the ME London experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I've spent one night only in this hotel. I liked the idea of having a drink on a rooftop bar. However, the bar is not really meant for thd hotel guests. It's a popular spot and needs to be booked in advance. Check in time had been re-adjusted for 15.00, not 12.00 as written on my booking, which kept me tucked in business clothing all day. The hotel is lovely, but I do mind paying 400 £ for 15 hours bed and room only, in my case without breakfast, of bar access.
Otherwise no complaints. Lovely bathroom, cool design, but I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THREOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are investigating our confirmations and hope to have the correct check-in time of 3 PM published on future confirmations soon. You’re correct, Radio Rooftop Bar is both popular and open to the general public as well as hotel guests. Many guests have mentioned to us that they feel Radio should prioritise in-house guests. This was always our intention and we have listened to criticism. Radio now has a certain number of spaces allocated to our hotel guests, but we still do emphasise the importance of booking in-advance. Please reconsider and return to our hotel – we’d love to show you an experience that will keep you coming back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the minute you walk in to this spectacular hotel you are made to feel completely at ease and comfortable by the friendly, smiling staff who manage to be professional and helpful without being too much!
We arrived a few hours before our check in time but the receptionist went out of her way to make sure that our room was ready for us asap.
In the meantime we went up to the amazing Radio Rooftop bar for a spot a lunch. It had a lovely relaxed vibe, a nice mix of people and of course fantastic views of London.
As we were finishing our lunch our host came up to let us know that our room was ready. While he accompanied us to our room he filled us in on all that the hotel had to offer and then, in our room, showed us how everything worked, which was nice (as there is nothing worse than not being able to switch off the air con etc.)
The room was just what he had hoped it would be.... spacious with a really comfortable bed and amazing bathroom full of lovely products. They also left some great amenities and a personalized greeting and we also found our luggage waiting for us.
Service and food in Cucina Asellina was just perfect and we had a great breakfast there in the morning too!
I don't think that there was anything we didn't like about this hotel. The whole team is doing a great job here and I can't wait to come back and stay here again.
Thank you to all the staff who went out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable. I will certainly recommended this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillyChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for such an excellent review. The team is thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and cannot wait to see you again and impress you further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a fabulous 4 night stay we have just enjoyed at ME London.
On arrival we were greeted at the concierge desk, where we dropped our luggage. Kelvin, the head concierge, who was extremely helpful throughout our stay, runs a slick team. We were swiftly escorted to the 1st floor reception, given complimentary champagne and a warm welcome to this buzzing hotel.
We finished our fizz on the 10th floor at the Radio Rooftop bar, which has outstanding views over the river and City landmarks. We ate twice at STK one the hotel restaurants, the steaks were amazing with a great selection of toppings/sauces, and imaginative sides. Friendly and attentive staff were happy to advise on menu options. This restaurant/bar really comes alive at the weekend, and, although noisy, had a brilliant vibrancy made even better by great music played by the resident DJ.
Our room, on the 8th floor was fabulous. Spacious and bright with funky lighting, superb bathroom and great amenities. It even had outdoor space - terrific! There was NO noise from any other room or from traffic. The massive bed was so comfortable - perfect!
Breakfast in Cucina Asellina, was waiter service. Lucca and his young energetic staff attended to our every need.. Here an extensive choice of a la carte dishes was available. The inclusive rate allowed for three options, all delicious. Our favourite was Continental. This consisted of fruit juices, cheeses, meats, eggs, toast and a selection of pastries, washed down with great coffee and a section of teas. For us, this could have been an even better if served buffet style!
ME London enjoys a wonderful location, close to so many attractions. Throughout the hotel, and without exception, we found the staff genuinely keen to do everything they could to make our stay the best possible experience. Thanks to all.
Try a stay at ME London and see for yourself! We'll be staying again in the Autumn and can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HANDJ16522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much! It’s a delight to read reviews that mention our staff. Kelvin and Lucca are just two of our staff members who have the guest experience at the top of their priorities. Please do come back to ME London to meet more of our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London Hotel

Property: ME London Hotel
Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Business Hotel in London
#95 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ME London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing