We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,267)
Filter reviews
3,267 results
Traveler rating
2,367
563
187
85
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,367
563
187
85
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews radio bar rooftop bar stk restaurant glass of prosecco aura team chic suite covent garden vibe room mode room black marble mood lighting somerset house first floor cool hotel on arrival reception area is stunning hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,491 - 2,496 of 3,267 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked this on a whim when we decided to go back to London. Hotel and staff was amazing. Room was perfect with mood lighting and modern amenities. Shower was super huge along with a double sink and balcony patio. Very modern and clean. Loved the rooftop bar as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiL607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay at ME London. We are so pleased you enjoyed the personalised settings of our lighting system and also our cool, quirky mini bar selection. We look forward to your next "whim" trip and welcoming you back to ME London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were invited to the rooftop bar and were also shown round the hotel. The building originally belonged to BBC Radio and has kept some features to preserve its heritsge but at the same time the rooms are ultra modern design. The rooms have adjustable lighting to suit your mood a low flat screen TV. The location is very convenient for Theatreland with the rooftop Radio Bar overlooking Mama Mia. The lobby has a very unusual and striking design. The check in is done on the peaceful first floor atrium away from the somewhat noisy lobby where there is a bar and two restaurants. The restaurants are very open but excellent value with nice menus but they need to be prebooked. The roof bar and roof cabanas also need to be prebooked at least 48hours before as they have a strict capacity limit and no priority for guests. Capacity is to be extended but I would then have some concerns that it will become busy, noisy and less ambient. The canapes were imaginative, well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent ME London experience. The history of this building plot really adds to the journey our guests go through so it was crucial for us to retain both the story - as well as ensuring our contemporary decor complimented the heritage - hence the names Marconi and Radio for our two bars. Please do come back and see us soon so we can exceed your expectations further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited the hotel on the star deal last night and all I can say is WOW! They give you a cocktail on the roof first which is beautiful and has the best view in London, followed by a 3 course dinner in Asellina all for £25!! The food and service were the best I've had in London. Truly unbelievable! I usually steer away from deals due to lack of good service when redeeming. Sometimes it feels like when they know you are there for an offer they treat you like second class citizens. Definitely not the case at Asellina. An amazing night on the cheap! I feel like I won something!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are so pleased that you were able to experience our Star deal - taking in two of London's newest restaurant's and bars. We are so pleased you were able to join us - and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent three nights here over Easter with my wife. Firstly, they said they had a car park but in fact it wasn't yet open. This meant we had fair walk with a suitcase! The hotel had been open one month and they are still trying to work it out. The concierge people were good both helpful and competent. Reception is on the first floor and is an extraordinary structure, several floors high in grey marble with light projections of moving stars? On the Monday morning when we checked out however, there was only one receptionist on duty, so we had to wait whilst another client's travel needs were sorted out. The evenings were a bit odd. There is a very posh bar at the top and lots of people wanting to experience it. This means that the security was a bit oppressive. We just wanted to summon the lift and go up to our room but a strange character in one of those modern jackets that looks several sizes to small to an oldie like me, wasn't having that. We had to wait for him to summon the lift and allow us in. They need to decide whether they are a night club or a hotel. The two don't go to well together through the one entrance and set of lifts. The room was fine but no kettle, only an expresso machine with an insufficient number of coffee cartridges (1 real & 1 Decaf)). A shame, I rather like a cup of tea. No bath but a reasonable shower. Big TV against a lot of black shiny plastic. Large but terribly soft bed equals a poor nights sleep and achy hips in the morning. It had large dips in it and was quite uncomfortable. There is a lot of black marble in the entrance, reception and the corridors and there always seemed to be someone polishing it! Worst was the Italian restaurant on the first floor doing breakfast. Food was OK but the service was really poor. The staff including a managementy type spent their time chatting to each other and favoured guests whilst the rest of us struggled to attract attention to get more coffee. The staff were pleasant without exception and I am sure they will get it right in time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanAppleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for reviewing. We are sorry to read that ME London didn’t excite you on your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff and yet again their helpfulness. The team at ME London are passionate about looking after our guests and we’re thrilled that you could consider this in your comments to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in an Aura room for 2 days over Easter. Yes, the rooms, hotel and general design have a wow factor- floating jellyfish in reception wall and the bar at the top. But....ME needs to decide if its a nightclub or a hotel. When we stayed the bar at the top was playing non stop techno music and mostly full of visitors not paying guests and we had to shout at each other to hold a conversation. The restaurant is the same- we had 4 speakers over our dinner table and asked the waitress repeatedly to turn the music down, to no avail. Whilst she was very sympathetic, her manager just ignored our request. Gilberto on the concierge desk is the best asset they have- welcoming, smiley, friendly and locked my camera in the concierge desk because it wouldnt fit in the hotel safe - it's only a strait forward digital SLR! Same complaint as few others about the 2 coffee capsules for guests and no more- why? This is meant to be 5 star!! And when we requested more and freshilk, we got several capsules of both coffee and UHT milk- despite repeating the order. Th Spanish staff are friendly but language problems exist....we felt like outsiders whilst we stayed there and have stayed in many other 5 star hotels and have been treated much better. The lines of club ers waiting to go up in the lift each evening indicated that ME hotel is trying to woo the hipsters in London rather than address the needs of their paying guests. Time will tell if they have learnt the lessons of complaints here on trip advisor as well as in house....and yes the staff do spend all their time cleaning the marble...one even wiped down the lift door before we entered it, which is all very tip top, but really, just change the wretched thumping techno music in the lift, bar and restaurants first?

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and bring your headphones....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesbutnobut366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

ME by Melia is a unique brand and yes, what works in other hotels around the world, may not work in London. On-the-whole, ME London is an exciting and unique place to stay and be entertained; we’re not your average 5* hotel – and nor do we want to be! ME London is not going to be to everyone’s tastes, but we do provide an experience and setting unlike any other hotel in London and, most definitely, we are impressing and making a firm name for ourselves as the new, best place for London hospitality with our various outlets. Indeed, Gilberto is just one (exceptional) example of how our staff strive to look after our guests and ensure that we maintain and improve the already exciting reputation that we are gaining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews