We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and good value”
Review of Italina

Italina
Ranked #1,054 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Found in the East End of London, Italina looks to serve customers with authentic Italian food. Including pas dishes, pizza and more.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic and good value”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a great little find in Bethnal Green, simple menu and very good quality. The owner and staff are friendly. We enjoyed it so much we visited several times during a recent stay at the nearby Townhall Hotel. The pizza and pasta dishes are very authentic and there is a good selection of chicken, seafood and meat dishes too. The kitchen is open and looked nice and clean. I would recommend Italina if you enjoy good simple Italian food at a reasonable price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    64
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great taste of italy!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good quality food for a very honest price! Starters are really nice...and main dishes is not just about pizzas...was too full to try the desserts unfortunately!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant pizza”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a pizza to take back to our hotel & were delighted with our margerita & diavalo. Tasty pizza, great friendly service & great value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My darling husband took me here for our weekly date night. We walked from home which is about a 30min walk, and it was a beautiful crisp evening. Thinking I knew the area really well I was utterly fooled by the time we got to the bottom end of mare street as I was certain there was nothing worthy of our date night evenings around. I was wrong.

Tucked away in between some little newsagents and second hand shops is Italina. If you blink, you'd miss it. But I'm glad his eyes were wide open. With modest seating for about 30 people, this intimate little Italian is no frills, fabulous Italian dining. The smells, the music, the atmosphere - the Italian banter in the open kitchen - superb.

We tucked in to a beautiful bottle of (very reasonably priced) Chianti and poured over a very simple, yet beautifully authentic Italian menu. My husband went for one of the specials - scallop and king prawn ravioli and I had my favourite - Risotto ai Frutti Di Marre. Absolutely delicious. (Although a little chilli oil on the risotto, IMHO, would have made this spectacular).

Cannot recommend this place enough, though not enough so that you suddenly all visiting and they can't find a table for us any more!

Who needs Dalston when you've got fantastic little gems like this tucked away in the grime of Mare Street. Motto bene.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pricetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some words about the service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Authentic Italian food. Good value. Relaxing atmosphere.

And just some words about how good is the service: Last night we went to Italina to have dinner with some friends. We broke a glass of wine near one of the delicious pizzas they served us. Immediately a member of the staff noticed it and requested a new pizza to the kitchen even it was late and the kitchen was almost closed. They served us a new pizza free of charge. The kind of things that makes you appreciate a place like this.

When we asked for the bill there wasn't any stupid “complimentary” charge like in other places. The service was very good so we left a tip because they really deserved it.

We will come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PascualDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italina also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Italina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing