We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of The Hamshire Hog

The Hamshire Hog
Ranked #8,183 of 24,835 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Extremely disappointing experience. If you're planning an event, stay away. We booked the deck in the garden for a party and some platters to start the party. The pub wouldn't let us have the deck because the bill could not be paid by a single card so we lost the area we'd booked and paid a deposit for and the platters were of extremely low quality - the vegetarian platters consisted of sliced up courgettes and tomatoes. To kick the party off we put an amount behind the bar and asked the pub to close the tab once the amount was reached. Once again the pub failed to deliver on this simple agreement and went over the amount which resulted in a rather embarrassing collection among the guests to make up the difference. Then the pub had the cheek to charge 12.5% service charge on everything when there was no service. Expensive, poor quality and unreliable. No wonder the pub is largely deserted during the busiest weekends of the year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia M, General Manager at The Hamshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Hi Mollie

Thank you for your review although quite unfair.
When it came to your booking, you refused to pay the outstanding £500 for the area you had exclusivly before any of your guests arrived - therefore, did not honour your signed terms and conditions. I dealt with your personally as you were aggressive towards staff.
Thee members of your group actually apologised for your behaviour and were embarrassed with how you conducted yourself. They also left the front of house staff a very generous tip and quoted " that's for what you had to put up with".
We understand that you weren't happy with your experience.

On the day of your event the garden was fully booked and we actually had to squeeze your entire group to the back right hand corner as the venue was at full capacity.

Kindest Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We booked a table for 11 and we were 9, they run out of most of the roasts before we arrived and there was no alternative. We had to wait 50 min wait for the food and was was bland and overpriced, also the portions were not very big. Not coming back.

1  Thank Popcorninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

I went to the Hog with my friend who was visiting London, for a ‘quick’ drink before dinner. We sat outside in their, apparently newly renovated garden, which is absolutely beautiful. The ‘quick’ drink turned into a few long drinks and I think we may have tried all of the cocktails on offer. . Needless to say we didn’t go anywhere else for dinner. I ordered the Tower Burger to soak up some of the alcohol consumed. Even tho I was a little intoxicated, I do remember how delicious the food was. Not sure what my friend ordered but whatever it was, she said it was lovely too. Will defo go back again and try other food on the menu while soaking up the sun in their beautiful garden.

Thank MozzyandMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We recetly booked a birthday celebration lunch for 20 people at the Hampshire Hog. We had a private room (the Pantry) which was light, bright and informal. The manager, Lidia, helped us with the arrangements beforehand and couldn't have been more friendly and informative. On the day the service was impeccable. Everyone had a great time with lovely food and wine. I would absolutely recommend it.

Thank QuaestorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for a late Sunday lunch, beer garden was quiet and they have a lovely raised deck and pergola section with colourful cushions and plants, which was very nice.

Food was of good portions and cooked well. Prices reasonable for London. Staff very polite

Recommended

Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hamshire Hog also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Hamshire Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing