We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn building spoils staff efforts.”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #71 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good location. Good price.
The private bathroom is a cubicle made of plastic! I think it is of the kind you can find on roulottes.
Our room (second floor) was a fair sized bedroom (double + single) and well appointed. The stairs to the upper floors are a bit steep. Windows are thin and with a poor closing. I wonder what it would be like in winter... Luckily, the surroundings are very peaceful. This and very good mattresses let us sleep very well. Very good breakfast served by nice and friendly young people. At the desk they have always been kind and helpful. Overall it's been a good experience partly spoiled by the bathroom. It's a pity. Maybe one should consider to get a room with the bathroom between first and second floor: very spacious even if not the warmest place on earth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint hotel. Basic, that is no elevator and narrow steps but location is good. Easy 7 minute walk to train station and british library. 10 minutes to british museum. Covent garden 20-25 minutes. There is tube stop at Pancras. Was warm--I was there in November. Very nice staff. Got to check in a little early which was great since it was raining. Decent wifi but all I used it for was email and reading. I would definitely stay there again. Lots of small restaurants in neighborhood plus little grocery stores.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartographyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The location is good and so does the price. It is very near to Russell Square and King's Cross St. Pancras tube station. The girls at the reception are nice and helpful. Wife provided is good. I was taking single bedroom and the bathroom is shared. From my experience, the bathroom, bed, towel and mattress are clean. The heather in the room is working well. And, breakfast is satisfying. But, there is one aspect that may be not suitable for some people which is stairs! It is way too much… Take it if u are okay to work out, leave this option if you can’t carry luggage up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cucumber_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The George is a reliable small hotel - clean & pleasant with a good full English breakfast and the smallest bathrooms in captivity. The location is hard to beat, about halfway between Kings Cross and Russell Sq. stations, near the British Library, British Museum, and all things Bloomsbury, plus an easy underground link to pretty much anywhere in London. The rooms are not fancy, but this time we're at the front, overlooking leafy Cartwright Gardens, which is one of those pretty Regency crescents. The neighborhood has a number of restaurants, including Mabel's pub and the wonderful North Sea Fish for serious fish & chips. This is the third time we've stayed here and I expect we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Grubby and worn room with ill-fitting door and tiny ensuite bathroom. Very basic daily cleaning. Asked for an extra duvet, but was told they didn't have spare duvets (a hotel without spare duvets?!) Small and smelly breakfast room. Indifferent staff. Overpriced. Good location, but there are plenty of other hotels and B&B's in the area, so avoid this as it is simply not worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather-fam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First I'd like to say thank all of you who gave me your input for this hotel.
I arrived at Kings Cross on the Eurostar from Brussels and it was quite simple to find The George Hotel. From the station entrance cross Euston Rd and walk right to Judd St. Turn Left on Judd St to Hastings. Cross Judd and continue right on Hastings to Cartwright Gardens and the hotel is around the park on your right.

The hotel staff reception desk was friendly but appeared to be overburdened with their duties and rushed. The reception is quite nice and the facility had just gotten a paint job in the halls that day - by morning the excess supplies were picked up.

The room was clean and okay. The bath reminded me of an RV bathroom unit that may have been installed instead of a regular bath. Very small and cheaply done but functional for 2 small people.

Breakfast was the highlight and our steward, Angelo was great and helpful. The food was good, varied and hot.

On a 1 to 5 I'd rate it about a 3. It served it's purpose and was close to transportation and the east end. For our next visit to the east end I would definitely venture out and try another B&B. It would be worth the risk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at The George.
I had other plans but the night before we left they fell through so I had to find something else.

pro: great location, fairly comfortable bed, OK staff, large breakfast

con: way over priced for what we were given (137 pounds per night for a 3 person room,and there were only 2 of us,(We were told it was the last room available (?); windows that didn't stay locked, poor upkeep of halls and rooms; as someone else said, if you bent over in the bathroom your backside hit the door and your head hit the wall opposite it; cheap hairdryer (couldn't direct the flow); felt like a firetrap because of the steep,narrow staircases (there are fire doors however); top floor room had a sagging floor; the web site showed a nice room that I am sure wasn't even in The George (Unfortunately it looked good enough to convience me).

bottom line: I would never stay there again. I don't know how it received a good rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#578 of 1,077 in London
584 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#270 of 1,077 in London
2,041 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#468 of 1,077 in London
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#37 of 571 in London
625 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 571 in London
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $93 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London
The George Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing