We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #82 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in June. The hotel was very clean the bed was really comfortable. Our room had a capsule bathroom in it which was small but useful and also kept nice and clean by the staff. Yes, this hotel is a little tired, but it is excellent value for money. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurant. Location is perfect for sightseeing and transport links. The breakfast was great, they catered for my gluten free needs without any trouble at all - make sure you let them know any dietary requirements before you stay there. They are happy to oblige but do need to be forewarned.

The only downer was that the stairwell had a musty smell, but I didn't sleep or eat there so it wasn't really a problem!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 721 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

The George Hotel is in a great location, close to the tube and there's plenty of nice coffee shops, pubs and restaurants nearby. It's clean and comfortable. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in in London, but also not the worst. I was in a single room with a shared bathroom for 3 nights, which was quite small and on the top floor of the building. The stairs getting up there are a little bit precarious, so be careful! A full English breakfast is included which was pretty tasty. The only thing that was particularly bad was the wifi which kept dropping out. Overall, a decent place to stay, but not my first choice in London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is a bit run down. Dirty carpets on all floors and in our room. While we were prepared for the pitfalls of a shared bath, the bathrooms were awful. The one on our hall appeared to have been newly tiled, but there was only about 17 inches of space between the toilet and the shower door to dry off, get dressed or even just move around in. A bath on the third floor was much bigger, but dirty and in need of refurbishing. The wifi signal was weak or nonexistant. The staff was slightly rude.
Also, if you have issues with mostly naked men wandering the halls, this is not the place for you. More than once I was surprised in the hallway by naked men leaving the shower with only a towel hanging in front of them. Apparently it never occured to them to put on some clothes before leaving the bath. This may be normal in some parts of the world, but I didn't like it.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the basement in the summer. Heated pipes running the ceiling of the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute as previous hotel was too awful to stay in.
This hotel is in a nice area close to Paddington station so nice and easy to get around London on the tube from here.
Hotel is a bit ramshackle and could do with redecoration, updating and some general maintenance. They provided clean towels and toiletries which was nice. Tea and coffee making ingredients provided but no milk or substitute. Continental breakfast brought to the room each morning. Fridge and safe in the room.
Double bed only had a single sheet on it which meant we spent part of the night rearranging it and still woke up lying straight on the mattress. The shower was broken so had no way of attaching it to the wall so had to hold it yourself whilst you showered. The bathroom was so tiny as to make you claustrophobic. The sink had no plug either.
Room had a balcony but the doors had a hole in one of the panes of glass as big as a 50p piece, okay in summer but not so sure it would be nice in the winter.
For nearly a hundred pound a night we expected better quality than this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed one night at The George Hotel mid-week. Cartwright Gardens has a number of hotels arranged in a horseshoe around gardens, close to Russell Square tube station and an easy walk to Kings Cross or St Pancras mainline stations. I had booked online a couple of months before, and check in was swift. The room was up a couple of flights of stairs, and was simply furnished, with comfortable twin beds and some desk furniture. The small shower cubicle was physically in the room which I had not experienced before. There was a larger shared bathroom with toilet on the floor below. The included wifi was of a decent strength - but comes with a stern warning not to download programs or stream. Bandwidth is obviously an issue which is probably linked to the competitive price of the room. Breakfast was included in the price of the room - but didn't commence until 8am. Given I had an early train to the north from Kings Cross leaving at 7.45 I was unable to avail myself, and no alternative such as a takeaway continental breakfast was offered. My own view is that an 8am start for breakfast (which is clearly outlined on the hotel's website so this wasn't a surprise to me) is too late in the nation's capital when a full day of exploring or a train connection is likely for many of this hotel's clientele. However, the hotel was quiet, meaning a restful sleep was experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimfromCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had a one day stop over in London, so a colleague and I stayed one night in The George Hotel.

Check-in: We rented a double room which came with two twin beds and an "in suite bath". Flight from Nigeria arrived at about 5:30am, we then took the Tube from Heathrow to Russell square station, about 45 min. It gets quite crowded, but a fine ride although you would not want to wrestle large, or heavy luggage on this route. From the station, it is about a 10 minute walk to a quiet little street lined with similar hotels to the George. We arrived just after 7:00, and checked in, although we could not go to the room, they allowed us to leave our luggage in a corner of the lobby. Receptionist recommended the Big Bus Tour [Double Decker], and sold us tickets. The closest pickup point is a pleasant 10 minute walk.

The Room: Our room was on the third floor, up a series of very narrow, very steep stairs. It overlooked the park/tennis courts [which closed about 10pm] across the street. There were two windows that opened to the street, but the neighborhood was quiet, and the breeze was pleasant. There wasn't much in the way of decor, but that was fine, we weren't there to hang out in the room.

The Bath: Here in America, you can buy a fiberglass enclosure for a tub/shower that is all one unit, just drop it in and connect the plumbing. Well, this was an entire fiberglass bathroom! I guess in these old London buildings bathrooms were at a minimum and to add an in suite bath, you can buy the unit, run some water and presto, you've got an instant bath. As you might imagine, it was TINY, the sink actually hangs over the toilet. BUT, it is fully functional, just not what I was expecting in a B & B.

Location: We walked a couple of blocks down and chose a breakfast cafe. Then walked to the Big Bus pickup spot. We ended up walking to the avenue A3211 which runs along the Thames to catch a bus on a different route. The George is about a 2 mile walk from the London Eye, & Cleopatra's Needle. After spending the day sightseeing, we returned to The George that evening about 9:00pm. We were directed to the room, our bags had been moved, but were intact. The Receptionist directed us to a fish & chips place about 2 blocks away and we brought our supper back and sat on the porch as we ate. There were lots of small restaurants around, but they all seemed crowded and we had an early plane the next morning.

Other Thoughts:
1) They lock the lobby at 10pm, but they do have a 2nd entrance for late night/early morning arrivals-departures. 2) They advertise internet, and give you an access code when you check in, along with a paper that admonishes you not to stream, or download anything, but it seemed to work fine for email. I didn't try to download anything. 3) We had to leave before they opened breakfast, we were told that if we could wait until they opened we could take a banana or something with us, but nothing was available until then. 4) They wouldn't charge my CC in USD, only in BPS, so expect a foreign transaction fee (mine was 3%) on your card unless you have a card without it. 5) Overall they were friendly and helpful. The price is based primarily on location, so don't expect too much from the room, just enjoy the experience of being close to central London.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, reserve a room on the ground, or skip this one, the stairs are chal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibssguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights in early June. The George is ideally located in a quiet crescent within a few minutes’ walking distance of Euston, Kings’ Cross, the BM and some of the main University of London buildings (e.g. UCL and SOAS). There are tennis courts just across the road - rackets and balls can be obtained from reception. We had a triple room (no 3) in the basement, not ideal in some ways because we could hear the creaking of the floor above in reception and the rumbling of the underground trains below (though luckily there is no train service in the middle of the night!); however, we got a reasonably good night’s sleep, and having no other room adjacent meant we heard nothing from other guests. Minimal soundproofing between rooms elsewhere in the hotel might be a problem, as in many UK hotels. There was plenty of space in our room; the en suite bathroom was small and narrow (might be a problem for guests who are larger than us!), with a slightly unpleasant musty smell, but everything was in good working order. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the bed pretty comfortable. There were very generous supplies of tea and coffee, and an excellent information folder, perhaps the best I have seen anywhere in the world, primarily aimed at overseas visitors – everything up-front and honest, even so far as to advise guests to buy a phone card for overseas phone calls rather than make very expensive calls from the room phone! Breakfast was very good and cost very little extra - freshly cooked and quick to arrive for those in a hurry. I have read about a few problems in other reviews, but overall we were very satisfied, and the staff were friendly and efficient - a lightbulb was changed quickly and an effort was made to improve poor TV reception. We definitely plan to stay here again, rather than at one of the budget chains nearby.

Room Tip: If you want to watch TV, don't stay in the basement! But basement rooms might be quieter, and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#583 of 1,077 in London
591 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#34 of 579 in London
241 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#25 of 579 in London
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#56 of 579 in London
227 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#248 of 579 in London
660 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 579 in London
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $82 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London
The George Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing