We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but no elevator”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #77 of 557 London B&B and Inns
California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value, but no elevator”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Overall our stay was okay, the room was average. The bed was clean and the sheets but the carpet looked like it has been used for many years and it is a bit run down. The shared bathrrom and toilets were clean as well. Now I know there are alot of older buildings and thismone is no exception... There is no elevator and we were staying in the 3rd floor so there were many stairs to climb up and it is a high climb. One major point to this hotel is location, which is very close to the tube.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GranadaHills2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    282
    157
    67
    33
See reviews for
148
158
124
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in July 2012 from Australia. We were there just prior to the Olympics.

This hotel was in a great location, only a short walk to Kings Cross & Euston Stations and also very close to Russell Square Station on the Piccadilly Line so was so easy to get everywhere.

We stayed in a triple room with ensuite as this was all that was left when we booked but we were very grateful when we realised how small the rooms were. Having the extra space was so great with all our luggage! The ensuite was small but completely adequate. We were also in a basement room which turned out to be great. It was a little less money and we had no issues whatsoever with noise. We still had a window so overall we weren't bothered at all with the basement room. The wi-fi always worked and the breakfast was great. The service in the dining room was great and the food while basic was more than adequate to get us on our way for the day.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Visited London for the Olympic Games, so generally hotels were quite expensive. The Goerge were one of the few that didn't seem to take advantage, and the rates were ok.

We booked a triple room (a double bed and a single bed) with en suite. The room was small, and the bathroom was tiny. Many of the rooms in the hotel have shared bathrooms (communal, in the hall) so we were glad to have it however small.

Clean rooms, good selection of channels on the TV. The breakfast was delicious, and breakfast room staff really pleasant to deal with. The location was perfect for being central in the city, and only 5 minutes from St Pancras for the javelin train to the Olympic Park.

If normal rates were applying, I probably wouldn't have stated here, but to be fair as a budget option it was fine as you were not spending a lot of time I the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the George Hotel in London for one night. The location was good, in a quiet neighborhood within easy, equal walking distance to both Euston Station and King's Cross/St. Pancras stations. We were given a family room with an extra bed and there was hardly any room to walk around. I understand that the hotel added an extra bed to a triple room, but we literally had 2 beds up against another and it still made getting in and out of the bathroom difficult. The bathroom was so small you could not use the toliet without leaning against the sink and no room to stand and dry off after a shower. The water pressure was quite good and beds were comfortable, but that didn't make up for the tightness of the room and especially the bathroom. Breakfast was good, but they did not get my son's egg order correct. With only the 4 of us and not crowded with other families, it should have been easy to get the order right. Wifi was free, but intermittent. There is no lift, but we were on the ground floor so not an issue. Our room was next to the night door, but it remained quiet all night. We felt comfortable walking in the neighborhood at night with our children. Overall, the room was fine for the one night, but with the space problems, we would not have been happy staying more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel was in great location & served a substantial breakfast. We were there during the Olympics & found the convenience to St Pancras station a bonus. There are plenty of restaurants & pubs only doors away & plenty of shops. The staff were friendly & helpful. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for lower floors if unable to manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The George Hotel is an adequate inn which is brilliantly located for travel and touring within London. (It is within walking-distance-with-luggage from both St Pancras/Kings Cross and Russell Square, which is on the Picadilly line direct from LHR.) Its greatest charm is its staff, who are helpful and friendly, and seem to take a great deal in their stride. The beds are firm and comfortable. The drawbacks are that this is an historic property that has been retrofitted with both plumbing and electricity, and neither are particularly up to 21st century standards. Free wifi was a bonus (even if intermittent), but finding a place to plug in and charge up the laptops, phones, etc. was a challenge. Much is made of the 'Full English Breakfast'. But I will certainly stay there again when I'm just passing through London.

Room Tip: If you have anything but hand luggage request a room on the lower levels-- there are no lifts and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staff friendly and breakast was good. Convenient location. Our room was very small and furnishings were minimal and old. The bathroom was very small, the shower leaked badly which flooded the floor resulting in very strong mould odour. Constant rumble noise from underground train services. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#566 of 1,069 in London
567 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#419 of 1,069 in London
719 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#903 of 1,069 in London
149 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#202 of 557 in London
626 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 557 in London
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 58-60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London
The George Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing