We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“London City Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Paddington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Paddington
Ranked #978 of 1,066 Hotels in London
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“London City Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

These apartments are in a wonderful location and for the price offer a spacious room that is clean and has all that is needed for a short city break. By using the kitchenette it is possible to save money on eating out, but there are plenty of bars, restaurants and attractions near by. The only issue for some travellers may be the stairs, we stayed on the fifth floor and there is no lift. For us, this wasn't a problem and as we only had hand luggage we managed fine but the stairs are rather narrow and fairly steep (I found this adds to the history of the building in the area). The staff in the building were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    55
    36
    76
See reviews for
27
85
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed there for 4 nights. We got room downstairs in their dungeon without openable roof light windows, nor air circulation. They want to pay before stay on desk and want all your credit card numbers written on paper form. And bathroom should be named as torture room. BEWARE of this "hotel" it is not worth of money.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Where to begin?
On arrival when you walk in you think you found a really good deal and a place to stay. You are quickly disappointed when you walk in to reception. Run down and smelly. The stairs are narrow making it hard to get up with suitcases, and you can see that everyone else has struggled as well with marks and holes in the wall.

Upon arrival i had to give out my debit card details, including security code if you wish to stay. I was not given a reason why they needed all this information from me. When i went back downstairs to enquirer about the internet i could see my card details and copy of my passport sitting out in plain view for everyone to see. Needless to say the card has been cancelled as soon as i left.

The walls a paper thin and you can EVERYTHING!!! The internet is overpriced and doesn't work well at the best of times. I was told my room would be cleaned everyday, they only made my bed and changed my towels. The floor was a mess and my bed was falling apart and made noises no matter what you did. The floor was filthy, apparently owning a broom and vacuum is to expensive. To use the toilet and the shower you have to leave the door open to be able to move around. The kitchen was shockingly small was only provided with one power outlet and an extension lead. The sheets and duvet cover i was provided with were torn. I had to use a coat hunger to hold the window open. I felt like a prisoner with less room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Dylan Paddington advertised studio apartments. Upon arrival we found this to be more like a youth hostel. The bed was so small, I had to sleep on the floor the first night so my wife could sleep on the narrow bed. When we informed the manager the room was inadequate for our needs and we had to leave, he refused to provide any kind of refund thus in effect charging us $643.00 for one night's stay. Citi Bank would not intervene saying it was a foreign country. Stay if you are a single student, but don't do business with these people if you want a comfortable lodging and value your pocketbook.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dirty, smelly refrigerator (smelled of dead animals), stove did not work, blowing the circuit breaker everytime we tried to use (staff refused to fix), lights blew circuit breaker - left in dark all night. Night staff "Only here for emergencies", could not replace the bulb. Woman in office (manager I presume) was the WORST person I have ever met when it comes to customer service. She was obnoxious and RUDE, RUDE, RUDE. Unaccommodating and agrumentative. Plenty of places to stay - I agree with FNBSunburnt... Tear it down and start again... with NEW STAFF!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marelondon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Upon checking in, all payments were required to be paid upfront for the stay. This wasn't a problem until we requested for a refund when the conditions got unbearable.

First, we had a shower that the water could not drain. Then the maintenance guy came and pulled out the hairball, after which it was still poor, but workable. Secondly, there was 7am to 6pm construction noise non-stop next door was so loud that the wall next to the bed was vibrating. (a hammer-drill going into a shared concrete wall is not a pleasant experience)
The final straw was when the stove stopped working.

We first asked for a refund/cancellation of some of our remaining nights and they flatly refused (we would have been totally happy with losing 1-2 night cancellation fee), claiming that we “agreed” the room was fine before we moved in. The reality is we got ASSIGNED the room after we paid, had a token of assistance with getting our luggage down to the deep bowels of the most bottom room (being shown the way as it was not easy to find). Then told that this was our room and left with the key. There was no verbal agreement of acceptance and definitely no offering for alternative options.

Their initial resolution for the stove was to say the least, pathetic. We were asked to use the stove in another room, but not eat or stay in that room for very long as it was needed to be kept clean as there was another guest arriving and no rooms were available for the night. The suggested solution was ridiculous for the simple reason that we had paid for a room with cooking facilities, and reserved the right to use them at any time, and not be restricted to
the time, duration and frequency to the use of the kitchen, and require permission from the staff every time to access the other room.

After a half-hour of patient and polite reasoning with the manager (never once being offered any reasonable alternative, or partial compensation for the lack of facilities) my partner decided the best thing was to wait quietly in reception to await word back from their maintenance contractor on fear that if he was not physically there to remind them, we would not likely get a resolution before the staff went home for the day.

After another half-hour of waiting they very reluctantly came up with a final solution of moving us into another room. Yes you heard correctly, there was in-fact another room available! (to say that another way, we had been flat out LIED to)

The kitchen in the new room worked, but there was an exceptional reek from the pipes in the bathroom, but what choice did we have at that point.

Another annoying issue with the kitchen facilities is that they provide no cleaning products. At first we thought they might service the apartment, and then we were told that we needed to buy them ourselves. It's not the cost, it's the inconvenience!

In the end we paid for 6 nights and left after 4. We lost 2 nights of payment but it was not worth the pain.

It was by far the most unpleasant experience we had in UK – would never go back there again and would implore each and every single prospective guest to avoid this place at any cost!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FnBSunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hyde Park Executive Apartments
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#679 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Hotel 65
#844 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westpoint Hotel
#733 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#275 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Notting Hill
Princes Square Hotel
Princes Square Hotel
#652 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Paddington

Property: Dylan Apartments Paddington
Address: 14 Devonshire Terrace | Westminster, London W2 3DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dylan Apartments Paddington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 21 self-catering Studio Apartments near Paddington Station very close to Hyde Park & Notting Hill. Ideal for Business Professionals, Tourists and Holiday Breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Dylan Apartments Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Paddington Hotel London
Dylan Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Paddington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing