We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restricted”
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.06*
and up
Small-Group River Thames High-Speed Cruise from Tower Millennium Pier
Ranked #244 of 1,610 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City Hall is home to the Mayor of London, the London Assembly and the GLA, who in July 2002 became tenants of this striking rounded glass building on the south bank of the Thames near Tower Bridge. Members of the public may visit parts of City Hall Monday to Friday from 8am to 8pm and on occasional weekends.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Restricted”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The outside of the building is beautiful and there's many attractions around it like the Tate Modern and Tower Bridge but you can't go past the 2nd floor to see the helix staircase. Wish I knew before wasting time here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    102
    27
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
884 reviews
683 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
“Interesting to see the interior”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This iconic building opens for visits quite early, which was ideal for having a ramble around the interior as part of our early morning walk. Another advantage is the absence of crowds at that hour.

For the public visitor the most striking aspect is the marvellous helical staircase that rises to the full height of the building. Advantage is taken of the curving walls to mount various exhibitions. School kids’ art was the current show, some of it accomplished and imaginative.

On reaching the top, we had to turn around and retrace our steps. Given the glass structure we had some fine views of the river and surrounding architecture.

We went to the lower ground where the London's Kitchen Café is situated. People were enjoying a coffee while working on their online devices. We exited at this level and climbed the steps to resume at Queen’s Walk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
704 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Spectacular Magnifico”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Magnifico,one of the few poster building for modern architecture, truly spectacular, located in a nice, touristic surroundings with so much to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Just visiting the outside is enough.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We didn't plan or decide to visit the City Hall but seeing the outside is enough! A spectacular building with a classic design that nestles between the magnificence of The Shard and the majestic Tower Bridge. A fantastic building with a Modern feel yet sympathetic to the historic environment it is nestled in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
209 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Restricted entry”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great building from outside and inside but shame you can't pass the second floor. Not a lot to see inside if you are interested in the modern architecture. There are plenty to see around the building.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing