We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price. Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor House Hotel
Ranked #975 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The housing is affordable, simple, and clean. The breakfast is good. The staff is very courteous and helpful. And the best part is the location. You are a few minutes from the tube and right on the edge of zone 1. You can get to all the major attractions very quickly, but you are just far enough from them to avoid the crazy traffic and busyness. It is a great place to stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The second floor view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stirling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 585 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a very decent hotel for a pretty low price. I was happy with it. It was not fancy but we weren't looking for fancy just a bed and shower. The room was decent and clean but the bathroom was very very small. Breakfast was included and very simple but good. It was in a good neighborhood and right off the main road. Only a minute walk to an underground station. Very Convenient. Overall we were very Happy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Windsor House Hotel is a homely hotel which is run by very friendly people who care about you and your wishes! The hotel doesn't offer too much luxury - but for the inexpensive price you get a good service. The rooms and the rest of the house (kitchen etc.) are clean and the hotel is well located near the centre of the city. If you don't want to spend too much money for eating in restaurants, you can as well make use of the kitchen!
I can just recommend the place to everybody!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

When reviewing any hotel, I think it's really important to keep in mind what was promised at the beginning. My rating is based on this. Windsor House Hotel states openly that it offers no-frills, budget accommodation in central London. As a family of four on a tight budget and wanting to stay in one room, this was exactly what we were looking for, and it is exactly what we got. It offers plenty of advantages - it's very close to the tube station and is still within Zone 1; the staff are friendly and respectful; being able to use the kitchen and the fridge is really useful, especially when travelling with young children and when you don't want to eat fast-food every night. OK, it does get a bit crowded at breakfast, but it also gives you an opportunity to meet the other guests. As for no TV, there's so much to do in London I think we can live without the telly for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is situated very close to Earl’s Court underground station. Many nice restaurants and pubs very close by. It is a hotel with basic facilities, run by very friendly people. You may use the kitchen if you want to cook for yourself and you may use the refigirator to keep your drinks cool. Do not expect luxury, but that is not possible in London for the the price they charge you. A very nice hotel for students and other young people who do not want to pay too much for their stay. They have a lot of rooms, so groups of school childeren can also be accommodated.

Edward from the Netherlands, Aug 2012

Room Tip: Rooms have good beds and have basic funiture. Some have their own bath room, although that is very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardBeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pros: Clean, helpfull staff, great location, free use of kitchen outside meals ( there are many grosery stores neraby), reasonable price. The staff let us leave our luggage at the hotell on the day we checked out so we could pick them up later.

Cons: not much...A little narrow in the kitchen in the morning perhaps. The shower was in the same room as our beds, and not in a seperate room... but realy nothing that suprised us considering their reasonable priceses.

All in all: A place to rest, sleep and eat while visiting London. No problem bringing children along.

Windsor house hotells are what they claim to be:homely and very modest with NO luxuries.

We recomend this place for what it is, and we would gladly come back next time we visit London.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Adults3Children_NOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights and I wouldn't call this a hotel it's more of a backpackers accommodation. The staff were very helpful but we didn't have any problems really. Our double bed was 2 singles pushed together, the ensuite was a small box and it was very basic. However it did say no frills which is definitely correct. The position was perfect, Earls Court, a minutes walk to the underground and not far from the centre of London which is all a plus when your out site seeing. This is ok for a couple of nights stopover. Don't expect to much

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbandBryandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#713 of 1,076 in London
139 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#507 of 1,076 in London
375 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#717 of 1,076 in London
432 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#843 of 1,076 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor House Hotel

Address: 12 Penywern Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #975 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $49 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Windsor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel London
Windsor House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing