We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money Fitzrovia Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Ranked #66 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Value For Money Fitzrovia Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

I've stayed at another LSE hall-of-residence in London before - Ramsay Hall, which is literally round the corner from Carr-Saunders Hall.
Carr-Saunders is located at the corner of Fitzroy Street and Maple Street. It is almost under the Post Office - or BT - Tower, so it's impossible to lose your way! The handiest tube is Warren Street, about five minutes' walk away. If you are walking to this tube station, you pass a Tesco Express supermarket which is very handy for groceries, food and drink, booze, pastries etc. There is also a Sainsbury's supermarket across the road.
When you arrive at Carr-Saunders Hall, you walk up about 7-8 steep steps, making it difficult for handicapped people. They give you a plastic card to open all doors. This worked well, except I found it awkward to open the inner front door (needing to swipe it several times). There is a common room to the right as you enter; this is handy, with drinks machines, comfy sofas, tables and a small library too. Although there is a computer room, it is solely for the students' use. The door has a code for access; as do the computers. I tried to use it to no avail. I suppose, if you got to know a student of staff and asked nicely, they might give you a password!
My room was 118. There is a lift which is handy for the restaurant/canteen on the 6th floor at the top. My room was quite adequate, though a bit dated. It had a small bed with duvet, wash hand basin, wardrobe with coat-hangers, towels... no telly! There was no light at my bed, so I had to get out of bed to turn off the light. The radiator was piping hot, as was the water. The communal toilets were beside my room, which was convenient.
The breakfast was more than adequate and value for money: Sausage, bacon, egg, beans, tomato, fried bread, cereal, yoghurt, any amount of toast, butter, marmalade, jam... it is exhaustive. This big breakfast kept me going the whole day, really.
I had no complaints about it at all. I'd stay there again. Bear in mind that you shan't find much cheaper, or better value, in central London for £32 a night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Trouble opening front door with swipe card!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    112
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
84
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Qc Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

Yes the comfort is quite basic: bed, desk, mini-fridge (a nice surprise) and in room sink. But who needs more while in London.
I concur with previous posters as this is an excellent accomodation for the price paid (about 65$USD/CAD or 32£ a night). Staff is very helpfull and the fact that your staying in a student dorm makes you feel like a 20 yo. again.
Remember those carefree times when the whole world was yours to discover. And the Carr-Saunders Hall does just that! Location is very close to Tottenham Court Road with fabulous shops and restaurants. Tube station is 2 corners away, right in front of two late night supermarket. You can easily walk to all the attractions as well or tube it (get an Oyster card folks, its cheaper that way).
Last recommandation I would make would be to get some nice pajamas as the rooms are not ensuite (ie, you have to share a bathroom/showers with people of different gender).
Once again, its all part of the experience!
Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattworld_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at Carr Saunders Hall for 6 nights in the beginning of september 2007. At first everything was fine. We loved the location, and the double room was pretty big, beds comfortable, and the breakfeast was good. But on the third day, I found a cockroach in the room! We told the staff and they moved us to another room, where we didn't found more insects. They say it was probably coming from the kitchen on the floor... which obviously was pretty dirty. Other than that it was alright,,, but I would'n recommend it...

  • Liked — Location, breakfest
  • Disliked — Cockroach
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GBelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

Having always managed to stay with friends in London, I needed somewhere to stay near Oxford Road for a course which would run 12 hours a day. Following a tip from someone else I looked up University lodgings available over the summer holidays (via travelstay.com) and it came up with Carr-Saunders Hall, just off Tottenham Court Road, single room for £30 per night on B&B basis.

I arrived late Monday evening, and was impressed on entering - everything looked clean, and the check in was incredibly smooth. The guy on check-in checked if I knew what I was doing, how to use the card, etc, and that was it - I was in my room. The room was what I expected from a student room - single bed, sink, desk, wardrobe - all clean, and with towels provided. I decided to look for the toilets/showers - didn't have far to go. The room was shared male/female, but all individual cubicles for showers/toilets, all of which looked clean (aside from the Cockroach treatment posters, but as the treatment means there won't be any, no problem!), and the following morning I found that the showers were also warm and reasonably powerful. Need to be careful to hang clothes on back of door to avoid the splashes!

Breakfast available 7.30-10am, and was a choice of any 6 items, which I was pretty impressed with. Toast/spreads could also be had free on top of the 6 items! Food was not 'value' quality, but seemed pretty good - Yeo Valley yoghurts for the first 2 days... and plenty of fruit.

Issues: I could only find one dual-plug socket, which is not great these days, but other than that, all was neat. The curtains had blackout material, but needed to make-sure these were carefully pulled together and some light did get through at the bottom. I could also have done with some ear plugs because of the street noise, but this would have been the same anywhere in London (although there is a pub opposite the entrance) and by the end of the week I was used to it and slept through.

I'd stay here again, and recommend to others who want a centrally located single room... but it's only available over the summer! See: [--] for more.

  • Liked — Location & Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise outside
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbexl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

Given how expensive it can be to stay in the heart of London, C-S is reasonably good value. Price included a full breakfast - eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, croissants, etc. Kitchens also available for self-catering which helps to save $$$$. Location is convenient (Goodge St tube station on the Northern Line). Restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, internet cafe all nearby. Other residents ranged in age from 8 to 80.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

For what its worth, this place was clean, relatively convenient, quiet and had a good cafeteria breakfast. If you can live with shared showers and bathing this is definitely a good budget minded place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaberck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

The Carr-Saunders Hall is a dorm that belongs to the London School of Economics. Very good value. We paid 23 pounds pp in August and had a private twin room. Large, bright rooms - rare in London. Friendly staff. We arrived very early - around 11am. We planned on leaving our luggage at the front desk, but instead they checked us right in!
There are phones in the rooms, there is a pool table, TV,and some comfy leather couches in the community room downstairs.
Everything was clean, the bathrooms were nice. The hot/cold breakfast was wonderful as well. We loved the location! It's about a 5 min walk from the tube and bus stops with several vegetarian eateries and a tiny health food store (which seems to have absolutely everything) and juice place on the way. There are also some pubs around where the locals hang out. One of them has open mic nights. This part of town seems to be like a mini college town. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Katep876543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#657 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#536 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#494 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
LSE Passfield Hall
LSE Passfield Hall
#108 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Fitzrovia
Central London Serviced Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Property: LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Address: Carr-Saunders Hall 18-24 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing