We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Ranked #67 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Kenzingen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Carr-Saunders is very good value for money, although I still prefer the LSE accommodation in High Holborn and Drury Lane as they are even closer to the West End theatres and the Covent Garden area. Breakfast in High Holborn is even more varied than breakfast in Carr-Saunders, although it's not a full English breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    112
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
84
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is not luxury accommodation, but it's incredibly good value - £45, incl. a decent breakfast, in central London. You can walk to Theatreland, National Gallery, Westminster, South Bank etc. I have stayed several times, and think the bathrooms are better than they used to be. I recommend it as a London crashpad, as I would all the LSE halls.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. You are right that the Carr-Saunders bathrooms have been recently refurbished! I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you appreciated the good value for money offered by LSE Vacations in all our central London locations! We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Despite the friendly staff I had to leave after two nights (I had booked for 8). The room was shabby and worn out. The mattrass awful!!! I couldn't sleep at all! Avoid at all costs! Would have slept better under a bridge!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offtosleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rooms are very clean, but the bathrooms not so much.
It is five blocks from two tube stations and close to many tourist attractions.
The breakfast is delicious.
The staff could be more polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location, less than 5 minutes walk to train and bus stations, will be in Leicester square within 20 minutes. Check in very quick. Rooms basic but comfortable enough. Showers and toilets shared but always clean- always hot water- let it run and if not hot try another cublcle! Free wifi throughout. Breakfast is full cooked English with ham and cheese and croissants yoghurt fruit and cereals- All in all for 60 double is great value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CTadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is perfect for students and everyone who needs just a sleepover.
My girlfriend and I had a private 2 single bed room with a toilet and bathroom just few door away in the hallway. Also the kitchen is available with fridge and microwave (but you need your own dishes).
Breakfast was great too, toast + drinks unlimited, everything else up to 6 items (eggs, bacon, beans, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit, yogo etc) Location also perfect, close to metro, and there isn't much of a traffic in the street. Near, you can find starbucks, cafe nero, the pub called "the court", mc donalds, tesco express etc. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've stayed here several times. I know I'm not coming to a luxurious hotel. I still find it a great place to stay if you want to enjoy London staying at the center without spending huge amounts of money. So the matress is not the best ever and the showers are outside you room but you get a great breakfast that some good hotels don't beat. This time I stayed on the 4th floor and the bathrooms and shower rooms seemed very new, plus we got amenities: soap, shower gel, moisturiser and shower&conditioner. The staff is always happy to help and theres FREE WIFI, how many hotels can say the same?
Wish it was available mthe whole year round!

Room Tip: 4th floor have new bathrooms for sure :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Carr-Saunders Hall. We very much look forward to having you back next time you visit London as it's always a pleasure for us to welcome back returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#665 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#543 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#518 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
LSE Passfield Hall
LSE Passfield Hall
#109 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Fitzrovia
Central London Serviced Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Property: LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Address: Carr-Saunders Hall 18-24 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing