We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
Ranked #72 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went there without much expectations, but it was great. The location is perfect, the neighbourhood is great to go out by day and night. The breakfast is really variated and you can take whatever you want. The rooms are very clean with a lavatory in your own room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaceciliasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's all about the location. You will not find a cheaper place to spend a night in this part of London. I know as I've tried over many years. The rooms may remind you of a prison cell and you may have to share a bathroom/toilet but it is extremely cheap.

Unlike similarly priced places you will feel that it is safe, the service on the front desk is friendly and helpful and the (six item) breakfast is a very good addition. It's about ten minutes walk from Oxford Street and Soho, five minutes from Euston - the location could not be better.

Towels, soap, shower gel all provided. It is a place to crash, almost a trade secret for those in the know.

The big downside is that as it's essentially student accommodation it isn't available all year round.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A few small caveats follow. Stayed in a single room. Basic furniture but bathroom/shower facilities up-to-date and clean. Really decent and fair breakfast (which I wasn't expecting at this price), wifi was excellent. Staff were all very friendly and efficient. Excellent location close to tube stations, shopping, St. Pancras and Euston, Regents Park and walking distance to Camden market and Kentish Town to the north and the West End to the south. A Tesco's Express and Sainsbury's is just over on Tottenham Court Road. Would gladly stay again.

Caveats: * a free towel is provided but no face flannels. After a long day out (especially when I managed to come during a late-summer heat wave), I'd really like to be able to wash my face and arms. It just doesn't occur to me to bring my own flannels in trips because these are usually supplied. So bring your own or buy some of those pre-moistened towelettes at the nearby Sainsbury's or Tesco's.
* if you're staying multiple days, you may have to remind the cleaning crew to resuspply your room with the shower gel/body lotion/shampoo/conditioner/soap sachets. They're really friendly people and it wasn't a hardship to chat with them but there was a day or two when I missed them.
* the residence offers laundry/drying but I suggest hand washing in the room's sink and jerry rigging a dry rack in your room. Otherwise, the set up with using rechargeable cards really puts you at a disadvantage. You have to buy a card from the machine (£3.60-ish). This will pay for a wash and leave you with a credit. But it won't pay for a dry. So you have to go online and top up the card for a minimum of £5. Which will pay for a dry but leave you with a useless credit of something like £1.60. And I had to pay £2 for a box of laundry detergent at Sainsbury's. Essentially, I ended up paying £10.60 for a small wash and dry. The card idea is obviously suited to long term living arrangements but not so much for the summer residence set up.
* earplugs highly recommended for lighter sleepers. Ambient traffic noise in the morning and pub noise in the evening. Potion, the pub, closed their outdoors area around 10PM but people hung around past that time.
* my #1 new travel hint I picked up from another guest to deal with bad air circulation within the rooms: bring a USB stand-alone fan and a USB-included plug converter. Like I mentioned, there was a late summer heat wave and the way the windows are set up, you only get to tilt them open from the top of the windows. Unfortunately, when you pull the ceiling-to-bottom ledge curtains closed, you're also sealing out this air ventilation. You're stuck with two awful options; keep the curtains closed to keep the room dark and your neighbours from watching you sleep and be miserable in the heat or leave the curtains open for a bit of air and lots of light and, potentially, gawking. Another guest and I started chatting at breakfast and he told me he bought a plug converter that included a USB port and bought a small, cheap USB-powered desktop fan and he uses that, plugged either into the converter or his notebook, to at least make sure he was some air current going over his face or feet so he can sleep all night. What a great travel tip for future endeavors! And would have been very useful during this stay.
* two plugs in my room (one was used to the lamp). Better learn to juggle all your electrical needs :-)

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers (101-102, 201-202, etc) are located kitty corner to 'Potions', a pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty_WooBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the outside photo the hotel doesn't look very special special but inside I was pleasantly surprised. It was a basic Hotel but when I went into the room the room was very clean, neatly folded towels, soaps, shampoo etc in a sachet on bed provided free of charge. Was worried about Sharing a bathroom was it was opposite out room and was extremely clean and quiet. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to offer good value for money to our guests and maintain an effective service. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Carr-Saunders. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the cleanliness of our facilities to our housekeeping staff who work very hard to ensure a good experience for all our guests.

We very much hope we can welcome you back for another stay sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here after a recommendation from a colleague and double checked wit the TA reviews. This is a student accomodation, so don't expect hotel service. But, it is wonderfully well located to visit London. I was by myself and felt safe coming and going even late at night. Breakfast is ok, shared facilities (kitchen, bathrooms, tv room) are clean and well maintained. The rooms can do with some tlc because are basic and a little dated. Wi-fi works well. I had a room to the street and was noisy at night beacause people gather to chat and drink by the stairs at the entrance.
I'd recommend it to non-fussy visitors to London. It's very close to St Pancras station, tube stations, Oxford shopping stret, British Museum, great little restaurants, a good commercial street with supermarkets, pharmacies, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nopar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have stayed at Carr Saunders hall 3 times on our visits to London. It is a very reasonably priced budget place to stay. Rooms are clean but minimal,beds are small but comfortable.Cleanliness is excellent,and towels and toiletries are readily available when needed. The sharing of toilets is a might scary til you get used to that. Location is perfect in Carr Saunders for central London.Quite a good breakfast with lovely views of the towering London Post office tower adjacent to the Hall. Highly recommend this place for touring London,price is right,If people want more style then i suggest going to their bank manager,, because to stay in most Central London Hotels is so expensive. We will be back again this September in Carr Saunders,looking forward to that .Plenty of good restaurants and good pubs nearby.......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank methusalembray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If budget accommodation is what you are looking for then Carr-Saunders is a very good option. The building is certainly neither stylish nor grand but for a UK student accommodation it is quite OK. The location is good, just 10 minutes walk to Oxford street. The bed I had was by no means the worst I've had to sleep on (even in more expensive hotels) and the cleaning staff does a very good job. The staff both in the reception and at breakfast were friendly and welcoming. Paying only 45 pounds for a single room with breakfast it really isn't possible to ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjartan_Ol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#681 of 1,077 in London
176 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#465 of 1,077 in London
533 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
LSE Passfield Hall
LSE Passfield Hall
#93 of 930 in London
314 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Covent Garden
LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: Carr-Saunders Hall 18-24 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $77 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing