We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Classic Hotel
Ranked #781 of 1,077 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel, close to everything in Paddigton. The rooms and bathrooms seem to be recently refurbished. The space is tiny, but it does not hurt basic dignity. The breakfast is good, try the cereal bar. The space is clean, and if you get a front window, despite the street noise, the view is pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    58
    58
    16
    25
See reviews for
54
49
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location close to Paddington, and just a 15 min walk to marble arch.Nice and quiet aera. Pubs and restaurants just around the corner. Clean, but very small rooms. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfastroom and the breakfast itself was very,very simple.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in London for two nights with a really hectic agenda. S priority for our hotel was a decent bed and peace and quiet. The Classic Hotel is situated in a really pleasant area wuith plenty of cafes and restaurants in the local vicinity. From the outside the hotel looks really promising. The steps up to our room were steep and narrow but fortubately the chap on reception carried our bags up for us. Our room and facilities were spotlessly clean - the bed really comfortabl;e and the flat screen tv of a generous size ! We even had clean towels each day. The down side was that the room was incredibly small and we had to pass each other with much breathing in. Yhe bed was a double and pushed up against the wall. The window opened onto to the road with much traffic which was a slightproblem. Breakfast was served in the basement and once again was cramped again.GHowever, the breakfast was much better than the promised ' continental'. All in all , the place appeared to have had a recent lick of paint, no dust to be found and the staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Would enquire about the size of the room when booking to ensure that you have some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsAsset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed here with 2 friends, for a girls weekend away in london. Hotel was easily found. Very friendly reception staff. Room was on 3rd floor up steep steps, no lift. So might not be great for a family. Our triple room was very clean, yes could have done with a paint but meet our needs. Bathroom is tiny but clean. Only down side i would say for this hotel is the tiny basement room that breakfast is served in. I was not a huge fan of the breakfast on offer. Cup of tea and bowl of cereal would be as far as i would venture. All in all, prefectly fine stay here. if you looking for clean basic hotel, in good location this hotel will meet your needs.

Room Tip: out room was at the back of the hotel, really quite which was great-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracymcgillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I checked in on 1st May 2013, having done our booking online. Our room was on the third floor - up a set of the really small staircase. luckily the guys at the reception carried our bags for us!

Breakfast was included in the rates and they were at the basement. so yes, there was a lot of huffing and puffing up and down endless steps each way.

The bathroom was the smallest I have experienced in any part of the world. everything was literally at arm's length. the toilet, sink and shower cubicle fit into an area around 4 feet by 2ft (i may be wring but it felt that tiny). to get into the shower cubicle, i had to inch my way in, careful to arrange my limbs go to in piece by piece (and I'm only 58kg, 5 feet 3in). you could not shut the shower cubicle without the door pushing in the shower head. if you bent over the sink to rinse your mouth, your bum would be pushing the bathroom door open - so make sure its locked! there was no way to towel yourself inside the bathroom as you could not swing your arms enough to do so. hence it was just a matter of patting yourself dry.

nonetheless, the service provided by Ali, Ahmad and another guy on duty was exceptional. They were extremely helpful, assisted in booking tours, and even offered rock buns as we walked in one day.

the location was a short walk away from Paddington Station, so that was a plus.

be warned. you need to be fit to traipse up and down all those stairs, and you need to be petite to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Think my comment above says it all. It was alright - think would have felt slightly different though if work hadn't been paying for it!

Stayed in room 10. Nice furnishings, pretty rose bedspread and in all fairness, clean enough. But sash window was rubbish and could hear all traffic noise on a busy road in Paddington (which was noisier as had been raining) ALL night - there was no double glazing, shutter or anything. Shower was mini but could have handled that if temperature was consistent but went scalding hot when had conditioner in my hair. I couldn't adjust temperature despite repeated attempts so in the end had to swill my hair over the tiny sink with a teacup!

Thought I'd grab some breakfast and grab I did as the room is horrible. Lady serving was nice and pleasant enough but with limited English I just about managed to get some toast and work out that I had to dump my tea bag on the table after making it myself as there was no bin I could see?

I had to race to catch the tube so didn't mention any of the above to Reception on the way out which I normally would if had an issue. The traffic noise for me prevents a decent night's kip - essential when you are working the next day.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 10 if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great location. But you do not want to go to this hotel.

1. A huge stair climb, particularly if you have a room at the top;


2. A rather bizarre breakfast in a room that is too small, and is almost dungeon-like.


3. I have never been in a smaller room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#636 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#662 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#482 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#671 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avon Hotel
Avon Hotel
#856 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#639 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Property: Classic Hotel
Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #781 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Classic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing