We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Do not go here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Classic Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #711 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Do not go here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great location. But you do not want to go to this hotel.

1. A huge stair climb, particularly if you have a room at the top;


2. A rather bizarre breakfast in a room that is too small, and is almost dungeon-like.


3. I have never been in a smaller room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    56
    53
    15
    23
See reviews for
51
46
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The main reason for selecting the hotel was the location and rating of 7.2 it received on Trivago. To be honest the staff were friendly but their english wasn't great which is why they may have smiled a lot and not really understood. I have never been in a double or single room so small in my life, you literally had to navigate the room by walking on the bed if two people were staying there. I'm not a tall guy but the bathroom was about the size of a wardrobe. The room had been cleaned but no one had spent more than 5 minutes a day doing so. I was particularly unhappy about finding a curly black hair (you know the type I mean) on the white bed sheet (both me and my partner have blond hair). On the road outside the hotel is a loose manhole cover that banged evertime a car drove over it and it's quite a busy road (although this is not a direct issue with the hotel it did effect or sleep and enjoyment). None of the coffee sachets or milks were replaced with the daily clean (I know this is quite petty but it is also a cheap thing for the hotel to do and has an effect on the satisfaction). The breakfast was fair apart from the scrambled eggs that had been there a while (despite only half an hour into breakfast time) as they where an unappetising greyish colour on the bottom. Overall I would not recommend this pokey hotel or ever visit again.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I don't think they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at this hotel the area looked impressive as we had our two children with us. Then it came to parking our car which by the way the guy at the hotel insisted £15 had to be paid in cash!
When entering our room it was clean and the bathroom was new but i wasn't too sure on not being able to lock the bedroom door from the inside ( no lock)
Then it came to breakfast time oooh dear. A tiny little room where many people had to wait by the doorway for a seat. When inside it was so small people couldn't even move around and was very surprised that this room was even passed as a breakfast room?!
People carrying hot kettles over your head in such a tiny space is just dangerous. Breakfast was ridiculous so we just grabbed a piece of toast and left.

One postive from this stay is that is was only one night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ell_468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Cleanliness is a must and I have to say from our 1 night stay and approx only 9 hours in the hotel it was clean but...
The bed was very small, good job I suppose as the room was only tiny.
The bathroom made us laugh, you could have sat on the toilet, cleaned your teeth & had a shower at the same time, tiny!
The shower did not make us laugh though, a bit more than a dribble but cold, just cold. Snowing outside so even luke warm would have done.
Breakfast room as cramped as the bedroom and choice of food very basic but ok, the temperature of the beans only a degree or 2 warmer than the shower.
Would we stop here again, no. Would we recommend it, no. Sorry but not a Classic

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've just recently come back from this hotel after a weekend away with the family. We decided to book this hotel as we had a pretty good deal & the location is perfect, especially if you have a lot of luggage with you as its literally a 5 minute walk from Paddington station.

We went to the hotel just to dump our bags off as we were too early to check in but didn't fancy lugging it all across London. The guy on reception can only be described as Mr Personality. Trying to get any information from him at all, you may as well give up. When you read up on this hotel it says they have a luggage storage facility hence why we went to leave our stuff there. However, there idea of a 'luggage storage facility' is actually leaving it outside of the door of someone else's room so make sure you have ALL valuables on you if you are going to leave your luggage there!

When we went back in the afternoon there was a different guy on reception and he was very helpful, happily answered any questions we had and even offered to help us with our bags. He did tell us about breakfast but as we had to leave before breakfast was served unfortunately i cant comment on this. But then as you walk towards Paddington there definately isn't a shortage of places to chose from i.e burger king, mcdonalds, costa ect.

The room itself is very basic. If you are literally just looking for somewhere to sleep for the night its ok but other than that you are better off to try somewhere else. The bathroom is very small to the point we were stood in the doorway to clean our teeth! But it does come with a tv, hairdryer, tea/coffee facility so you do have your basics.

Overall, i would say this hotel is ok if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep and don't want to pay through the nose to stay near the station. Unfortunately it isn't a hotel i will be returning to again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micheevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed one night, as did a colleague. When we walked in, I felt like walking right out again but was too tired to go out looking for another hotel. My room was basically a shoebox in the basement with odd furniture and dusty corners that looked out at a wall. The breakfast room is tiny, dark and depressing. The only OK thing was the coffee. I've stayed in hotels in Paris and other cities with small rooms many times, but never as bad as this. I felt embarrassed on the behalf of everyone in the UK about what people from other countries might think. Take my advice and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaffsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The location is good,walking distance from subway and train station, so i can travel with to the heart of London and suburbs like Windsor. There were groceries and fast food around, but nothing quite good to eat.

i like the big windows and the balcony,but the carpet was a bit dirty.The toliet is tiny but quite tidy.

Narrow staircases. The breakfast room is underground and quite small. Limited choices of food but I think it's better than that I had in NYC...(my goodness there was just carbs....)And they provided fruits. Yet when I want to make myself instant coffee in the room, I found only cups but no spoons. I went to the reception for it, that guy said the breakfast room was closed and nothing he could borrow me....what the hell?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonne_chance1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#637 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#595 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#649 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#505 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#676 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolino Hotel
Piccolino Hotel
#719 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Property: Classic Hotel
Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #711 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Classic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing