We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're not going to do better for this price/location.”
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Classic Hotel
Ranked #836 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You're not going to do better for this price/location.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Comfortably within zone 1 and just outside the congestion charge its in a fantastic location. Approx 400m from the nearest tube its very convenient for hitting all the sites.
Yes the rooms aren't huge, but they're enough for just sleeping/getting ready in.
Noise isn't a problem, cleanliness is great, temperature is fine.
For just £55 a night in this location (with option £10 a day parking) its really a bit of a steal!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    63
    18
    28
See reviews for
59
55
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to London. We were there for 2 nights. The first thing we noticed was that there was no security lock on the door. The sheets had holes in them and the towels and bathmat were threadbare. The second night we were in our room sleeping when someone broke into our room about midnight. Turns out it was the front desk person saying he was returning our key to us - but our key was in our room with us! Very upsetting and a very unbelievable story that the front desk person tried to have us believe. I would never send anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Please make sure any room you stay in has a double lock on the inside of your room. No room here h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

york
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and on arrival we were allocated a single room, even though we are a mature couple.The double room was tiny, clean & well furnished but I had to climb from the foot of the bed to get in and out. The shower in the morning was cold & the water was a trickle, but was soon fixed by the staff. The breakfast room is inadequate & too small for so many people and there was always a long wait. Breakfast was good however with plenty of choice and the staff worked constantly & were always polite. The surrounding area is very nice and the hotel is close to the station & underground. All in all a good hotel but if you want room to move about-ask for a twin rather than a double then you get more space

Room Tip: Dont go for the fifth floor, water pressure poor and rooms tiny. Ask for a twin rather than a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night and found the hotel clean, the staff polite and helpful, and the location perfect. Although the rooms were a little small, this is typical for the style of house in central London and given the price what more can you ask for. The staff were always really polite and provided assistance whenever we asked. A good hotel for a short-stay in London.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location and relatively well priced for London but ridiculously cramped and hard to manouvre around with luggage. You'll need to be super fit to climb the steep stairs with your bags, so I suggest you pack light.

Ok for one night stay whilst visiting the city but I would avoid it if you plan to spend a couple of days sight seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tincrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Ok, the location is good, close to Victoria station... But if you are not in a good shape, forget it. The luggage must leave outside the bedroom. To get into your bedroom, you gonna have to climb the bed first. The breakfast is downstairs, a claustrofobic place, no windows, very small , few and squeezy tables. So if you really have to stay there take a breath before.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fernandeskiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Classic Hotel is a budget hotel in a very expensive town. The rooms are small (often tiny), but it is very clean, it offers free wifi (ask t the desk for the ssid and password), a complementary breakfast, and it is very convenient to transportation. The staff are friendly and attentive.

The hotel is in Sussex Gardens, about five minutes away from the Paddington Rail station and halfway between both the Paddington and Edgeware Road undergound stations. That makes it easy to get to and from Heathrow, and also provides easy access to sightseeing spots in London. Hint: Paddington is probably preferable to Edgeware Road for Underground access - the walk involves crossing fewer high-speed streets and station access is via an escalator rather than lifts.

The hotel itself appears to have been recently refurbished - the guest rooms are clean and nicely fitted out. They are small (it is London), and are intended mainly for sleeping. If you want to sit and read, find a pub nearby. Bathrooms are very small, but very nicely fitted out. Plenty of hot water.

The Classic is a bit spendy, but probably not out of line for London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#810 of 1,068 in London
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#663 of 1,068 in London
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#699 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piccolino Hotel
Piccolino Hotel
#713 of 1,068 in London
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#655 of 1,068 in London
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Darlington Hyde Park
The Darlington Hyde Park
#217 of 1,068 in London
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Property: Classic Hotel
Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #836 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Classic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing