We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're not going to do better for this price/location.”
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Classic Hotel
Ranked #874 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Comfortably within zone 1 and just outside the congestion charge its in a fantastic location. Approx 400m from the nearest tube its very convenient for hitting all the sites.
Yes the rooms aren't huge, but they're enough for just sleeping/getting ready in.
Noise isn't a problem, cleanliness is great, temperature is fine.
For just £55 a night in this location (with option £10 a day parking) its really a bit of a steal!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to London. We were there for 2 nights. The first thing we noticed was that there was no security lock on the door. The sheets had holes in them and the towels and bathmat were threadbare. The second night we were in our room sleeping when someone broke into our room about midnight. Turns out it was the front desk person saying he was returning our key to us - but our key was in our room with us! Very upsetting and a very unbelievable story that the front desk person tried to have us believe. I would never send anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Please make sure any room you stay in has a double lock on the inside of your room. No room here h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and on arrival we were allocated a single room, even though we are a mature couple.The double room was tiny, clean & well furnished but I had to climb from the foot of the bed to get in and out. The shower in the morning was cold & the water was a trickle, but was soon fixed by the staff. The breakfast room is inadequate & too small for so many people and there was always a long wait. Breakfast was good however with plenty of choice and the staff worked constantly & were always polite. The surrounding area is very nice and the hotel is close to the station & underground. All in all a good hotel but if you want room to move about-ask for a twin rather than a double then you get more space

Room Tip: Dont go for the fifth floor, water pressure poor and rooms tiny. Ask for a twin rather than a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night and found the hotel clean, the staff polite and helpful, and the location perfect. Although the rooms were a little small, this is typical for the style of house in central London and given the price what more can you ask for. The staff were always really polite and provided assistance whenever we asked. A good hotel for a short-stay in London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location and relatively well priced for London but ridiculously cramped and hard to manouvre around with luggage. You'll need to be super fit to climb the steep stairs with your bags, so I suggest you pack light.

Ok for one night stay whilst visiting the city but I would avoid it if you plan to spend a couple of days sight seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tincrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Ok, the location is good, close to Victoria station... But if you are not in a good shape, forget it. The luggage must leave outside the bedroom. To get into your bedroom, you gonna have to climb the bed first. The breakfast is downstairs, a claustrofobic place, no windows, very small , few and squeezy tables. So if you really have to stay there take a breath before.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fernandeskiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Classic Hotel is a budget hotel in a very expensive town. The rooms are small (often tiny), but it is very clean, it offers free wifi (ask t the desk for the ssid and password), a complementary breakfast, and it is very convenient to transportation. The staff are friendly and attentive.

The hotel is in Sussex Gardens, about five minutes away from the Paddington Rail station and halfway between both the Paddington and Edgeware Road undergound stations. That makes it easy to get to and from Heathrow, and also provides easy access to sightseeing spots in London. Hint: Paddington is probably preferable to Edgeware Road for Underground access - the walk involves crossing fewer high-speed streets and station access is via an escalator rather than lifts.

The hotel itself appears to have been recently refurbished - the guest rooms are clean and nicely fitted out. They are small (it is London), and are intended mainly for sleeping. If you want to sit and read, find a pub nearby. Bathrooms are very small, but very nicely fitted out. Plenty of hot water.

The Classic is a bit spendy, but probably not out of line for London.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#226 of 1,076 in London
2,225 reviews
Athena Hotel
#658 of 1,076 in London
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#733 of 1,076 in London
401 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
440 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #874 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $74 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Classic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing