We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only”
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Classic Hotel
Ranked #836 of 1,068 Hotels in London
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One night only”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location and relatively well priced for London but ridiculously cramped and hard to manouvre around with luggage. You'll need to be super fit to climb the steep stairs with your bags, so I suggest you pack light.

Ok for one night stay whilst visiting the city but I would avoid it if you plan to spend a couple of days sight seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tincrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    63
    18
    28
See reviews for
59
55
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Ok, the location is good, close to Victoria station... But if you are not in a good shape, forget it. The luggage must leave outside the bedroom. To get into your bedroom, you gonna have to climb the bed first. The breakfast is downstairs, a claustrofobic place, no windows, very small , few and squeezy tables. So if you really have to stay there take a breath before.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fernandeskiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Classic Hotel is a budget hotel in a very expensive town. The rooms are small (often tiny), but it is very clean, it offers free wifi (ask t the desk for the ssid and password), a complementary breakfast, and it is very convenient to transportation. The staff are friendly and attentive.

The hotel is in Sussex Gardens, about five minutes away from the Paddington Rail station and halfway between both the Paddington and Edgeware Road undergound stations. That makes it easy to get to and from Heathrow, and also provides easy access to sightseeing spots in London. Hint: Paddington is probably preferable to Edgeware Road for Underground access - the walk involves crossing fewer high-speed streets and station access is via an escalator rather than lifts.

The hotel itself appears to have been recently refurbished - the guest rooms are clean and nicely fitted out. They are small (it is London), and are intended mainly for sleeping. If you want to sit and read, find a pub nearby. Bathrooms are very small, but very nicely fitted out. Plenty of hot water.

The Classic is a bit spendy, but probably not out of line for London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

To review this hotel as anything other than a bed for the night would be wrong as that is all we booked and used it for. A group of my self and 4 friends decided to go to London for a shopping/theatre trip and booked this hotel based on price, location and the option of a parking space.

We had a family room for 4 (3 of us slept there and that was cosy!) and a double room which was much nicer ascetically. The family room had very dark, peeling wall paper and the two single beds had less than half a metre between them, the double bed was fine. The TV was great, really big but mounted on the wall above one of the single beds, so the person in that bed had to bunk with someone else to watch our morning dose of Jeremy Kyle. The shower in the family room was scalding hot, and there was no lock on the door, though it looked as if the bathroom had been recently and nicely renovated. We were given a kettle in the room, but with only two tea bags, no milk and a limited supply of sugar. The people in reception were happy to provide more and gave us a pint glass full of milk (??) and some more tea bags. The double room had the opposite problem with a luke warm shower, and they too had to request more tea bags. Our rooms were on the top floor which was 7 smallish flights of stairs – thank god for the spongy carpet! Saying that, my bed was actually very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. The hotel is in a very busy area and traffic sounds start early in the morning, this went un-noticed by myself as I am used to city areas, but it did bother some of my ‘village life’ companions.

Breakfast was served until 9.30 in the teeny tiny dining room which had about 4 or 5 tables squashed together as tightly as possible. There was no option of a cooked breakfast, just toast, some shell on eggs floating in luke warm water and some cold (yep COLD) baked beans that may have been warmed at some point when breakfast was first put out at 7am! There were some tiny ‘croissant’ type things, to call them croissants would not be fair. There was a bowl with a few token plums and an apple, and some yogurts, but we just ate what we could face and then left quickly.

We had to pay £10 for a parking space, which initially there were none of until one of the workers at the hotel moved his car, then it was extremely difficult to squeeze the car in without hitting any pillars. But we got there in the end and didn’t have to move the car until we left the following day.

The good thing about this hotel was it’s location, a five minute walk from Paddington tube station, which was perfect for the Bakerloo line which took us to Oxford Street shopping and Charing cross station where we saw the Legally Blonde Musical at the Savoy Theatre.

If you are going to a gig in Hyde Park, or a Musical in the west end the Classic Hotel is OK as a bed for the night, but if you are expecting something more, then this probably isn’t the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked a room for 3 but it was so cramped. The 3 beds used up the floor space. That said, newly revamped bathroom was nice and they are recarpeting stairs. Nice flat screen tv in room but it was very hot with no aircon and opening windows invited in city noise from a busy street.
Location is great you can walk to Oxford Street, Marble Arch, Hyde Park and parking was £10 per day.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Booked tonight and paid. When checking in, the staff said the first night was full and sold me to another hotel and check in again next day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jiangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Found staff courteous and very helpful - we were able to leave baggage both at the start and end of our break. Cost was reasonable for location. We had family room for a reduced price as only the 2 of us staying. Room had plenty of space and beds were clean, beds were firm (we like them this way) and we slept soundly. Although only 5min walk from Lancaster gate tube (and Barclay bike) station by Hyde Park the road traffic was low. 10 - 15min walk to top of Oxford street. Breakfast was continental with 3 types of cereal, 2 types of juices, beans, hard boiled eggs, toast, jams etc and fresh fruit - very good given some of the reviews i've seen at this hotel price point. This was all served in a basement dining area - also very clean. The hotel web site shows exactly what there is. If your looking for a reasonable priced hotel in London, clean with a good breakfast and ideal location you would have to go a long way to better this hotel.

Room Tip: Family room is a double with 2 singles - good valu
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilaryB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#810 of 1,068 in London
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#657 of 1,068 in London
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#698 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piccolino Hotel
Piccolino Hotel
#712 of 1,068 in London
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#655 of 1,068 in London
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Darlington Hyde Park
The Darlington Hyde Park
#222 of 1,068 in London
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Property: Classic Hotel
Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #836 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Classic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing