We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - excellent value for money”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #528 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed with my family for four nights while visiting London. It is an excellent choice if you are planning to visit central London and looking for value for money deals. The rooms are basic but they provide clean towels and linen. The breakfast is great but do reach 30 minutes before closing time to avoid a queue. It was a little noisy but that did not affect us.

This is a good choice if you are looking for a value for money deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSR_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    209
    92
    31
    29
See reviews for
117
79
96
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Reasonable room price for central London. Clean simple room, kettle and drinks provided, no TV. Good checks on the door when we were there, providing safe accomodation for the many young people and other guests using the building. Great location behind Tate Modern, 5 minutes to the South Bank, or across the river to the West End.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

A good price for its location. Friendly staff. Busy but not noisy at night :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singletravellingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

First of all, it is really good value for money...the only serious shortcoming was quite a noisy backyard with a running engine of aircondition or what was it, so ask perhaps for the front rooms...moreover, the room was really hot during nights...at least beds were comfortable. What improved our feelings every morning was breakfast - really excellent choice of food from full English breakfast to vegetarian one + cold water, juice, tea, coffee. The canteen is quite noisy, however...but air-conditioned :) Bankside House is full of very young travellers and the reception is sometimes quite crowded and busy, however that make the place characteristic and, in my opinion, positive!
Central location = The major PLUS: Tate Modern is few steps from there and many, many other attraction as well. Try a short stroll via the Millenium Bridge to St.Paul's Cathedral. Oh, BTW...we were really suprised by HMS Belfast...hadn't expected that the ship could be such an interesting and exciting place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobracka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed overnight whilst visiting friends in London. Thought it was good value for London. Student accomodation, so fairly basic, but room was clean and so was bedding, they even provided towels and soap. I thought it might be noisy, but we didn't get disturbed at all.
The booking included breakfast, which was quite good, but there was a long queue in the morning! If having breakfast don't leave it till the last half hour like we did, or you may miss out.
Would definitely use this again. As good as travel lodge, but much cheaper!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Missy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The is a dormitory... So while they offer Bed and Breakfast...don't think quaint and quiet. However, if your other options are a hostel or you would just like a secure, clean, inexpensive stay in London, this is your place!

Summer brings large groups of young people to London. There were several groups of high school aged European kids when we visited and they were very noisy... Again, this is a dormitory and I was trying to teach my daughter all about student travel. The lessons were good!

The facilities were far cleaner than your average dorm room and the breakfast was OK. In fairness, I do not eat a hot breakfast and that may have been more interesting than the cold selections. It is adequate to start the day. There are several restaurants adjacent that offer healthy and affordable options...and there is a Starbucks just a few doors down.

Location is GREAT! Right across from the Tate Modern which rests at one end of the Millennium Bridge... You can get just about anywhere you would like. The underground is a short walk which we each did with a backback, wheeling case and duffle bag...

The staff is REMARKABLE!!! I experienced an extremely rude American (I am American and was mortified by this man's behavior) at the front desk and all three gentlemen who tended to him kept their cool and were extremely well mannered, patient and helpful. I have no idea how they held their cool with person!

No real or unexpected complaints...and we would stay here again for the value.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkBedbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIverpool, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I wish to warn other travellers that if they want to stay at this Bed and Breakfast, that they will have to pay for their accommodation IN FULL no matter how far in advance you book it. AND, IT IS NON REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE. We booked for September this year and within just TWO days we cancelled as my husband has a hospital appointment and will not be able to travel on the date we booked. Therefore we cancelled, THREE MONTHS before we were travelling but they will not refund us the money. So we say, BUYER BEWARE!! It was also supposed to be for my husband's friend's 60th which we will miss as my husband has a heart condition.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pat_evannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Public Relations Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
We're sorry about this, this booking was made through an external agent and as such their terms and conditions apply. If you book directly with LSE Vacations we only take the first night as a deposit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#699 of 1,067 in London
170 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#708 of 1,067 in London
1,323 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,067 in London
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Property: LSE Bankside House
Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London
LSE Bankside House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing