We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #499 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the worst”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Can be a great place to stay if you book ahead and get a nice room to stay in, especially if you're staying in a flat. Bedding is not great and the rooms are small, but its comfortable enough for a short stay. The kitchen and laundry facilities help a lot, and free wifi is available. Excellent security, great location, and fairly quiet. Be aware that it is very much a student type environment. Regular "maintenance" may disrupt your stay, however, and these are completely out of blue.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Nicole H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you found your stay at Bankside House acceptable, but we are disappointed to hear that you found our bedding to be below par. We are currently in the process of replacing all of our old bedding and based on some of our comments have decided to provide guests with extra pillows as standard. I would like to apologise if you found that maintenance visited your room out of the blue - we always aim to inform guests before work takes place and I assume in this case it must have been an urgent work taking place. We hope that you will stay with us again and if you do that you will find the issues you experienced this time round to have been resolved.

Regards,
Henry Hayes,
Bankside House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    228
    98
    32
    32
See reviews for
129
86
104
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

And once you accept that and accept that you are getting value for money then you vpcan appreciate it.

Pros: spotlessly clean room, excellent location, good security, good price, tea and coffee and toiletries, small safe, good size TV on wall, comfortable mattress.
Cons: on ground floor no drinking water in rooms - we were given a key to the 8th floor kitchen which has an express lift from ground floor but found a first floor lounge much nearer to fill our kettle. Rather odd to have that set-up. Shower: you had to press the water flow button every 30 seconds or water shut off. Shower head fixed high up on wall and no adjustment so 5ft nothing me had to cower in a corner to avoid wetting hair (tip: take a shower cap if you want to avoid this).

We didn't find it too noisy. To the person who said flooring was stucky, it seems to be made of recycled rubber and cleaning it probably makes it feel that way rather than it being dirty.

Biggest drawback: we booked b and b but the restaurant was closed and seems to be routinely closed put of term so the people booking us should have known this. There are loads of restaurants, take aways, food shops, etc nearby but we would have preferred breakfast prepared for us.

Conclusion: the cost is so reasonable for London you just have to go with the fliw!

Room Tip: Ground floor 03 is next to reception if security is important. Take a shower cap if you don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Bankside with LSE Top Floor and were really pleased with what we got! Instead of an en-suite hotel room we had a one bedroom apartment with sitting room and kitchen in central London for less than £100. The flat was clean, pleasantly furnished, the kitchen well equipped and the bed comfortable. There are plenty of dining options nearby but because we had a kitchen we used M&S Simply Food, just round the corner, to buy supplies for dinner and breakfast. The money we saved not eating out, made the room even better value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Within walking distance of major London attractions, you can't beat the Bankside House for summer accommodations in the heart of London. The residence rooms are nothing special - standard university residence rooms with two single beds, desks, chairs, with ensuite bathroom. For the same money in a smaller city, you might get a swanky hotel room. But for the price, you won't find better accommodations in central London. It is within walking distance to major attractions, including the Shakespeare Globe Theatre, the Tate Gallery of Modern Art, St. Paul's Cathedral, etc. Plus, of course, Tube stations abound so it is very easy to travel from Bankside to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Three friends and I stayed here during the 2012 Olympics. First up, this accommodation did not increase its price during the Olympics, which is commendable. We booked a room for four, and for value for money this can't be beaten. The room was large, clean and equipped with sufficient basic furniture and en-suite shower room. The breakfast is worth having, too. Don't stay here if you want luxury or romance, because you'll be disappointed (there are plenty of other places in London that cater for those markets). Do stay here if you want somewhere central, socially responsible, reliably clean, that offers good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked a quadruple room at this Bankside House because of its central location and a discount through Groupon. However, I wish I would have spent my money elsewhere... My family and I stayed 3 nights and they were bearable but I would not recommend it for anyone that doesn't want to live in a student dorm, with plenty of young students roaming around. When we checked in, we came into a lobby full of students presumably staying there for the summer. The people at reception weren't very friendly and I felt as if somehow they were doing us a favor for letting us stay. Once we got into the room, we had 4 single beds that were uncomfortable - we could feel the metal springs. There was no AC and even when we opened the window slightly, it didn't help as the room was stuffy throughout the night. The bathroom was small and looked quite worn. There was no wifi (even to pay for) and the only source of internet were 2 computers in the lobby that were constantly in use by the students staying there in the summer. The location is central but still a 10 minute walk to the Blackfriars station.

Don't get me wrong. I'm in my 20's and when I travel, I often stay at hostels as to save money and I'm not too picky about my beds, but for a place like this to advertise themselves as a hotel (although budget), I was disappointed, especially bringing my family here. It was cheap, but I had thought that was because of the groupon deal that we got. Numerous times, I thought I was staying in a youth hostel, and that's not something I want to say when traveling with my mom. Only plus, it came with a decent hot breakfast downstairs.

Meh, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's a good accomodation and very central. Good value for price. The location is the best thing of this place.
But the rooms are very modest and noisy. The place is always full of young people and the noise goes on during the whole night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#701 of 1,069 in London
172 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London City Hotel
#236 of 1,069 in London
713 reviews
Caring Hotel
#513 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Property: LSE Bankside House
Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London
LSE Bankside House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing