We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpencive, but very low standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #982 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Yes, I had read what other people had written - but not before I booked the hotel... Positives first: we are a family of four and there are not too many hotels offering familyrooms and this one was quite good size. We actually had pretty good wi-fi the hole time, which was important to our 17-year old at least... We have stayed at a few english hotels before and do not expect too high standard at at low cost, but this was worse than expected. Our bed was terrible (I could feel every spring in the madras), the breakfast was not any good - dry rolls, something that reminded of crosaints and some cereal, instant coffee and tea, butter and jam - thats about it. All of this is nothing, compared to the noise from the street below! There is a pub at the end of the street and people shouting and fighting kept me awake more than one night and despite that the road seemed narrow and quiet at daytime, the noise from cars were annoying at night! We are not coming back here, but for young people looking for an inexpensive hotel and do not have plans to spend too much time in the hotel, it´s probably OK.

Room Tip: A room away from the street
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
There are newer reviews for Oxford Hotel London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had read the reviews of this hotel and was expecting the worst. We had to find the cheapest hotel we could find in the area as we were students visiting for an event being held at earls court.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the station and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to Earls court entrance. We could check in until 2 so we dropped out luggage at the hotel and used the 'storage facilities' which turned out to be the breakfast room which wasn't locked and anyone, staff or guests could get too it.
You also have to pay on arrival which isn't clear when booking so we had to wait over an hour for money to be transferred into my account so we could actually go to our room.
The staff are rude and don't seem to care about their guest's well-being and at one time, one member of staff opened our door and almost walked straight in without knocking before he realised we were in there. it wasn't the maid as our room had already been visited that day.
As for the size of our room, we were very lucky. It seems that most rooms are very small as we heard many complaints whilst we were there and I had read many bad reviews online. Our room was G6 on the ground floor and wasn't huge but big enough for two people and also had a small kitchen area. The bathroom was on the second floor of our room which made it even bigger but obviously wouldn't be suitable for a disabled guest. Friends staying at the hotel had a room not much bigger than an average bathroom only just about fitting two beds.
The 'double beds' were just two single beds pushed together and are shorter than normal. Also there are no duvets, just sheets. Ours were clean although we did hear a member of staff say 'we don't advertise clean beds on our website' when overhearing yet another complaint at reception.
breakfast was either cornflakes, really bad toast or boiled eggs which I didn't try, The two breakfast rooms are small although we didn't had a problem getting a table both mornings we were there.
overall, You get what you pay for and this hotel is okay for a short stay depending on which room you get given, just don't expect anything fancy and don't trust the photos on their website either.

Room Tip: we had room G6 which was clean enough and room for 2 people. The tube station is just outside the wi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having read mostly bad reviews we were expecting the worst. Fortunately it was better than expected! We had 2 twin rooms, one large on the lower ground floor, one cramped on the 2nd floor. The furnishings were basic but clean and the beds quite comfortable. The hotel has several steps at the entrance and no handrail. The breakfast rooms can only cater for about 60 people at a time, very inadequate when the hotel is full, so be prepared to queue for a table. Both toasters were rubbish, but otherwise the self-service continental breakfast was okay. However, although advertised that breakfast was available from 7.30 to 9.30, everything is cleared away by 9.25. Be late, be hungry.
The main road (Earls Court Road), less than 100m away, has a good selection of eating/drinking establishments. Also, the tube station and bus stops are very close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kikelmool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The customer service was terrible, the breakfast was terrible and badly organised all that was avaialble was cornflakes, toast and some boiled eggs! The room was not to a very high standard, was dirty and there were electrics running through the cuboards for the light switch!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The customer service was terrible and the following defects were in the room -
*Bedroom door didn't shut properly
*Dirty pillows with one having mould on it
*Pillow cases with stains and just dirty
*Hairs found on bed sheets when top cover was taken off
*Hairs on cups and saucers
*Broken safe
*Broken lock on bathroom door
*Broken and seemed unsafe light fittings on wall
*Damaged and marked headboards
*Light bulb missing
*The big mirror on wall not screwed in safely and hanging out which can injure self on
*The cupboard was not secured against wall as screw still in bracket hanging away from wall
*The window lock was broken so could not shut window
*Finger prints and marks and scratches of different substances on the wall of room
*The mattresses (both singles put together) had stains of a disgusting looking nature
*The mattress protectors both had stains and hairs that looked of bodily fluid nature
* There were cracks in the top of frame of main door to room
*Mould on bedding sheets
* The ceiling had it appeared a water damage problem which made it appear the ceiling could come away in a big rain
* The towels we had in room had stains on, one was torn
*The garden area was not a pleasant place with fridges and mattresses dumped and the wooden decking looking rotten and broken in places.
** THE MOST DISTURBING AND DANGEROUS CONCERN WAS THE HAIR DRYER BURNT OUT BUT STILL PLUGGED IN TO THE ELECTRICS !

I would recommend based on my experience avoid avoid avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopelove1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for the location and just needed a place to sleep so I want fussed about frills. However no matter how cheap a hotel is I expect the staff to be polite and for it to be clean. When we arrived we stood and waited while the receptionist finished her conversation, which she then made no apology for. She obviously didn't want to be there and I almost felt guilty for having booked a room and giving her a job to do. The rooms obviously hadn't been cleaned properly as there was a half empty water bottle down the side of my bed. In the morning breakfast (not impressive at all) was too busy and disorganised- so much so that another guest was helping to clear tables and directing people to free space. If I had booked in for more than one night I would have cancelled the rest of the stay and gone elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very small room, so perhaps not ideal for the larger traveler. The twin room we had would be too small for 2 larger travelers. That said, the facilities in the room, including air conditioning, were very good, so absolutely no complaints there. The room was clean and the standard of decor was absolutely fine. The staff we encountered were all pleasant and smiling. We only had breakfast and that was relatively basic, although you could help yourself to as much as you wanted, but the accommodation for breakfast was pretty cramped; not particularly comfortable if you want some privacy. But for us, it was OK. All-in-all, terrific value for money for an overnight / short stay in London that is close to the underground.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#917 of 1,072 in London
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#659 of 1,072 in London
320 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#790 of 1,072 in London
653 reviews
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#938 of 1,072 in London
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $72 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing