We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for all your needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #980 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great for all your needs”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This isn't the Ritz but it's convenient, clean and in a great neighborhood. It's around the corner from the tube, is close to restaurants, and pubs. The staff is always helpful and friendly. They offer a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 553Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    215
    360
    281
    411
See reviews for
334
394
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending at show at Earl's Court. It is perfectly located - less than 5 minutes walk to get there.

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our twin room on the ground floor was a little bit cramped for two beds. Bathroom was fine.

Breakfast was acceptable, but the rooms it is served in get very busy and crowded when everyone is there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flywrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was a little worried after reading all the bad reviews this hotel has...But it wasn't as bad as all that. The rooms are a little small but certainly adequate for sleeping in, which is all we use hotels for anyway. The first room we were given stank of cigarette smoke and the only window faced an interior corridor, so no way of getting fresh air in, by the morning my clothes were starting to smell of smoke. However when I spoke to the lovely friendly guy on reception, he apologized and moved us to a room next door which was much better. There were a few maintenance issues, such as loose shower head in one of the rooms, dirty paint work mouldy silicon around the shower and a dodgy shower cubicle door - all easily fixable. I had no problems with the breakfast room, getting a table easily on both mornings ..But they really need to get rid of the toaster- only one of the elements worked so to get brown toast, I had to put each slice in 3 times on EACH side ..very time consuming...a couple of pop up toasters would be better. The best thing about this hotel is the location, a couple of mins walk and you are at Earls Court tube station. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants in the areas. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassie2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The room was a little bit too small for two twin beds in the room. The rooms would most likely be better as single rooms. I stayed in a second floor room, it was very clean, i guess the basement mustn't be so nice but my advice on that is book well in advance and you will get a good room!

The bathroom needed work, albeit the second day we stayed their, the shower fell on us, luckily we managed to fix it, but not handy. The light's also were energy saving and for the bathroom it was impractical as you literally couldn't see to shower or go to the toilet for at least 15 minutes. However the bathroom was clean and was decorated nice, it just needed fixing.

The location is perfect as it around the corner from Earls court tube station which has great access to the main lines of London, it is also near a boots, M&S, Co-operative and lots of restaurants and pubs, so if you want to explore and come back to eat and retire, the location is spot on!

The service was great and when the hotel guy forgot our remote he did give us one when we asked.

The breakfast was average, toasters, seriously, i say this with all hotels, get rid of the slow cook toasters, they take double the time and they do not cook the bread correctly! Bar that there was plenty of choice and two rooms. However go early or lateish or you won't get a space!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emoloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a pleasant stay. Room not big but ok. Great location. Breakfast could be better only toast, eggs and some cereal. The staff in breakfast could be more considered, the talk loud and it is not what you need in the morning.



  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ása Hildur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Only stayed one night (phew) in a lower ground room, which we can safely rename as 'the dungeon'. Filthy window, dingy room, awful damp smell. Bed covers were dirty, sheets seemed clean, but because the rest of the room was so awful, I strongly suspect the cleaners just brush off the short and curlies (wispy joes) from the previous room occupants. Spare pillows had great big yellow sweat stains all over them. Cups were dirty. Tv only had Arabic channels. Taps had previous occupants toothpaste dribbled and sprayed over them. Rack in shower rusty. Bathroom just weirdly small. I really don't think I need to go on....basically, don't stay here if at all possible!!!

Room Tip: Run a mile if given a basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beany84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Waterford
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great spot if you're exhibiting at Earl's Court. Small but clean and tidy room with plenty of light coming from the tall windows. Fridge in the room for fruit from Marks&Spencer nearby. A choice of restaurants behind the corner. Oxford Hotel's continental breakfast includes hard boiled eggs. The wi-fi is paid separately but works great in your room. You can leave your stuff in their luggage room for GBP 5 and ours was safely collected by couriers the next day. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#855 of 1,069 in London
731 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#921 of 1,069 in London
293 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#706 of 1,069 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#669 of 1,069 in London
295 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#789 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#725 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Property: Oxford Hotel London
Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #980 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing