We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think again before check in..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #970 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Think again before check in..”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I do not know how they git 3 star!! Small rooms, cold and dark rooms in the basement. every morning I saw new towels and bed sheets on the hallway floors before housekeeping change them..not so clean and not friendly staff at all. Only good thing about this hotel is location just a minute from earls court underground...
I wanted change my hotel even after paid for a week, but looks like most hotel in this area are almost same.. Old location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehrdadbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    214
    360
    278
    398
See reviews for
325
388
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The experience of staying a total of 4 nights here was really terrible. We had booked 2 nights here when we arrived London and another 2 nights here before we left for our home, with 7 days apart. We had booked 2 rooms for my family of five but we were never put in the same floor. I and my husband had to separate with my 3 children in these 4 nights. The staff were not helpful at all. They refused to arrange us in the same floor in our 2nd return though we requested early on the day of arrival. The fridge was out of order and they seemed helpless on our request to change or repair. The rooms for me and my husband were small and could hardly accommodate our 2 luggage. There was no chair in the room and you had to step on to the bed when you entered the room. The breakfast room was always crowded during breakfast time and the tourists had to squeeze themselves in this little room. Spending 100 pounds for each room per night surely did not worth it.

Room Tip: brtter not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel receptionist initially was too busy talking to her (boy)friend and on her mobile to serve us when we arrived, but after a few minutes when I stared at her, she sprang into life. The room was quite small, but adequate. She didn't give us a TV remote, but I wasn't bothered. The fridge didn't chill anything. No free internet. Carpets slightly shabby. Room was clean though and the kettle and toiletries was a great 'old school' touch you don't see too much of these days.

Short walk to Earls Court Tube and West Brompton Railway station. Olympia was about 15-20 minutes walk away, which was the whole point of staying here for the Great British Beer Festival.

Breakfast room was way too packed at 8.45am, you could barely move, but we persevered and had a very basic coffee and muesli.

We had a room on the first floor at the rear of the building. You could hear the rumble of tube trains and station announcements from Earls Court, but it wasn't any bother and I like trains anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perlflaghotels, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The hotel was completely refurbished in May, June and July and from the 1st of July, the hotel doesn't have any carpets any longer. All the rooms have oak flooring.

Our breakfast is continental and is widely advertised and is complimentary. However we offer a little more than the usual continental breakfast. It consists of coffee,tea, fruit juices, assortment of rolls, brown and white toast, corn flakes, musli, cheese, marmalade and butter. We are thinking of reviewing the items we serve.

We believe in improving and learn a lot from guest reviews, so thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

An unforgettable experience in this 3 stars hotel. Can I give "no" star to it ? We're allocated to the basement room, with a "nice" view of the steps and the washing room of the hotel. We dare not to open the window because we afraid of cockroach and mice climbing into the room. The bathing area should get the Grade A smallest because the area should not be larger than 26' x 26". Everything like towels etc.....drops at least once. Every item in the hotel is so small but to me, the rate is not cheap yet, its only 15 to 20% cheaper than the real 4 stars hotel.
All I have to say is "the poorest hotel I've ever stayed".

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear guests,

The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staff were lovely and accommodating. The twin bed room was clean yet very small. Plenty of choice at breakfast yet rooms were again small for the bum we of people trying to eat. Area was quiet and beds comfortable, slept very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It beggars belief that this place bear three stars; it is barely worthy of one.

The positives? The classy neighbourhood, the large array of free television channels, the relatively central location.

The negatives? The pokiness of the whole place (from the upper-storey "double" bedrooms in which you couldn't swing a hamster, to the panic-attack-inducingly-cramped lift, to the appallingly squashed dining area), the humidity of the place midsummer, the vile stenches emitted by the bedroom air conditioning units, the baby-sick honking shower gel, the lumpy mattresses, the cold unsmiling manager, the darned rip-off room rates.

In a word, avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper storey. It is worse than a Chinese sweatshop midsummer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#918 of 1,068 in London
290 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#850 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#686 of 1,068 in London
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#725 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#787 of 1,068 in London
645 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#711 of 1,068 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Property: Oxford Hotel London
Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #970 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing