We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For £30 pppn, not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Hotel London
Ranked #974 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For £30 pppn, not bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Rooms were small but provided you're not going to be staying in them very long that isn't a problem. Breakfast was good, staff were friendly and the location is great as it's just round the corner from Earl's Court station. It's just a shame they did 't warn you in advance that there's a £50 deposit to pay on arrival!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyfleur88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    211
    352
    265
    382
See reviews for
313
379
73
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

POSITIVES - Best thing about this hotel was it's location, it was very handy for the museums & the Piccadilly line, the tube station was just a 2 minute walk away. The chap who was on reception when we arrived & during the day was great! very friendly, helpful & informative. The room safe was free & it worked. The tv worked. The hairdryer worked as long as you kept it on the low setting, otherwise it cut out. The sheets & the towels were clean. The shower was warm. I'm afraid that's where the positives end.
NEGATIVES - We had a room for 3, myself, my hubby & my son who is just 7. The room was very small, narrow and very basic. The plain magnolia paintwork was scuffed, the carpet was stained, sticky & looked dirty, the windows & window frames were covered with black mould. There were 3 'single' beds, I say single but they were only a little over 2 feet wide, and my husband who is 5' 11" had his feet dangling out of the end. The "wardrobe" & clothes storage area was piteously inadequate for 3 people if you planned to stay for more than 1 or 2 nights. The mini fridge never got cool. According to the hotel details the room was supposed to have a sitting area, this comprised of one canteen type chair stuck in a corner. There was a large mirror on the wall, but no dressing table or even a shelf for you to put your cosmetics on. I ended up using the 'canteen' chair in the 'sitting area'. One of the wall lights didn't work. The tea/coffee/kettle tray was on a storage area above the fridge, but there was no socket to plug it into, so we ended up having to put it on the floor next to the nearest plug socket. Not ideal when you have a boisterous 7 year old in the room! The bathroom was pretty average, it could have done with a good scrub and the shower leaked all over the floor so we had to bung toilet tissue into corners of the shower tray where it hadn't been sealed properly, and there was no bath mat. The breakfast room was self service, basic & chaotic! You had to fight for a table, then battle with all the other grumpy looking tourists to help yourself to the breakfast which comprised of bread rolls or toast (the toaster we used barely warmed the bread even when I put it through twice) cornflakes, boiled eggs, slices of cheese, orange juice, coffee/tea, jam. I was going to complain but couldn't muster up the strength....I suppose it's what you can expect in London, unless you're prepared to open up your wallet and pay through the nose for something better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldosmyhero
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wasnt the greatest start to my booking when the hotel rang me on the Saturday as i was going to the Tuesday telling me that they hadnt recieved the money for my booking from Booking.com. They were actually quite abrupt telling me that they needed the money or my booking would be cancelled.

After chasing this up myself and using Booking.com as an agent, the hotel eventaually confirmed that they had my money. (It took Booking.com to confirm that i had confirmation by way of a Credit Card statement)

Was this a genuine mistake or were they just trying to get more money out of money?

The hotel itself is located a 2 minute walk from Earls Court tube station and the same distance away from a variety of nice restaurants and bars. That is the only plus point.

Breakfast consisted of toast, cornflakes (with lashings of warm skimmed milk) and boiled eggs. (all in a mixing bowl)

The beds took me back to my army days, a thin matress and one pillow. The walls had cracks down them and windows were single glazed.

Would i return?

One word, no,

Would i recommend this hotel?

Again, one word, no.

There are much better, cleaner hotels out there. If you look at my earlier reviews you will see reviews on 2 other London hotels, i recommend staying at one of those.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs and the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldosmyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses A, General Manager at Oxford Hotel London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
The hotel was fully refurbished in 2013. So any reviews up to 31st August 2013 should be completely disregarded.

We have asked Trip Advisor to remove reviews relating to prior to the refurbishment. We have sent proof of new ownership and of refurbishment, documents from the Building Control from the Local Council , pictures after refurbishment etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was quite ok to stay there, definately close to the centre. the room was not very big but spacious. It was clean and comfortable, the staff tried really hard to help out. The breakfast wasn't also the worst, many thigs to chose from and even tasty. Some people were disturbed y towels lying in the hall but I didn;t mind. Tesco and Sainsbury quite close, Marks&Spencer food store just round the corner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1981Girltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel was ok, it was cheap and was very near a tube station.

The room was very small, however it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a bit of a free for all downstairs, there were not spare cups/plates etc unless you managed to get a table at the start.

Staff seemed friendly and check in/out was quick and smooth. Wouldn't want to stay here for a long time, but for one night it was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but this is a cheap hotel in London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotels ticks all the boxes for me and is my "go-to" hotel whenever I stay in London. The hotel is located about two minutes walk from Earl's Court Tube, located in Zone 1, putting you close to all of the central London attractions. There's an excellent range of places to eat and drink on a budget around the hotel for those on a budget, giving a wide selection to suit all tastes. Every room I've stayed in has been of a great size and has always been clean. The beds are always comfortable and I've never been disrupted by any noise at nights. I'd recommend this hotel for those after a quality, safe hotel in central London without paying through the nose for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#948 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#839 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#691 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#766 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#501 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel London

Property: Oxford Hotel London
Address: 16-18 & 24 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #974 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing