We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment at Harrods back door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basil Street Apartments
Ranked #127 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location fantastic, shoppers paradise. Right at the back door of Harrods and very close to Harvey Nichols. Knightsbridge metro station only a one-minute walk away. Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace within walking distance. We also walked to Oxford Street and Picadilly Circus (half hour). Note that this is an apartment only (no F&B facilities on the premises). The friendly cleaning staff check you in and let you sign a (very old fashioned) blanc credit card statement for automatic check-out. We were given a basement apartment (no 2) which is a bit dark. It would have been nice if we would have been made aware of this at the time of booking (so be aware, no 1 & 2 are both basement apartments). The apartment was spacious and neutrally furnished. The WiFi signal in the basement was very bad (one bar only, sometims two), so they really need to install a repeater to improve the signal. The pull-out sleeping couch was of terrible quality. You could feel the iron springs through the mattrass. My daughter was not impressed... Absolutely unacceptable for an apartment in this price/quality range. The double bed we slept in was fine. There is no dishwasher but there is a washing machine. There is no safety deposit box in the room.

The Gran Cafe across the road does a nice breakfast. The Capital Hotel across the road has a good fish restaurant and we also enjoyed a lovely high-tea there.

Provided they upgrade the pull-out couch and increase the WiFi signal, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beijing B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Basil Street Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This serviced apartment was one of the best we have seen in our travels. Our family of five stayed in #7, a three bedroom flat, for ten nights this past summer. The housekeeping staff was very friendly, happily securing our luggage upon arrival, as our flat was not yet ready. The rooms, small and not luxurious, were all our family needed to feel comfortable and at home. The flat was spotless, with updated bathrooms and kitchenette and seemingly new linens.

The location can't be beat. It is right by the Knightsbridge tube stop. We had a view of Harrods from the family room... my teenage girls were in heaven! In addition to Harrods, there are many other boutique shops in the area. Two small groceries are within walking distance. On our first day we purchased breakfast food, snacks, and drinks, making ourselves feel even more at home. There are many delicious restaurants nearby with cuisine from around the world, as well as the fabulous Harrods Food Court mere steps from the flat. Do not miss the Food Court! There is a great tiny bar in the basement of a hotel across the street. From this location you are also within walking distance to numerous London iconic spots including Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, etc.

To reiterate, this is not a hotel and does not claim to be. You check in with the housekeeping staff during their working hours (or at the sister hotel after hours). Because of this set-up, there is not a lobby or front desk. The staff cleans the apartments once a day during the week. You must clean your dishes or there will be a surcharge. Don't let this arrangement stop you from staying here. We will definitely stay at the Basil Street Apartments again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place has an excellent location overlooking Harrods and close to the tube station. It is clean (serviced once a day), well heated, and comfortable. The kitchenette and the sitting room give this place an advantage over the hotel room but no luxury, just all the necessary things to make you feel comfortable and at home in central london.

Room Tip: Try to book the higher floors
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BespokeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and am very pleased with it. I have stayed a numerous serviced flats in London over the years and this one is certainly one of the nicest as far as quality furnishings and overall cleanliness.

I saw the one review that trashed the place, but it is not a hotel, there is no service desk or concierge--you are pretty much on you own but you do have a kitchen and fridge. I like being able to make my own coffee in the morning while I read all the various papers on line sitting in the comfort of my living room in my boxers :-)

The location is excellant Knightsbridge tube station is 100 yards away with the Piccadilly line, Harrod across the street.

Room Tip: The "Lower Ground Floor" flats are actually basement flats. They are a bit dark, and only...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Close to Harrods and the Knightsbridge shopping area is a great location. There are also plenty of local Restaurants if your prefer to dine out rather than cook. The Apartment we stayed in this year was light airy and provided all the facilities that we need for a much needed break. Servicing of the apartments was discreet and done to a high standard (towels folded etc...). We asked the Housekeepers to wash up for us, and it was spotless and always put away, never left out on the side. Have stayed in other Apartments in London, but this was probably one of the best for location and comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StevieB052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

You will be greeted with rudeness and checked in by their cleaners in blue uniform - Mop in hand.
Their cleaners are in a room labelled "Porter".
There is no on site front desk, or porter. Everything is done by the cleaners.
The cleaners who checked me in, demanded that I sign an old fashioned credit card slip that with the amount being paid kept BLANK.
I told them I cannot possibly sign that, and that all their customers have no problems with it.
They also told me: "If there is damages, we will add it on to your bill, here."
That already is deterring.
When I saw that they have given me a ground floor, visible from the street outside kind of privacy depriving flat, I asked to change the room, but was told by their cleaners: "No, this is your flat, and there is no other you can change to. You can call management tomorrow. We have to leave at 5 PM. Now, sign this and this.... here are your keys."
The fact that I was checked into this LUXURY apartments by cleaners already removed them from the luxury list.
For £265 per night, I was given bath towels with visible stains.
There was no onsite information desk or person to help you.
Upon booking this flat, I spoke to a person in reservation regarding an extra person staying over for 2 nights.
She clearly told me that there is already a sofa bed in the apartment and that I ONLY need to inform housekeeping about the arrival date of my friend, one day in advance.
No one told me about how much or if any extra they have to charge me.
As I informed the "cleaners" this, they said: "you have to pay £50 more."
Already unhappy with their unprofessional services, I did not want to argue with Cleaners.....

The 3rd morning I was shocked beyond belief that the cleaners greeted me with : "We need to have a word with you."
The fact that I was made to negotiate with cleaners regarding the times that I might be out if the apartment so they could come in to do their work, on a daily bases is completely ridiculous!

This is NOT a luxury service apartment at all.
If you want any services, please do not come here.

I could not shorten my stay here at all, they refused to give me any form of refund.
They are robbers.

Extremely confusing and unpleasant check in process
Shocked beyond belief services and negotiation with CLEANERS.

This is a horrid place to stay in, will NEVER EVER AGAIN stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rocket4rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: どんな部屋が良いか良く調べてきちんとリクエストすれば大丈夫です
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dilwityak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#531 of 1,072 in London
54 reviews
Knightsbridge
Roof Garden Rooms
Roof Garden Rooms
#692 of 1,072 in London
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#43 of 1,072 in London
758 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#285 of 1,072 in London
440 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#316 of 1,072 in London
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basil Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basil Street Apartments

Address: 15 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AX, England (Formerly Basils Knightsbridge Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $269 - $1,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basil Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basil Street Apartments are eight elegant fully furnished apartments, ranging from studio apartments to three bedrooms, for stays of three days and over. Each fully serviced apartment is spacious, comfortable and furnished to the highest standard. Basil Street Apartments are situated in Knightsbridge, the heart of Central London. Opposite the world famous Harrods department store, the apartments are 5 minutes from Harvey Nichols, the designer stores of Sloane Street and 10 minutes from Hyde Park. Knightsbridge offers a wealth of superb exclusive restaurants with fine establishments, boasting cuisines rich in culture and diversity from around the globe. The Apartments are perfect for business or leisure travelers seeking the ideal location in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Basil Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basils Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel London
Basil Street Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing