We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend staying at 196 Bishops Gate”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #444 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend staying at 196 Bishops Gate”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I would highly recommend staying at 196 Bishops Gate. This was our third time in London, and my wife an I stayed here for three nights, Friday, Saturday and Sunday September 17th, 18th and 19th 2010. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially Pablo, who we think worked the 3 pm -11 pm shift on the weekend we were there.
Pablo went out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable, and he was very, very helpful and knowledgable when we had questions regarding travelling through the city.
The location of 196 Bishops Gate is great as (everybody mentions) you are right across the street from Liverpool Street Station (meaning: easy access to all of London). The Tesco supermarket is a less than a minute walk down the road, and it is open late, so no problem stocking the fridge. I felt very safe in the immediate neighborhood as the POLICE STATION is on the same side of the road, and less than 20 seconds walk from the front door!
The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a small safe for our personal belongings (tickets, passports ect.). It is wonderful when you are travelling from hotel to hotel (as we were in France prior to arriving in London) and then arrive at 196 Bishops Gate and you now have use of a Refridgerator/Microwave/Diswasher/Washer-Dryer/Sink Pots & Pans, ect. All the comforts of home! In short - A STAY HERE IS WAY BETTER THAN A HOTEL!
In summary: I highly recommend this hotel and I won't even think twice about where to stay the next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejmitchell2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    158
    57
    21
    9
See reviews for
145
122
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

It appears we stayed at 196 Bishopsgate at the same time as the last 2 posters. I would agree with most of what they said. We are a family of four, kids are 12 and 14 and stayed in 403, a two bedroom. It was huge. We had just come from Paris and so were thrilled to be able to spread out. One bedroom had a queen and the other a double. I had requested the room with a king, but was not guarenteed it, and was happy with what we had. Beds were comfortable. Double room had it's own TV, which kids liked. Queen room had no AC unit, but it had a fan and the rest of the apt's AC worked so well the room did stay cool. The place is quite noisey with the windows open, but OK with them closed and the AC on. I have horrible insomnia but slept well here due to the bed size, ac, and fan. The clothes washer was a bit difficult to figure out, but OK and certainly better than paying for cleaning or washing by hand. We used it alot, since this was the second half of our trip. The Tesco one block away was awesome, and plenty of other places around to get whatever you might need.
The immediate vicinity has nothing physically close that a tourist would want, but with Liverpool Station right across the street you can get anywhere quickly and cheaply. There was a planned suspension of Underground service over the weekend of 7/3+4 that required us to adjust our plans, as well as an unplanned servce interuption due to a fire on 7/2, but these things just meant re-routing and a slight increase in travel time. All in all that station was very convenient for us. We even took a day trip all the way to York on one of those days (that requires taking the Underground to Paddington). Getting to Paddington for the Heathrow Express was easy too.
I have only two major gripes about the place. First is the lift problems the previous poster mentioned. I think the lift was completely down for 3 full days. This place has like 12 or 15 ft ceilings, and of course the first floor is floor 0, not one, so by the third day of scaling those five extra-large flights of stairs (after running from sight to sight all day) we were really starting to get annoyed.
The second is the bizarre water heater. When showering, it was almost impossible to get the water to come out warm, insteaof burning hot or ice cold. We experimented extensively and had group discussions comparing each family members' success or failure in their ability to take a warm shower, but never did figure the thing out. It's not that there was no hot water, it was that the hot would not mix with the cold to provide decent shower water. The heater seemed to do some type of cycling thing. I am guessing there is some secret way to make it work, I don't know.
The place could use a real coffee pot, too. But we got by with instant, and there was even some of that provided everyday (except Sunday, no servce on Sunday.)
The staff was very helpfull.
We were also told at checkout that we made a 42 pound phone call that we did not make, but when I was very firm that we had not made the call they took it off the bill. This was actually the second place we stayed this trip that tried to stick us with calls we didn't make (and yes we are sure it wasn't the kids).
The rooms really do look like the pictures, just maybe a little more boring.
I would definately stay there again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ivankurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed in the 1 bedroom executive apartment for 1 night at the weekend with some friends. The location of the place is great but this depends also on what part of London you are trying to access. On arrival the check in was very quick and friendly. However the lift wasn't working so we had to go up 2 flights of stairs to the 2nd floor and although it doesn't seem like alot when its a hot day outside and you've got luggage its a long way up! We did get some help with a couple of our bags.
The apart was big, very impressed with the size of the rooms apart from the bathroom being very small. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor, I wouldn't like to be a man trying to shave in such bad light.
The apartment had everything we needed for our stay, one thing I would note was the size of the sofas and the comfort factor, not very big or comfortable. Decor was a little old fashioned and could do with updating. But clean which is the most important thing.
The bed was comfortable but because the apartment was at the front of the building we didn't get alot of sleep due to traffic noise outside, would have preferred to be at the back of the hotel, maybe this would have been quieter.
I will definitely stay there again, would probably ask for a quieter room next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

For an extended stay in London when you're doing business in E1 or the surrounding area, I highly recommend 196 Bishopsgate. I stayed in one of their studio apartments for six nights and found it spacious, clean, private, and mostly quiet (there are pubs down below that do cause a bit of noise but its easily drowned out by the air conditioning unit). The unit was appointed with everything I needed and the (Queen) bed was surprisingly comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped including a washer/dryer, microwave, oven, cooktop, mini refrigerator, and washing machine. And, the room had electrical outlets everywhere. At just 139 pounds/night (plus 18 pounds for one week of internet access), it was beyond reasonably priced. Staff is unobtrusive, as you don't see anyone once you leave the reception area. Its definitely a no frills place in terms of amenities -- don't stay here if you're looking for a hotel gym, a business center, or room service, but there are many great inexpensive food and shopping options within a few blocks walk, including the Tesco grocery store just one block south (as mentioned in earlier posts) and a ton of restaurants/pubs including the area known as Spitalfields, which itself has at least a dozen restaurant options and countless shops. If you're visiting London for vacation and want to be centrally located, this part of the city probably isn't the best option, but it *is* directly across from Liverpool St. station (underground and overground trains) which makes it possible to get just about anywhere quite easily.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank adanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This is the second time I stayed here. Its a very central location just opposite Liverpool St Station, which is the heart of the financial district. This time I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on level 1. It was huge compared to most hotels in this area in this price range. Having your own kitchen and fridge makes longer stays much more homely. And a Tesco supermarket is less than a minute away so its easy to get a few supplies if you so desire. Alternatively there are plenty of places to buy a meal, ranging from fast food to high quality restaurants. I learnt from my previous stay not to expect too much from the front desk, and to be aware that friday nights can get a bit noisy. I'll definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank young_dazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Nice tidy apartments with all you need! As a regular always upgaded onto 2 room suite.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

A group of us girls stayed recently at 196 Bishopsgate. We stayed in the penthouse apartment for 2 nights friday and saturday, total was £495 which is a great price between a few people. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs in the penthouse and a study area. Only 1 of the bedrooms has an ensuite - it is pretty small and the sink is tiny so we used the main bathroom mostly. The beds are comfy and as both bedrooms face to the back, there is no noise from the road. The kitchen area is great, big fridge and lots of space. Dishwasher tablets are supplied too. The sofas were comfy although we thought they could be nicer or even a different colour for such a fancy apartment. An iPod docking station is supplied too. Would definately consider coming back here agian if with a large group of people.

Liverpool station is only across the road and is on the central tube line to get you to all the shops and attractions easily. There are a few nice pubs around the area too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#165 of 1,067 in London
145 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,067 in London
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#299 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing