We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families visiting London”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #440 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We chose these serviced apartments based on previous reviews and knowledge of the surrounding area. Positives:The location is ideal for exploring London, the apartments are exceptionally clean with a very attentive housekeeping team. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was adequate for five of us (2 adults and 3 kids, one rollaway bed was necessary for one of the kids and was reportedly comfortable). Cost to stay here reasonable for its location and apartment style living compared to nearby hotels. What could work better: Kitchens could be stocked with more cooking utensils than currently provided, our apartment faced Liverpool St. windows on this side of the building should be triple glazed for noise reduction, transparency on full payment of apartments on arrival should be shared when booking, especially for guests from North America where generally this is not common practice. For an additional charge continental breakfast can be provided, unfortunately it was the same everyday, could be improved by changing or rotating breakfast items... maybe even provide a choice menu card for guest to select?,The reception staff on the whole were friendly however they could improve their customer service (and would have earned another star) if reception staff greeted guests as they walk past the front desk, simply looking up from the PC and eye contact would suffice... overall good value for money, spacious, clean and safe accommodation in an excellent location. We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us, following on from your recent stay at 196 Bishopsgate Serviced Apartments.

We are constantly listening to our guest to improve or services here at 196 Bushopsgate. Rest asure that all your comments were past to the relevant department heads and will be looked into. I can promise you that your second stay with us would be twice as better that your first.

Wishing you all the best, and also looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Apartment located in financial section of London. The apartment was clean and fully furnished with washer / dryer, frig, etc. Two problems. - The lift was broken the 5 days I was there. Our apartment was on the fifth floor so this was quite a burden on my wife. One would think the lift could have been fixed sooner. The apartment faced the street, but the windows would not fully close, so the noise was deaenfing. The street is quite active, with heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic. A major train station is right across the street so traveling around the city was easy. Ther is also a food market close by, but no decent restaurants are to be found. Also the staff are not always around so you often have to wait to speak with someone. However, if the lift worked and the noise was easier to deal with, I would recommend Bishopsgate for families

Room Tip: Do not reserve a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmpgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and for recommending us to the readers of this website.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the lift being out of order, this was due to a part going faulty in the lift. It’s horrifying to me to hear that you had so many huddles throughout your stay. Were they reported to the reception?

Besides the lift everything could have been solved during your stay such as room changing you to a lower floor, or to a room that does not face the road etc.

I urge for a second opportunity to stay with us to rehabilitate your first views about us.

Regards

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I only stayed for 3 nights but was really pleased with the accommodation. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable (the sofa wasn't ideal but you don't generally spend a lot of time inside). As mentioned by other people, the location was fantastic for staying in the area or for seeing the sights in London. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your stay at 196 Bishopsgate. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience; from the comfort of the apartment, the location of the property and the service you encountered.

I shall pass your positive feedback to the team who looked after you and I shall look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate in the near future

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our apartment was everything we needed to make our family vacation perfect. Our teen granddaughters had a bedroom, we had a bedroom and we were able to be together in the large living room and adequate kitchen for evening games and breakfast. The washing machine was a wonderful perk. Dishes, glasses, soap, towels [even bathrobes] were provided.
When we needed assistance from the reception crew, they were more than helpful. The air conditioning/heater was hard to figure out, but it did function.
The neighborhood was ultra-convenient, and markets and restaurants were both close and abundant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and for recommending us to the readers of this website. I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and everything that surrounds our property.

Thank you again for your kind comments and I look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just checked in. Apartment with 2 rooms and only ONE room has air conditioning!!!!!!!! What kind of a scam is it? We sre psying $400 a night for this apartment! Safe your money and DONT come here. These units DO NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that you felt that visiting us didn't meet your requirements, was there something wrong with the A/C unit in your apartment? was it reported to the Front Desk?

I would love for you to contact me directly where we can discuss your issue further.

Kind Regards

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

These were very nicely decorated apartments at a very convenient location. Just across from Liverpool Str. Station which is a major hub to anywhere in the city and with many bus routes also. There are very interesting restaurants and pubs around and of course Spitalfields Market. Also very clean and modern inside. Highly recomended for business travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_panag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very please to read you had a fulfilling stay, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, also thank you for the high scores and praises. This is the type of experience we strive to provide to all of our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Choose the place because of the location and the lift and the daily cleaning service of this apartment.however,since the lift is not working throughout my stay . I can only rate this apartment to average .
Pros : quiet room if facing the rear park of the building , free Internet , free basket of breakfast with fruit , yogurt , bread, milk ..., air conditioning working though a little bit noisy , heater also works during my stay .bed is comfy .
Cons: no early check in , small 2 bedroom apartment with 1 bedroom with double bed , 1 bed with queen sized bed , however , no sofa bed for extra visitor , kitchen with adequate cooking ware. , but only for 4 persons but no more . Small bathroom with washing machine inside . bed room may be adequate for 2-3 persons , but look small if more than that .

Room Tip: Facing rear will be quieter , choose lower floor in case the lift is not working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Gueset,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback here following your recent stay with us.

Its disapointing that you found our apartment wasn't big enough to suit your needs, our two apartments can house from 2-4 comfortably and additional person +1 would be housed via an extra bed. making it a total of 5 persons. For helath and safety regulations we can not house 3-4 people in one bedroom.

I hope that if ever you visit London with a smaller party you will consider us at 196 bishopsgate.

Regards

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#62 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $177 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing