We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #462 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fell upon this from secret escapes, you will not be disapointed. It is in a great position just opposite Liverpool Street Station giving easy access to the whole of London. The continental breakfast was good but a bit repetive after four days. Everything was modern and clean, I have on minor niddle that bathroom in 503 was small compared to the rest of the apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us at 196 Bishopsgate and thank you for sharing this with us via Trip Advisor. Many thanks and kind regards, Should you require any assistance in making any future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    153
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
140
117
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

first class studio appartment. excellent kitchen facilities.great city location. reception and housekeeping staff so helpful and friendly. would stay again, no problem!
this was a visit to london so different to the usual hotel stay. much more flexible and relaxed. I was not too sure about giving this revue.as i selfishly wanted to keep 196 bishopsgate a secret!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Robert e,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with tripadvisor, following on from your recent stay at 196 Bishopsgate.
It’s always refreshing to hear when our guest praises how great their stay was and very reassuring to know that all our efforts have been appreciated from your side.
Although this might have been difficult, I’m happy you were willing to expose your secret and broadcast your praise for 196 bishopsgate.
Thank you for writing this wonderful review regarding your stay with us. I will share your kind comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a two room apartment for a one-night stay, fairly last minute - excellent value for money.
Our apartment was big enough for 5 of us; modern, clean, and spacious.
It worked out so much cheaper than hotel rooms, and it was a nicer environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very comfortable, well-equipped apartment in a great location just opposite one of the entrances to Liverpool St station so there is good access to the transport network and St Pancras is only a few stops away. I visited as part of a leisure trip but it would be equally suited to business use. The breakfast was good continental, with ample portions and was delivered each morning at the requested time.
I would have no hesitation in staying there again if in that part of London. The "city" is nearby and the east end is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a studio apartment for two, for 3 nights through a special offer with a national newspaper.The offer included a free upgrade, from studio apartment to one bedroom apartment subject to availability. When my wife and i checked in on Sunday we enquired about the upgrade. The receptionist who was not particularly helpful informed us there was no availability. We could however opt for an executive room at an additional cost of £75 per night. Before making a decision we decided to see what the studio room was like.First impressions were OK until we tried the TV, the controller didn't work. It was a cold evening so I turned the heating on,that too didn't work. Then we noticed there was only one lounge chair to sit on with the only other option being to use one of the sit-up and beg dining chairs. Not a comfortable option. The double bed had one side against the wall which meant you had to climb over the other to get into bed. Getting out in the middle of the night would pose its own problems!
We later took up these 'problems' with the new duty receptionist Sean. He could not have been more helpful. He immediately alloted us a one bedroom apartment which was ideal and very comfortable. It begs the question why we were not offered this available apartment on check-in?
The hotel is well situated, spotlessly clean, a very good Continental Breakfast delivered to your room, overall excellent value for money We would strongly recommend this hotel but not a studio apartment for a couple.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had a meeting just off Threadneedle Street and needed central accomodation for 3 of us. With even fairly mediocre hotels charging a premium we were delighted when we came across the apartments at 196 Bishopsgate. They are straight across the road from Liverpool St station and therefore only 1 tube stop from the centre of the banking sector. We had an executive studio and a 1 bedroom apartment. Both were spacious, immaculate and very comfortable. Nice showers, lounge and kitchen areas in both.

It was a shame that we were only down for 1 night as the extra space over a normal hotel room, especially in London, would have been a pleasure to enjoy for longer. A very pleasant continental breakfast was delivered to the rooms in the morning, perfect.

Would definitely use again when we stay in this part of London.

Room Tip: We had rooms 104 & 111 and would be delighted with either next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDn2Lix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

PERFECT location for our weekend. Very impressed by the accommodation provided. What do you do on our first morning as we enjoy our breakfast. You slip a letter and a photograph of a cigarette in a toilet under the door informing me you have just taken £250 from our account for smoking in the room and if it happens again you will take another £250 !!!!!!!!!!! Both being non smokers we are absolutley furious that you can actually do this. It took a good 20 minute argument before the money was refunded and only when i questioned the time of the photograph. It must have been taken before we arrived when the room was serviced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dev134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#217 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing