We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel alternative”
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
196 Bishopsgate
Ranked #453 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good hotel alternative”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for one night in June while on business in London. The location is really great-just a stone's throw from Liverpool Street Station with shops and restaurants also close by.

I had a studio apartment-bedroom with seating area and kitchen around the corner and separate bathroom. This was comfortable and spacious but a little soulless. The whole place was very clean however.

The extra space of having an apartment does have a trade off in the sense that staffing and service levels are not to good hotel standards. For example, I had to wait for 10 minutes or so for a member of staff to come down to reception for check-in.

Overall however, I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    155
    56
    21
    9
See reviews for
143
120
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgique
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for just one night whilst ona business trip.
I found the staff not very friendly. the evening receptionist was barely friendly and the receptionist in the morning was unable to provide me decent information on how to get the easiest way to Prescott street, just a few block further... luckely that there are friendly taxi-drivers.

for a hotel/appartement of that standing, the isolation against outside noice was/is very poor. I had the impression that I slept next to the outside airconditioning units.

Positive thing though : very nice bathroom and despite the distrubence of outside ... the beds are great... could have had a great night sleep with proper isolation

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busysissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights over spring break and loved it! This hotel has everything a traveller needs, free internet access, full kitchen, across the street from Liverpool St. Tube Station. Tesco Grocery next door. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Upper floors are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dottie110364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

What can I say? By far the best place I have stayed and good value for money!

Room Tip: excellent value if there are a few of you sharing for a long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvadread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just back from 2 night stay and were thrilled with choice of 196 Bishopsgate. Booked 2 bed apt and arrived to find 2 king bedrooms, living and kitchen areas and balcony. It was perfect for us. Location was superb as it was literally across the road from Liverpool street station. Those worried about security need not worry as police station next door. 5 min walk from fantastic spittalfield market with shops stalls and eateries. Hotel clean, rooms cleaned each day and staff courteous and helpful. We will definitely book again for any future London trip

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

London is so easy to get around! So for the same price as the Hiltons and Marriotts....at the 196 Bishopsgate you get an additional washer and dryer and full kitchen. We have a family of 6 and with 4 kids laundry is a must when your ANYWHERE over a week stay. Tesco (huge grocery chain) outside the door and steps away from the hotel. You safe SO MUCH money buying breakfast food, snacks and even a few dinners and bring them back to the hotel.

There is always a 24 hour store open directly outside for bottled water and snacks. We also have a large double stroller(baby pram) that fits in the elevator and we stored it right outside the room door in the hallway. Safe....convenient...extremely clean and comfortable beds too. The neighborhood...financial district is super quiet and empty Sat and Sun and after 6pm on Weekdays. And for security it is nice to know there is a Police Station one block down. As for the staff of the hotel....so kind, helpful....and knowledgeable..Its rare to find a front desk available 24 hours a day...but they are and they always call you back when you leave them a message....
We used the Liverpool Street Station almost everyday....direct train to Cambridge....tube to Harrods and the buses are super easy and right outside the front door. THE best pasty shop is just opposite the hotel in front of the train station!

And for trivia sake.....the TMobile Flash Mob commercial was filmed in the Liverpool Train Station and if you want a slice of life in the big city of London..just walk across the street from your cozy and wonderful 196 Bishopsgate and people watch as the floods of hard working people of London stream in and out of the train station at all hours of the night! BUT you can't hear the action at all from the hotel. QUIET!

If your going to get a 2 bedroom apt....ask for Room 504.....quiet....HUGE and pop the windows open in the living room and bedrooms and your room is the perfect temperature when you get home after a long day of sightseeing or business day!

I can't wait to return to 196 Bishopsgate! Mary Poppins...here I come!

SIncerely.......Happy family from San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#158 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Property: 196 Bishopsgate
Address: 196 Bishopsgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#226 Business Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing