We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recomendation”
Review of My Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
My Place Hotel
Ranked #920 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recomendation”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It is very cliner and qute big room. The best location (5 min) near metro Earl's court. 15 min before centre and 10 min. to realwaystaton Victoria/ Very poor breakfast and no internet in room, and quite slowly in lobby.

Room Tip: If you don't need to use Internet, it is a good variant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    106
    138
    81
    107
See reviews for
65
132
79
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is well located, and the staff, especially the breakfast waitress, are pleasant and helpful.
Shame about the standard of cleanliness and maintenance. None of the windows in the top floor twin room could be opened, and we spent an uncomfortable hot night without ventilation.
Peeling paint in the bathroom ceiling was flaking into the bath and a strong smell of cigarette smoke was coming in through a dirty vent. The carpet was badly stained, the sheer curtains were filthy and two of the blinds were broken, as was the headboard on one of the beds.
The lovely secluded garden off the breakfast room would be so nice if the rubbish lying around was removed and the garden weeded, and decking scrubbed.
Come on owners, you have a gem here, give it a polish!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I am very biased on my opinion of this hotel because I am British-obsessed and it was my first night in London and my first time being in England. I was blinded by love. Let's start with the positives: Excellent location almost literally around the block from the Earls Court tube station and the neighborhood is adorable. There were many great eateries and shops close by. We ate at Nandos one night and it was really good! The room was clean and I appreciated the fact that the towels were sweetly folded and placed next to the hotel information packet. Hey, I'm easily won over.
I wouldn't call the rest negatives, necessarily. Nothing about our stay was unsafe, unsavory or uneasy. This is just FYI: Upon gratefully sitting on a toilet that was not housed in a closet, I almost went for a ride across the bathroom, as the toilet seat was in no way physically attached to the toilet. That was interesting. Also, it took me a bit to get the hang of how to flush the toilet too. After a bit I found the lever had to be pumped and then we were in business. None of the furniture matched, but that just added to the charm. The bed was the strangest bed I've ever slept in. It kind of leaned to one side, yet simultaneously had a Grand Canyon in the middle, so you didn't know if you were coming or going. Go on the free walking tour of London and you will be almost too tired to notice your boyfriend rolling over on top of you all night. Probably the strangest part of our stay was the continental breakfast. I have an open mind about new food, but the brown mystery meat and mammoth bowl of room temperature yogurt was just not appealing. My suggestion: go across the street to the bakery and have a hot crossed bun instead!
All in all, this is not a horrible place to stay. It's not fancy, but it's affordable and safe. Win win.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Overall the best thing about this place is the location, which is just around the corner from the tube station. The place is a bit run down, and doesn't smell fresh. The rooms are small and also the linen etc seemed worn and could be replaced. The carpets are also appearing worn and a tad dirty. The rooms on the 3rd floor are still quite noisy, and we had to keep the windows closed at all times. The bathroom is really really small, and there was a smell as well, although visibly clean. There is a lounge room/breakfast area which is very much welcomed by my group, since it became a meeting place for coffee, which is served throughout the day. Breakfast is the average toast and jam with coffee and cereals. I wouldn't say this is a 3 star, maybe more of a 2 star rating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My Place is convenient to the train & a pleasant walk to South Kensington Park.
The room was noisy. The bed was lumpy & creaky. Linens were worn & thin. The AC did not work & the bathroom was very small. It also had a musty
smell.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtargo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

How they managed to get a 3* rating is a mystery, this hotel is a disaster area. Main banister in the lobby is dangerously loose, an accident waiting to happen. The room was very shabby, airless and the carpet stained. Bedding too didn't come across as looking very clean. The bathroom was too small, the shower in the bath virtually unusable since the water temperature was almost uncontrollable meaning scalding your feet since the water was very slow in running away. The basin taps only managed to produce a trickle of water. The ceiling was stained from water leakage above. The TV, despite the manager coming to take a look refused to work. Breakfast was poor, cheap nondescript fruit juice and instant coffee in a dining room that didn't look too clean either. We went elsewhere for breakfast. We had problems using our credit card to pay the bill despite 2 attempts, paid cash in the end and left not knowing if our card had also been charged. Fault must be with our card we were told. Funny it worked fine to get tube tickets shortly after. As it was we were not charged, but our short break was marred by the thought we might have been.
Only stay here if you really must.The only plus point is the close proximity to Earl's Court tube station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityfan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

While not a posh place, it certainly has everything one needs. The location is superb if you are out and about going in all directions. Located just 25 meters from a Earls Court Station, a station serving Picadilly, Central and District, getting about the city with minimal line changes was a breeze! The room was a very good size for a London budget hotel. We had private bath, flat screen tv and mini-frig. Internet was only downstairs in the lounge, breakfast room and lobby, yet all the nice sofas and back pillows made it a welcoming place to hang out online. Something a little different...they leave the pot on so there is always hot tea and coffee available in the lounge. They also have a lovely private garden with tables and chairs to laze in the sun. While not posh, the location and amenities would make this hotel a solid choice for any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie_Nagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#590 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#557 of 1,067 in London
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Hotel

Property: My Place Hotel
Address: 1-3 Trebovir Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #920 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place Hotel is located on a quiet street in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. The hotel is located just seconds from Earls Court Underground Station (Piccadilly and District Lines) with quick and easy access to London's West End and Heathrow AirportThe hotel comprises of 49 bedrooms and contains a mixture of single, double, executive double, twin and triple bedrooms which all have en-suite bathrooms. The hotel is spread out over 6 floors and with lift access to all floors. Single rooms comprise of one single bed; Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed; Executive Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed with a sofa area; Twin rooms comprise of two single beds; Triple rooms comprise of either three single beds or one double and one single bed.Breakfast is served between 8am- 9.30am. Continental Breakfast is complimentary and consists of toast, cheese, ham, butter, hard-boiled eggs, jams, yoghurts, fruit cocktails, cereals and muesli. Full English breakfasts cost £9.95 per person and must be ordered a day in advance. Alternative options for breakfast are also available from our breakfast menu. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, however, the signal strengh in some rooms can be relatively low. If this is the case we have a lounge area and conference room on the ground floor which is available to all guests 24 hours a day. We do not have a carpark at the hotel and advise all guests who drive to the hotel to park their cars in a nearby carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place London
Place Hotel London
Hotel My Place
My Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing