We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & location for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castleton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
Ranked #902 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Chichester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value & location for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked this hotel as we were going to radio 2 Live in Hyde Park and the location was perfect.
Booked it a few months prior to arrival date as they offered best price we could get in the area, and it was great value for money.
We didn't expect a lot paying just £89 for a room when your 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park and in the centre of Paddington, but the reviews said it was clean and near to hyde park so an ideal hotel.

On arrival at 10:30am, we were able to leave our car in one of the spaces & leave our bags with them which was perfect, I can imagine not a lot of hotels can offer that in London.
The receptionist was really polite and helpful in directions, so great first impressions.
After the event we returned to our room, which was just what we expected. Very small but all you need for one night kip & all you really need is to lay your head down. The bathroom was spotless as was the main bedroom, we both work in a hotel so are very scrutinizing when it comes down to hygiene. Room was quiet considering we were right next door to the reception and street.

The only thing that let this place down was the breakfast which was very unimaginative and very little choice, although perfectly edible but again you pay for what you get really.

I would suggest losing the ridiculous curtain pulls/tassels as key holds as very tatty and cheap, but otherwise this hotel really was great for what we needed and in such a nice area...just don't expect a 5star hotel when your booking a bargain 3star!

Room Tip: We stay in 102, which was ideal for a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJAYNE91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    171
    169
    76
    61
See reviews for
123
156
72
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room. We were given room 114, which is in the basement next to the kitchen and breakfast room. First impressions- the room smelled strongly of damp on arrival, there was damp up the walls behind the bed and also mould on the curtains, the curtains didn't close properly. The bathroom had long dark hairs in it, no main light (only a light above the mirror) and sounded like a jet engine taking off when you did put the light on. There were two other single beds in the room which seemed rather random. Given that we had checked in quite late, were shattered, and really had just wanted somewhere to sleep, we went to bed.
Unfortunately we did not get a good nights sleep as the room was very noisy, the worst of this was a random banging noise that sounded like a ball being bounced against the wall or ceiling. I haven't a clue what this actually was. We gave in trying to sleep and got up fairly early.
On the plus side, the shower was very powerful and breakfast was ok.
On checkout, we tried to discuss the problems with our room with the receptionist. Unfortunately this proved fairly pointless and we gave in quite quickly. We started to explain that the room smelled strongly of damp and that damp was visible on the walls, the receptionist denied any knowledge of this and stated that the maintenance team had not reported this (eh?) and that there shouldn't be a problem as the room had been used for hundreds of years (eh??). After a bit more denial we gave in. I can only assume that either the staff at the hotel don't understand what damp is, looks like or smells like and they don't realise that it's fairly common in a basement, or they are well aware of the problem and don't really care. As I have read a couple of reviews stating a similar problem I'd guess it's the latter.
The price of this hotel is not dissimilar to other hotels of the same type nearby, I'd advise avoiding this one and spending your money elsewhere. Overall, generally poor quality. I can only think of one place I've stayed which has been worse than this and that was a one star motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leanneh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Well where do I start .. This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I'm not one for making a complaint or bad reviews but this hotel was just so terrible I felt that I had to.

We booked a double room for £89.

When we turned up we were given the keys to a twin room?!? - we went back to reception and were told in a very casual manne let that there were no more double rooms left. And that was that. There was absolutely no apology. No emotion and no care AT ALL. There were no more rooms and that was that.

Of course we didnt accept this at all but were in a rush to get to the theatre. We explained to the receptionist to make sure this was sorted as this was what we booked and expect. The man behind the desk was very rude and had zero customer service.

When we arrived back, luckily the room had been sorted. However the disappointment just continued.

The room was terrible. A tiny room that looked like it was decorated in the 80s and the bathroom was basically a caravan bathroom or the pay toilets you see on the street. Absolutely shocking.

This room should have been priced in the £40/£50 region. Absolutely not worth £89 at all.

Unfortunately that's not it. Breakfast was in a dingy room and the staff were awful. Not a hello or smile. We didnt know where to sit, what the rules were. So we stood for a while and realised that no one was going to come. Another table asked for an orange juice and another table a coffee however it was 10am on the dot and this was no longer possible!!!

The staff just don't care and don't care that the customers see they don't care.

Astutely shocking stay. Nothing positive to stay unfortunately other than the location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I am concerned by your comments and have investigated your claims with the reception staff at the hotel. You booked a double room but were unfortunately allocated a twin room which was changed by the time you returned from the theatre. As documented on Tripadvisor and in our own literature the bedrooms at the hotel are compact, spotlessly clean and some have modular bathrooms. Maybe a little research on your part before you booked the room would have been advisable.
The breakfast room does get very busy towards the end of service as is normal in most hotels. Breakfast on a Sunday finishes at 10.00am. The staff use their discretion with guests who come in late.
I refute your claims that my staff don’t care and have no customer service skills. Please look at the hundreds of positive comment on Tripadvisor and other online forums to praising my staff for their hard work and effort.
You paid £89.00 for bed and breakfast in central London on a Saturday night which I think represents excellent value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the heart of paddington and is walking distance to all shops and stores. It is very clean and relatively cheap making it more favorable to tourists. The staff were helpful and friendly. On the other hand, the rooms were rather small and the ac made a drilling noise every once and a while during my stay. Hope they fix that problem. But overall this is a very good hotel for its price and location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I loved this hotel, price is good for center of london, clean comfortable and nice cooked breakfast. atmsophere is pleasant, bathrooms clean. very good for a 3 star hotel and exellent location, very near paddington station, cafes, two streets away from oxford street. i would definitely stay here again. staff great. Free WIFI and Breakfast and AC. great deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night having arrived from Singapore. If you are traveling to/from Paddington this is a great place to stay. The room was small but clean and tidy. The ensuite was interesting as it felt a bit like being in a camper van but it worked perfectly well. The breakfast was what you would expect in a small UK hotel. The free Wifi was a bonus with checking travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mason_pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#676 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#770 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#593 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#772 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Property: Castleton Hotel
Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #902 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing