We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castleton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$336
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$228
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$376
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$317
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
70
176
183
92
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
176
183
92
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssussex gardensrooms are smallheathrow expressbeds were comfortablefull english breakfasttea coffeeexcellent locationtwo night staynice breakfastbreakfast was includedpaddingtonensuitestationcerealtubeunits
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 591 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a triple room during the Paralympics. Had a good stay overall, since the hotel has an excellent location, within a very short walk to 2 underground stations and Hyde Park, with lots of restaurants, fast-food joints and mini-markets down London Street.
The room was tiny - something to be expected in London for this price range. The bathroom was minuscule - those pre-fabs that barely fit one adult, but functional. Beds were ok, the window was soundproofed and there is enough space for one medium bag on the floor - but not much more.
Breakfast was a simple english style, meaning that if one does not like sausages and beans will have a hard time eating it...
Recommended for the excellent location and good value, but one has to bear in mind that its a simple hotel - good for those looking for a place to sleep but not much more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilhermeOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for £84 in a double room. Clean and comfortable. Well located. Usual small room as you would expect in London. But bigger than many. Friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for one night in the Castleton in a quad room as there were four of us going to a concert.

It was perfect for what we needed, 2 minutes from the station, somewhere to put our heads down.

Not sure i would stay again if I was staying for more than one night, but perfect when on a budget. Reception staff very helpful and breakfast was brilliant.

Would recommend for quick stopover.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Castleton Hotel and it is always a pleasure. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much of a problem. Each room has its own airconditioner so you can adjust it as you like. On the cooler days, the staff turn it on for you so that when you return to the room it is already warm. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are single and female. So close to Paddington train station and accessible to banks, shops and the rest of London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueda3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is great, tube literally 2 minutes walk away, Hyde Park also. A choice of restaurants just across the road (Italian very good, Sawyers Arms or something, a pub, really great and authentic). My only problem with the place: the room! We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in what they call the lower ground floor - the basement. No daylight at all, draughty passages. Our room (110) had just enough room for the two single and one double bed, plus one small bedside table and a wardrobe with enough room for one person's things. All fairly new though and looked nice. Problem: The window was in fact a locked wooden door with a 5mm wide gap between the door and the frame, which led to a constant icy wind cutting through the room (draught from there to room door which also had a wide gap at the bottom). As others have noted, it was freezing cold in the room, so we turned the air-con unit up on the wall onto a 27 degree storm from upper right to counter the ice storm from below left. Our kids slept in the middle. We would therefore recommend you don't take the 4-bed rooms and insist on a room above ground! The breakfast room was only down the passage from our room and was fine for a winter's stay.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in what they call the lower ground floor - the basement. No daylight at all, draughty passages. Our room (110) had just enough room for the two single and one double bed, plus one small bedside table and a wardrobe with enough room for one person's things. All fairly new though and looked nice. Problem: The window was in fact a locked wooden door with a 5mm wide gap between the door and the frame, which led to a constant icy wind cutting through the room (draught from there to room door which also had a wide gap at the bottom). As others have noted, it was freezing cold in the room, so we turned the air-con unit up on the wall onto a 27 degree storm from upper right to counter the ice storm from below left. Our kids slept in the middle. We would therefore recommend you don't take the 4-bed rooms and insist on a room above ground!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews