We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty good value for London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castleton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
Ranked #840 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good value for London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for £84 in a double room. Clean and comfortable. Well located. Usual small room as you would expect in London. But bigger than many. Friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    165
    153
    71
    50
See reviews for
109
142
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Castleton in a quad room as there were four of us going to a concert.

It was perfect for what we needed, 2 minutes from the station, somewhere to put our heads down.

Not sure i would stay again if I was staying for more than one night, but perfect when on a budget. Reception staff very helpful and breakfast was brilliant.

Would recommend for quick stopover.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Castleton Hotel and it is always a pleasure. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much of a problem. Each room has its own airconditioner so you can adjust it as you like. On the cooler days, the staff turn it on for you so that when you return to the room it is already warm. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are single and female. So close to Paddington train station and accessible to banks, shops and the rest of London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueda3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is great, tube literally 2 minutes walk away, Hyde Park also. A choice of restaurants just across the road (Italian very good, Sawyers Arms or something, a pub, really great and authentic). My only problem with the place: the room! We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in what they call the lower ground floor - the basement. No daylight at all, draughty passages. Our room (110) had just enough room for the two single and one double bed, plus one small bedside table and a wardrobe with enough room for one person's things. All fairly new though and looked nice. Problem: The window was in fact a locked wooden door with a 5mm wide gap between the door and the frame, which led to a constant icy wind cutting through the room (draught from there to room door which also had a wide gap at the bottom). As others have noted, it was freezing cold in the room, so we turned the air-con unit up on the wall onto a 27 degree storm from upper right to counter the ice storm from below left. Our kids slept in the middle. We would therefore recommend you don't take the 4-bed rooms and insist on a room above ground! The breakfast room was only down the passage from our room and was fine for a winter's stay.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The descriptions and pictures on booking sites give a bit of a false impression, the rooms are very small with double bedshaving one side against a wall making it difficult to get in and out for one person. The descriptions also said all rooms have large windows, but in room 108 you would need to be a highjumper just to reach the window making it a bit claustrophobic and pushing 2 single beds together do not make a double room. Breakfast was reasonable and and the place was clean, it isn't a 3 star as in the description but it is an adequate base for a short stay in London

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent one night at the Castleton Hotel after a 4 and a half hour flight from Cyprus with a friend. After getting the Heathrow Express, we found the hotel very easily. The location is brilliant for Paddington Station.

When we arrived, we quickly got our key and went to our room. Out freezing cold room. It was -4degrees outside and the wall heater was not working. Plus, the room was right next to the huge extractor fans, so with single pane windows, it was very noisy. We went to complain about the lack of heat and the receptionist pressed some buttons on his controller and said it would warm up soon. It didn't. I rang and complained, and we were given a tiny heater to warm the room, which it didn't. We were so tired, we decided to just get into bed, fully dressed with our coats on. The beds were clean as was the small bathroom.

After a very unsettled night sleep, we had a shower etc and went for breakfast. The breakfast was not great wth a very limited selection which included cold beans! It also advertised that there was hot chocolate, which there wasn't. Not a huge problem normally, but I was so cold and don't drink tea or coffee.

For location this place is perfect and in the warmer months I'm sure the rooms would be more bearable. However, for us, the inability to get warm really put a downer on the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just at the end of the street is the huge Paddington Station. I stayed at the Castleton Hotel for over two weeks unintentionally... The accommodation I had booked from Australia had fallen through because I'd used an Australian credit card (they wanted a British card) when I arrived at Heathrow Airport my iphone battery was dead. so I asked a black taxi to take me somewhere centrally located. I was about to embark on rental property hunting in nearby W2, so it was all quite sporadic and chaotic. Meanwile, I had about 3-4 different rooms, they were all single rooms (small) they all varied in size marginally. They were all consistantly clean though. My room price varied depending on who had booked ahead, what was available + their evening rate. By the time I'd left I had begun to know all the staff and I recommend the place highly, they were all lovely. One of the best parts for me was the breakfasts, they were huge!

Room Tip: I had about 3-4 different rooms, they were all single rooms (small) they all varied in size marginal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#719 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#667 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#586 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#392 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#650 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#610 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Property: Castleton Hotel
Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #840 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing