We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and comfortable stay”
Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caring Hotel
Ranked #511 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable and comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

One best thing I like about the hotel is that they offer luggage storage service at only £2 a day and the one thing not so good is that it is not very easy to find though it is located at bayswater area. On my first night, I had 21kg worth of luggage to carry to the second floor but the reception man did not offer to assist. I guess that's because he has to take care of the surveillance cameras, albeit I would still appreciate a little help. The ladies in the morning shifts were helpful and friendly and breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    412
    137
    36
    11
See reviews for
147
330
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent three nights at the Caring Hotel with my pre-teen daughter. We went for the cheapest alternative, meaning a room on the fourth floor, with shared bathroom. The final staircase was hidden behind a fire door that opened in the "wrong" direction when you are carrying luggage. But we are strong and healthy so we could live with that. It was nice to have a sink and kettle in the room. The beds were rather hard, but we slept well in this nice and quiet hotel area, with a nice view over a quiet street. The only negative surprise was the shower. It was one of those wall mounted showers that you cannot hold, and the water went in all directions. It was not good for washing long hair, but very tidy and clean, though. Breakfast was good, and was served between 07.30 and 09.00 on weekdays and 08.00 and 09.15 Saturday and Sunday - which suited us fine since we were there to go sightseeing, and then you still want to leave the hotel rather early in the morning to not waste any touristing time.
All in all - I wouldn't mind staying here again. Communications were good. Bus 94 between Notting Hill Gate and Piccadilly is very close and runs 24x7 (It starts from just beside Her Majesty's Theatre, where The Phantom of the Opera is showing - perfect for us!) 10 minutes walk to Paddington Station which is handy if you come by shuttler train from Heathrow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TestaBydalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Feels a little more like a bed and breakfast then a hotel.. That being said we had a great two nights stay at the caring hotel. Location is perfect, 10 minute walk to paddington station, especially convenient for the Heathrow express if coming in from London Heathrow airport. The kensington gardens are also just a few minutes walk away. The area felt extremely safe, even at night we never had a problem close to this hotel.
The breakfast was complementary and offered a large spread of croissants, toast, hard boiled eggs, fruits, cereal, and of course coffee, tea and juices.
Rooms were basic and actually a little lacking in decor, but definitely cleanly kept. The shared bathroom was also never an issue for us. It too was small, but efficient, and clean and we never actually even had to wait to use it. The complimentary teas and hot water maker were a nice touch for a nightly cup of tea.
The front desk is staffed 24 hours, another nice security feature, and we found all staff pleasant and helpful.
Definitely a great deal for the area. We would stay again and recommend to anyone able to climb stairs easily.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is average. Location is pretty good with Metro and bus within 5min walking (also night bus). No lift and lots of stairs. Room is quite small, but clean and with shower plate. Breakfast is standard and breakfast time very reduced (I'm not sure anymore but it think it was from 8 to 9.15).
They allowed us to leave our bags on the check in day until check in time free of charge, but THEY CHARGE 2 £ per piece (even if just for a couple of hours)if you want to leave your bag on departure day (check out is at 11). Explanation is bags are insurance protected in case of fire.... for me it a simple way to rip off guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mianroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week in February. Found it extremely easy to find and a great location, near tube stations, tourist shopping and food.

We had a very large room with a bathroom, everything was clean and new. The staff were very helpful if we needed anything.

Overall we had a great experience, staff were very helpful and for the price you pay, you can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a great night at the caring hotel. The staff were very friendly, everywhere was clean and tidy, breakfast was simple but lovely and the location was great. We didn't have our own toilet which I was worried about but it really didn't matter, there seemed to be one for every two rooms and it was extremely clean. A really lovely hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecce
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed three nights, in a single room with queen size bed. Service was spotless, very nice and helpful people. Room was large enough and sunny, and quiet.
BUT:
The bedlinen and sheets were old, worn out and stained with dirt.
The NEVER replaced the bedlinen (I could have asked, but I assumed they would have changed it after the first night...)
The bathroom was small, and old to that point where it looks dirty even when it is clean. And the room had a stinking wardrobe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mallatrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#414 of 1,067 in London
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#613 of 1,067 in London
451 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#751 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#488 of 1,067 in London
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Property: Caring Hotel
Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing