We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reasonably priced London hotel”
Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caring Hotel
Ranked #552 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Caring Hotel and we would be happy to return again. The location is convenient for Paddington Station, breakfast is good, staff vey helpful and friendly and the room was clean and well serviced. The room we stayed in this time was a double with shower and not as spacious as the triple room we stayed in previously. all in all though, the Caring Hotel is a good choice for a short stay in London.

Room Tip: Go for the doubles with ensuite or the triples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 801 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Convenient between 2 tube stations in the Bayswater west end. All London Hotels are overpriced this one is no exception but sort of reasonable based on others around this area. Great friendly staff, adequate breakfast but closes at 9am. No elavator but this visit we got a one flight up room with our own bathroom(very small). Many rooms use common bathrooms but they are very clean as we had booked during the Olympics. The hotel is kept very clean which is a plus. If you are not ready when they want to clean your room you get skipped till next day, they leave 2 towels. In fact you only get 2 medium bath towels anyway, that are pretty rough, no shampoo. It won a 2012 Trip Advisor award. Again you have to consider that London has hundreds of hotels and most appear to be overpriced and mediocre - but then nothing beats London as a City destination.

Room Tip: Get lower floor room or be prepared for walk with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great budget choice. Quiet location with clean, we'll kept functional rooms. Good breakfast and wifi service. Only down side - the curtains were inadequate and barely covered the window leaving the room very light through the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has been a real find and is reasonably priced as London goes. It is conveniently placed in central London. All staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel itself is in a very good state of repair. We used two rooms, a large one on the ground floor and a smaller one on the second floor. There is no lift but that was not an inconvenience for us. Both were double rooms with on suite bathroom and toilet and we have no complaints about them although the walls are thin on the second floor. Breakfast was included in the price. It consisted of cereals, toast, bread, jams and hard boiled eggs. Some fresh fruit and yoghurt would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: If using the room for more than a base the larger rooms certainly give more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed two nights and have no complaints at all.

The room was clean and spacious; the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of cupboard/drawer space, and the ensuite bathroom, although tiny, was quite functional. There was a kettle and tea bags/instant coffee in the room.

The price of the room included a basic continental breakfast -- toast with a variety of jams, hard boiled-eggs, cheese, a range of cereals, fruit and several varieties of fruit juice, coffee and tea. For a £2/bag charge we were able to leave our luggage well beyond check-out to pick up and catch a later train.

A couple of suggestions: a hair drier in the room would have been useful and some basic bathroom supplies -- shampoo/conditioner etc. (Also, we didn't need a third bed in the room and would have preferred a couch, but then we were probably given a family room for lack of a straightforward double.)

The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful.

Proximity to the West End (20-30 minutes on foot) or to the tube/buses (5 minutes walk) for going further afield was great, and the local neighbourhood offers a wonderful greek restaurant. We will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: There is no lift and four floors. This is worth bearing in mind if you have heavy luggage or find s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked three nights in a "basic" twin-bedroomed room, sharing a bathroom with three or four other rooms. We were warmly welcomed, and took our luggage up the three floors to our room, which was long and narrow with two single beds, a hand basin, a wardrobe with adequate storage space and a kettle with coffee, tea and milk. We settled in, and found it hard to sleep on the first night as it was very windy and the plastic sheeting covering the porch at the front of the hotel made a great deal of noise.Continental Breakfast was served in the basement by a very efficient staff. We were served with tea and hot toast, or good coffee from the counter, and there were cereals, fresh fruit and hard-boiled eggs and cheese and a variety of spreads.We found it rather a challenge to cope with sharing the bathroom, so for our last night we arranged to upgrade to a double room ensuite on the second floor, which was at the back of the hotel, and very quiet. This was not very much more expensive, and well worth the extra. We found the staff very friendly and helpful - reception, waitresses and cleaning staff - and are glad to know that we can rely on this hotel as a reasonable, well-positioned place to stay whenever we want to spend a few nights in London.

Room Tip: Double rooms ensuite are more comfortable, and it is quieter at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location was very good. We took the Heathrow express to Paddington and were able to walk to hotel from there. To us it was easy to find, just use google maps, walking directions. It was also close to a central line stop as well as a circle and district lines. The room was fine. I loved the large tub. Note, they do not provide shampoo, lotion, or soap for the shower/tub.. We were on the 1st floor, room 12, and the wifi connection was great. The room was quiet on the nights we didn't have anyone staying in the room next to us. However if there was someone in that room, you could hear everything. I imagine this is a common problem in older hotels. The bed slept fine, no lumps or bumps. Breakfast was as advertised, nothing special, but adequate. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augtfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#498 of 1,077 in London
384 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#622 of 1,077 in London
595 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#598 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $51 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing