We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, clean, cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caring Hotel
Ranked #495 of 1,089 Hotels in London
padova
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean, cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in London at Caring for our honey moon.
4th floor, basic twin room,no toilet in the room but there was a washbasin, no elevator, on the 4th floor 2 toilets for 4 rooms. Very clean and no wait time :)
Room with usual moquette, clean. Not very big, but keeping in mind we are in London and looking at our wallet, it wasn't a problem at all.
------VERY GOOD CENTRAL POSITION, quiet neighbourhood, near central Line subway and circle line (5 mins on foot). It's invaluable in combination with an Oyster card. Public transport allowed us to stay out until late, so that our 5 days were enough to visit museums, go shopping and say hello to Her Majesty the Queen :)
Hotel staff very kind, reception open 24/7, they kindly lent us the adaptor for uk-euro electric socket (no charge!!), wich we didn't have on the 1st day (you always forget something..)
Transparent transactions and no additional charges at the moment of paying the bill.
(we used italian Postepay-visa). Booking process simple and clear; first night preauthorized on our card, as stated in the website.
Buffet breakfast with: eggs, cheese, tea, multiple fruit juices, coffee (english coffee......) milk, chocolate, bread, and on sunday croissants.
Staff present in the breakfast room, ready to help and answer to many little requests of the customers.

Room Tip: lower floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    407
    136
    35
    11
See reviews for
144
325
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our room was very tiny and on the third floor (no elevator), but the room was perfectly clean and provided a comfortable night's sleep. We had a room with a shared bath right across the hall from our room. The bath could not have been cleaner. The bath was shared between only 2 or 3 rooms, and we never had to wait to use the bath. Our room, although tiny, even had a sink, a TV and a tea kettle shoe-horned into it. The location of the hotel was great - only a few blocks from stops on two different tube lines, and near a number of restaurants, including a great fish and chips restaurant. The hotel desk clerk was very helpful in suggesting things that we could do and which bus line to take. The continental breakfast was adequate and gave us a good start to our day. It was a great budget option for a short stay in London. We spent little time in the room since we were busy sight-seeing, and so it did not matter at all that the room was tiny. I would recommend this hotel for any budget travelers who are able to do without an elevator in their hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I chose this hotel due to the rating on tripadvisor and due to the room prices on the webpage of the hotel.

The hotel is located a four minute walk from queensway and not difficult to find. Around the corner there are some shops for food and beer. However, they do not really sale british beer, but that is another story.

When I arrived a late Friday evening there was no power supply whatsoever. Surprisingly the power came back just after 5 minutes waiting in the lobby.

I booked a cozy single room, however they upgraded me to a single room which was nice. The rooms are as the standard rooms are in the UK. Nicely, there was a new LCD flatscreen in my room. Shower worked well and the bathroom as well as my bed were clean.

Breakfast is ok (toast, ham, cheese, tea, and coffee (?)). The staff at the reception desk is very helpful and competent in planning and giving you advise for your specific journey in London - just ask.

Overall, I can only recommend this hotel as it is located in a nice area and easy reachable by public transport as well as the prices are fair for London standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XelaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Room was very clean and spacious.
The hotel employees were polite and helpful.
No elevator but we actually enjoyed the exercise up and down the stairs and loved the scale on the 1st floor wich I used every day after our long walks all over London (and pleased to say lost some weight which made me even happier than I was already).
The only thing we did not enjoy was that our full bed was not really full size but actually 2 twin beds dressed as a full bed and therefore slightly uncomfortable (I think it would not cost the owners much to change this).
But this will not keep us from staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

the hotel is in a quiet corner somewhere between three tube station. Don't be so happy for the three station, in fact that means you are far away from each of them. Despite they claimed that they are within walking distance form Paddington Station, but frankly it takes my 35-40 mins walk. Yes you still can walk but 35mins!

Wi-fi receiption in room is poor, it ison and off, you will hardly / take ages to send message / download'

My room has a very funny baby-size hand basin. and a very old and shabby chair. the chair looks so awfully, I never sit down there.

They don't offer the traditional English Breakfast, but only some toast and bread. No bacon and no sausage. Their coffee is terrible!



for their price range, you can have more better option in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very friendly reception, very decent rooms even though this time our room had a double bed that was to narrow. Excellent en suite, everything very clean. Continental buffet breakfast included, also plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#281 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#426 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#601 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#506 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Property: Caring Hotel
Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #495 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing