We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”
Review of Lidos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lidos Hotel
Ranked #377 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights with my daughter. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Victoria Coach Station and the Victoria Palace Theatre and I wasn't disappointed - both were only 15 minutes walk away, as was Victoria Underground Station.

Yes, the room was small but there was a small area to hang clothes and it was quite sufficient for the amount of time we were there. The room was on the first floor on the front of the building with a door on to a balcony but I didn't hear any noise at night (and the bus stop was right outside our window/door).

The staff were friendly, particularly on arrival when we were given directions to the Theatre and told to feel free to ask anytime if we wanted to know anything else as Reception was open 24 hours.

The whole hotel appeared to be spotless and recently decorated.

Breakfast was continental but there was plenty of it with no restriction on the amount you could have - the drinks were out of a vending machine but were, surprisingly, piping hot.

I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting London for a short time and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aford11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    356
    133
    47
    46
See reviews for
193
222
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Travel to Lidos Hotel on my recent trip to London. My criteria was simple: good location and a good price. I also wanted a bathroom in my room. Lidos had a great location near the Pimlico Underground station (east access to the tourist attractions and shopping districts as well as St. Pancras station [King's Cross] and Heathrow). My room was clean and the staff was friendly.

I'm very happy with my stay at Lidos. It was certainly a budget hotel, which is why I'm only rating it four stars, but I would certainly stay there again based on my experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensisheim, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It is hard to find a better hotel for the money, clean, good breakfast, great people on the front desk, good rooms. The hotel is ideally located with some restaurants just down the road. We have been there with total 6 people and 2 kids, flying in from France. All prefect, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton On Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Lidos for 4 days after a transatlantic cruise. We wanted to be close to Victoria station to catch the Gatwick Express to Gatwick Airport after our stay. There is a #24 bus stop right outside the front door on the hotel which takes you to the major tourist attractions & tube stations in London. There are several rewtaurants & pubs nearby.
Typically the rooms are quite small so be prepared to "live out of your suitcase" They are modern, clean & comfortable. Lidos provides a typical continental breakfast but is a bit repetitive for our 4 day stay. The staff are friendly & helpful.
The rooms are not airconditioned. We faced the street & when we opened the window at night, we heard a lot of street noise - ask for a non street side room when booking.
We booked the hotel months in advance once we had confirmed our cruise & as a result got a great rate.
Overall a very good experience

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Cookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Minimal breakfast, rooms very small and noisy, staff is friendly and helpfull. I think the hotel is too expensive for what you get, especially since it's positioned as a budget hotel.
The location is ok, in front of the hotel there is a busstop, a few minutes walk from the tube. A day ticket for the tube is also valid in the bus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollewop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just 10 minutes walk from Victoria station and with a bus stop right outside the door, The Lidos is very well placed for a visit to London. The welcome was excellent, reception gave us a map and marked the hotel and the route of the No 24 bus. Room on fourth floor was very quiet and bed was comfortable. Breakfast is continental and perfectly adequate for the day. Living in Aberdeen, the price was lower than local hotels that are far less appealing. Will definitely stay here for future London breaks.

Room Tip: We had room 405, no view, but exceptionally quiet and comfortable for London
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The rooms are small but what can you expect from an ove 100 yr old building in London! Price was fabulous and the staff was off the charts. Sher Baig, local recognised artist, works the counter at night. He is so friendly and helpful. Ask about his art!
I met the owner and his daughter, who are eaqually amazing people. Helpful and friendly. Made us feel like VIPs. The rest of the staff we as well. We never had a problem with people. Only with the travel website we booked on but it was not affiliated with the Hotel.
If you are going to London you must stay here! It is central to everything you will want to see. About a 10 mins walk to Victoria Station.
Back in January the Hotel was upgraded to a 3 star! Very nice!
Anna

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna9775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#547 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#243 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#526 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidos Hotel

Property: Lidos Hotel
Address: 43-45 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#367 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lidos Hotel is a short walk from Victoria Railway and Underground Station, providing excellent access to all areas of the city. Conveniently, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel, served by a regular bus service to Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, China Town and Oxford Street. The hotel is within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the Tate Britain Gallery and the Apollo Theatre. The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurant, cafe and pub choices as well as two nearby supermarkets. The hotel is also within easy reach of the River Thames and Downing Street. All rooms are comfortably furnished, with ensuite facilities, LCD TV and a work desk. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. An inclusive continental breakfast is offered to all guests. We have welcoming and friendly staff to cater for all your travel needs and can provide you with any information you may require during your stay. There is a 24 hour reception so guests may arrive at anytime. Guests have the possibility to store their luggage both before check-in and after check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidos Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing