We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok budget hotel ”
Review of Lidos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lidos Hotel
Ranked #428 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in better, and stayed in worse! It's clean, the staff are friendly, the bed was ok and the shower wasn't bad. The room is tiny, as is the bathroom. Basic but not bad for cheap London hotel - bathroom etc looked newly done out. As with all london hotels, a lot of noise - from the street and the room above!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Layla047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Lidos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 779 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having 36hrs to spare before returning home we booked Lidos on line based on several reviews and the fact that no rooms available at Best Western. The location for touring on foot or by public transit is excellent. We got a deal on triple room which was nice to have a single bed to lay out suitcases. The bath was so small we took pictures to show friends at home. The room fronted on Belgrave Rd where the traffic noise never stops and because there is no air movement in the room the window had to be open to get any comfort from hot and stuffy room. On the positive the staff at reception, breakfast room and maid service were all excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in room away from main street... ask for fan
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rideauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We only needed clean beds and an ensuite bathroom for one overnight in London. The Lidos met our expectations apart from the fact that our room, facing onto Belgrave Road, was very noisy. It was a warm night and there was neither air conditioning nor double glazing so we slept (intermittently) with the window open.
Staff were efficient and friendly. Basic breakfast. Decor fresh and bright. For the price, I would not have expected more.

Room Tip: Maybe basement or rear of hotel would be preferable to the front - but as we did not try these, I do...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Got a great deal on a single room for a Sunday night stay over August bank holiday. Good location within easy walking distance of Victoria coach station. Barclays cycle hire station opposite the hotel. Friendly and helpful reception staff, with free luggage storage. The room, although quite small, was very clean, with a modern bathroom. The free in-room wifi was a bonus. Breakfast was included, consisting of a selection of cereals, yoghurt, toast, croissants, plus fruit juice, tea and coffee, all served in a neat and tidy breakfast room.
For a central London hotel it would be difficult to beat for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice decor, comfortable and great location near Victoria but .... rude man on reception (other staff very nice), no double glazing, noisy road with buses, crowded twin room, breakfast room too crowded too.

Room Tip: At back away from road
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location. walked to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Cathedral and 'Wicked' Arrived by 24 bus which stopped outside. Quiet- have paid more in London for less with traffic thundering past . But this was comfy, clean and quiet. Newly refurb and good room service at low cost!Tea/ coffee and TV and new towels each day. A super shower too.Room was a bit small but it did not bother us at all. Provided good amenities at low cost. Sainsburys near and local coffee bars and restaurants. The Italian opposite 'Wicked ' fitted us in for a pre theatre meal. Great food at £10 for Spag bol. We arrived in London Saturday afternoon and surprisingly managed to go to the theatre and get tickets to see the show for the evening performance! There were a variety of prices available- no need to go the the theatre outlet boxes in Leicester Square. Will stay here when in London again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryhllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Me and my boyfriend was definitely happy with our stay here and we recommend this to everyone ! The location is convenient..just 5mins walk to london victoria coach station and same with train/tube/underground station which is great because we didn't have to take taxi. When we arrived, we were greeted and the check in was very fast and easy. Receptionist then told us that they serve breakfast from 7am-9am which we didn't have the chance to try as our flight was early in the morning. that time, there was a renovation going on but it didn't bother us as the hotel was still clean and everything seems to be in place. I was floored when we used the elevator as it was new and modern, better than the elevator of crowne plaza's hotel near buckingham where we last stayed. It''s also a plus to have bus stop just literally in front of this hotel ! We took bus 24 to go to trafalgar square..while in the bus on our way there, we saw loads of restaurants and there was a sainsbury's and tesco nearby..all we needed was just around the corner so we were happy..we were definitely happy with the location and would prefer it than crowne plaza's location.. oh, also, the receptionist would always greet you everytime you would leave and arrive..which many hotel receptionist don't do..we felt very comfortable and welcomed !

Our room as double en-suite.. i would say that it was very clean.. everything was new like the carpet, tv, the wall paper..the only thing that we didn't like was the old-looking blue super thin duvet, but then again, you have the choice not to use it as another 2 blankets were provided.. the best part of the room was the newly renovated bathroom ! 2 towels were provided, hand wash soap, shower gel and tissue too ! overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here everytime we'll be in london..we prefer this hotel than crown plaza's..we also highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Restaurant Tip: Love the Italian restaurant near the hotel and we didn't like the Mexican restaurant as the food they offered aren't authentic..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maii_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#213 of 1,073 in London
603 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#113 of 1,073 in London
2,095 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#543 of 1,073 in London
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#649 of 1,073 in London
1,406 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#571 of 1,073 in London
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidos Hotel

Address: 43-45 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#367 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $103 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lidos Hotel is a short walk from Victoria Railway and Underground Station, providing excellent access to all areas of the city. Conveniently, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel, served by a regular bus service to Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, China Town and Oxford Street. The hotel is within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the Tate Britain Gallery and the Apollo Theatre. The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurant, cafe and pub choices as well as two nearby supermarkets. The hotel is also within easy reach of the River Thames and Downing Street. All rooms are comfortably furnished, with ensuite facilities, LCD TV and a work desk. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. An inclusive continental breakfast is offered to all guests. We have welcoming and friendly staff to cater for all your travel needs and can provide you with any information you may require during your stay. There is a 24 hour reception so guests may arrive at anytime. Guests have the possibility to store their luggage both before check-in and after check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidos Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing