We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies will love this place”
Review of Borough Market

Borough Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.84*
and up
Independent London Markets Tour with Private Driver
Ranked #17 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing food market dating back to the 13th century.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Foodies will love this place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

As everyone says , this is a foodies paradise. Food from all over... The smells and the sights are amazing...

Well worth a visit - only downside is that can get quite busy at times

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,174
    2,349
    303
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grilled cheese sandwich and raclette, a must!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very crowded farmers market but the grilled cheese sandwich stand is a must (and the raclette). Chorizo sandwich was really yummm too! Totally worth braving the crowds and the lines!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbear613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Foodie's Paradise”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are endless opportunities to indulge in international cuisine and local favorites.

My senses were on overload as I entered. My nose tried to differentiate between odors that permeated the open market place. My eyes scanned the different kiosks. Colors and alluring signs pulled me from one stall to the next. In many spots, I was able to touch and taste samples while I listened to the everyday chatter of nearby people and the constant hum of traffic. So much was happening simultaneously. I felt swept up by the experience.

The Borough Market is open Thursday and Friday afternoons and during the day on Saturday. It is located near the London Bridge tube stop. If you love food and are in London, it would be hard to pass up this experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandyB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
449 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I am almost hesitant to write a review as I don't want to contribute to the Market becoming any more popular than it already is! Just about any type of food is available here: "exotic" meats such as zebra and ostrich burgers to vegetarian mushroom pate. Wheatgrass smoothies or Pimm's cups, pieminster pies and artisan chocolates--oh my! And samples, almost everyone will give you a sample. You could probably get full just from the samples. But I doubt you will come away without buying something. YUM!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick visit but will go back!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stumbled upon borough market, when we was waiting to go to the view at the shard (just round corner). So we only had a short walk around, but there was so much to see and buy, a foodie heaven! Bought some biscuits which were to die for (homemade). Will be going back to spend more time looking round, well worth a visit, and you can eat there in the many cafes, stalls.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kazzy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borough Market also viewed

 

Been to Borough Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing