We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've been coming here since it opened”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria
Ranked #112 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I've been coming here since it opened”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great 'gastropub' food in the middle of a residential area outside Richmond Park. Great food. Worth a visit, but it's not cheap.

Valentine's Day sharing menu was fantastic - five starters and five puddings with a main course. Wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPoloLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
53
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Great pub/restaurant atmosphere
Food outstanding
Fantastic front of house (Alex and Marek)
Receptive management always looking to improve (Greg)
Staff always upbeat and courteous
Even my Yorkshire mates thought it top drawer (full English probably!)

Thoroughly recommended, give it a try

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This uses to be a favourite of ours. Have used both the restaurant and rooms many times. It used to be good. But this has all changed

After 3 bad experiences, I thought that it was not just bad luck but rather the place has changed. We won't be back

The staff are very complacent and te manager is just plain very rude

Would not recommend this place to anyone anymore. A great pity

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadWarrior298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVic7rt, Owner at The Victoria, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear RoadWarrior298,

Firstly, thank you very much for your comments, we take these very seriously, good or no so good and these become a yardstick of how we perform accross our customer base.
I have just picked up your comments and am very sorry for the issues experienced recently
and would like to meet with you to attempt to build back your lost confidence in our front of house performance.
If you would like to contact me directly on greg@thevictoria.net or call me on 0208 876 4238 I would be most grateful as I would appreciate the opportunity to rectify your previous issues.
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

There a great pubs and there are great restaurants - but what if you combined the two? What do you think the result might look like? My wife and I discovered just that, culinary paradise in a relaxed, informal and convivial atmosphere, when we recently visited The Victoria, a gastro pub within spitting distance of Richmond Park owned and run by the renowned chef Paul Merrett. In fact to call The Victoria a gastro pub would be far too simplistic; Paul is a Michelin starred chef with years of experience in London fine dining restaurants and has brought his undoubted skills to the table in a way that transforms simple ingredients into meals that are, all be they served in a pub, rather extraordinary. Not only that, a finely crafted menu where provenance of the ingredients is a core strand running through the business results in meals of exquisite excellence, but without the fancy-schmancy price tag of a fine dining restaurant or more pretentious establishment where punters usually pay through the nose for the privilege.

As well as being a great pub and a place to eat, The Victoria is also a wonderful hotel-cum-B&B where visitors can use the venue as a base from which to explore the capital city - and we look forward to the summer when we hope to stay for a day or two there. It should also be noted that The Victoria offers a Saturday Brunch, Sunday, breakfast and children's menu - so it really is a go-to destination for lovers of real, tasty tucker.

Back to the meal. Our choice was from the a la carte menu which, for the quality of cuisine on offer, is amazingly priced; starters coming in at around £7. My wife had the goat's curd on chargrilled sourdough with beetroot and honeycomb whilst I plumped for the smoked chicken and shaved fennel salad with blood orange and saffron emulsion. Both starters were delectable and whetted the appetite for the main event. In the red corner, my wife had 28 day aged steak with a beautiful Bernaise sauce and thrice cooked chips; chunky little numbers served beautifully in a mini chip basket - and in the blue corner, I decided on the braised Ox cheeks, slow cooked to meltingly tender perfection in a delicious jus with baby root vegetables, a silky smooth mash and a parsley crumb. We washed this down with a glass of excellent white wine from the extensive wine list and I, a pint of artisan brewery ale from Devon, one of The Victoria's regular guest ales.

We drove two hours to visit The Victoria and in all honesty, we would have driven three, the meal was that good. If Paul Merrett ever wants to visit St Albans and open up there, I for one and of course my wife will be taking up permanent residence. To recap: to call The Victoria a pub is far too simplistic although a pub is what it ostensibly is. In terms of quality of dining experience however, it really is very much more than a gastro pub and has a highly innovative menu with dishes made from well sourced ingredients sold at prices which, for the quality and experience of the chef, are astoundingly classy. I implore you to try The Victoria once. If you do, you will discover probably the best 'pub food' you will have ever tasted - and a dining experience that will have you wanting more and more and then some more!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank barry1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVic7rt, Owner at The Victoria, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you very much for your great review and Paul and I look forward to seeing back here sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Venue. Food. Service - all fab-u-lous.

I'd booked Sunday lunch for 12 ladies - a baby shower lunch. Due to traffic some of us were very late, but staff were accommodating and made sure we never felt rushed and even managed to switch tables around so that we wouldnt have to be thrown off our table.
The food was simply divine too. (The table actually went quiet for a a good 15 mins.)
Am definitely plannng on going back to devour the rest of the menu....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria because my husband had business in the area. What a delightful inn and pub. It's been located in this neighborhood for over a hundred years and feels like you've stepped back in time when you walk in the door and see warm fires blazing and people visiting. The neighborhood now is very upscale. There is a school behind the building and after school on Friday the pub was filled with Moms and their children. The wait staff were dispensing hot chocolate and crisps right along with the coffee. Such a treat to see everyone having such a good time.
Our room was #7 in the small hotel/inn located behind the pub. We were very comfortable there and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Sammy took us under her wing and helped us get to the places we needed to go. She even went to the trouble to write out the train times and exact directions about how to get from here to there. When we asked for a taxi to Mortlake train station, one was called and arrived promptly. The service was exceptional - beyond anything ever expected!
The food was outstanding. Excellent presentation! We loved everything we had. Even the continental breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Number 7 was a great room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have to say that I was disappointed.

We had Room 1 on the ground floor. It has a window out towards the kitchen, so the curtain needs to be shut all the time. The room had no pictures, prints or anything on any walls and looked really stark. The carpet was stained again (see earlier review) and thats as there is no door mat or the like and coming from the outside straight onto a cream carpet is bound to lead to disaster ! The towel rail didnt work in the bathroom, which was cramped.

BUT

The staff were all without exception charming.

Dinner was good, especially the crab and mackerel.

Breakfast was excellent, truly excellent and included in the price.

This was the only hotel anywhere in London on the mid week night I stayed with any availability at a decent price, so was a saviour.

I fell bad rating it as average, but that's what it was.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccassionalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVic7rt, Owner at The Victoria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we take all feedback very seriously.
Firstly, thanks you for your kind remarks on both the staff and the food, we train hard behind the scenes and have chsoen proffessionals that reall care about the industry they work in with a big love of both food and beverage.
Regarding room 1: There is frosting on the low level windows and a light curtain so there is privacy in the Summer months too. We have just repainted all rooms with new artwork currently on order so I agree the room looks stark but hopefully fresh & clean. We have someone coming to make changes to the outside matting and inside to ensure the florring is kept clean. We currently dry clean this carpet monthly. All heating and towel timings have been set for 6am - 11am & 4pm - 11pm.
We hope to see you soon & please email us on bookings@thevictoria.net with your next booking and we will discount your stay in the hope of buiding bridges.
Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Greg Bellamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
5.6 mi away
The Paddington Hotel
The Paddington Hotel
#854 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#610 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.3 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria

Property: The Victoria
Address: 10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria is a public house and dining room with hotel rooms set in a leafy residential area by Richmond Park. All seven hotel rooms, refurbished in May 2011, feature: Queen sized beds • en-suite shower rooms • Egyptian cotton bedding • Wi-Fi access • Flat screen television • IPod docking system • Complimentary tea and coffee • Complimentary mineral water • Preferential restaurant reservations during your stay. The refurbished pub and dining room have some charming new features and some original old features which have been lovingly restored under the ownership of critically acclaimed Chef Paul Merrett and Restaurateur Greg Bellamy. Enjoy delicious food in our conservatory dining room, with sumptuous wine from our extensive list. Relax with a pint and a steak sandwich in the pub. Chill at the weekend with brunch or a roast, while the children enjoy the outdoor play area. Gossip over coffee with home-made cake or unwind with a summer BBQ in our beautiful garden. After all that, you’ll need a good night’s sleep in one of our popular en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing