We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, friendly staff”
Review of The Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Victoria
Ranked #127 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were shown to our room on the first floor and were pleasantly surprised. The room had a fantastic feature wall with stunning wallpaper, with cushions and curtains to match. The room overlooked the flat roof of the kitchen so had opaque frosting on the window. the bedside tables were a little dusty it otherwise the room was very clean and had nice quality bed linen.

The room was lovely and warm and the beds were generally comfortable although we could here the noise of the kitchens - extractor fans, voices etc. Ok with the window closed but open we cold hear a general hubbub.

The bathroom required some refurbishment; the shower was lovely and hot but the grouting was black in pages and water did not drain quickly - fine is you don't mind paddling! The soap holder on the sink was rusted although the soap itself was divine, smelling of fizzy cola bottles! The towels were on the small side and the heated towel rail did not work.

The free wifi was fast and easy to access.

Breakfast was a delight with a mix of pastries, cereals, breads, yogurts, fruit and cheese. The choice of 6 or so jams appeared homemade. We were not offered a cooked option.
Staff were friendly and the coffee was very good. Gluten free toast as well as some chocolate muffins were served - a nice touch showing that they cared.

Would I stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I called in recently with relatives for a coffee and beer. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the drinks served promptly and brought to our table. The seating was comfortable and although the abience was somewhat muted (the pub was quite empty) the relative silence made for easy conversation. Although we didn't eat the menu looked quite appetising and reasonably priced. I will update you all if and when we do eat here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOGWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thank you to The Victoria for another great evening of great food, lovely ambiance and good service. I frequently eat here - it's the perfect place to take a parent or catch up with good friends over a glass of wine - and am never disappointed. My staple is to pick two starters and the mini pudding - the perfect size packed full of interesting and thoughtful flavours. The bar are also very accommodating of my small dog who happily sleeps under the table in the bar. These things all combine to make this one of my favourite local restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed twice, wouldn't have come back from choice, but have family nearby. Rooms basic, quite masculine, gloomy en suite, thick dust below bedhead and under bed not hoovered too well, though otherwise clean. Breakfast lovely the first time, less so the second, with cheap white bread as the only toast option. Main issue for me was lack of warm welcome and feeling of being looked after, almost like the hotel was an afterthought to the restaurant and bar. It was just about ok the first time, but on my second visit I sat alone at breakfast and no one offered tea or coffee until I got up to go. Planes are an issue too and like another reviewer, I experienced early morning doors banging and noise. Overall, I would probably pay £75 and reckon £120 is over the top for the quality of rooms and service

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Victoria is a really nice Gastro Pub with accomodation at the back of the building.
The pub itself is great, well decorated and with a restaurant which is very popular and the staff are generally excellent and friendly.
The downside is the accomodation which is not cheap but unfortunately extremely basic.
Not much attempt at decor and the bathroom, while adequate in size was dismally lit - surely it would not take much to improve this. Breakfast was excellent, absolutely no complaints there!
It would take much to upgrade the rooms and then this would be a really excellent place to stay in the area, it has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: I understand that the ground floor room is larger than those upstairs. Can be a bit noisy but that...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVic7rt, Front Office Manager at The Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

We have recently added extra lights in all the hotel bathrooms, and are in the process of selecting art work for each hotel room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pleasant place right under one of the Heathrow flight paths (expect to be woken before 6 if the routing is not in your favour!). Modest room, comfortable bed, small bathroom. Very basic toiletries and in room coffee. Good breakfast, but this does not make up for the high price for what you get. Friendly staff and quiet (apart from planes) location.

Beware of the description on the internet booking form, the rooms are not described separately and you may not get the location or bed size you see. Cancellation terms are extremely confusing.

Overall this place majors on the food - which is good.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor at the rear, eg no 5
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't write reviews often unless I feel compelled to share an awful experience, but this time I have to say thank you to The Victoria in East Sheen for restoring my faith that there are still pubs who care about their food. Our meal was fairly simple but very well done. The ingredients were good quality and there were some nice touches that I didn't expect. The mid-week lunch menu is good value and I will no doubt be going back soon. Combining lunch with a long walk across Richmond Park was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingvic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
The Paddington Hotel
#874 of 1,072 in London
385 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#634 of 1,072 in London
591 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#875 of 1,072 in London
8,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Inn Hotel
#10 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
194 reviews
Marylebone
The Marble Arch London
The Marble Arch London
#610 of 1,072 in London
472 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#521 of 1,072 in London
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria

Address: 10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $130 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria is a public house and dining room with hotel rooms set in a leafy residential area by Richmond Park. All seven hotel rooms, refurbished in May 2011, feature: Queen sized beds • en-suite shower rooms • Egyptian cotton bedding • Wi-Fi access • Flat screen television • IPod docking system • Complimentary tea and coffee • Complimentary mineral water • Preferential restaurant reservations during your stay. The refurbished pub and dining room have some charming new features and some original old features which have been lovingly restored under the ownership of critically acclaimed Chef Paul Merrett and Restaurateur Greg Bellamy. Enjoy delicious food in our conservatory dining room, with sumptuous wine from our extensive list. Relax with a pint and a steak sandwich in the pub. Chill at the weekend with brunch or a roast, while the children enjoy the outdoor play area. Gossip over coffee with home-made cake or unwind with a summer BBQ in our beautiful garden. After all that, you’ll need a good night’s sleep in one of our popular en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing