We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub lunch in a long time”
Review of The Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria
Ranked #114 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pub lunch in a long time”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't write reviews often unless I feel compelled to share an awful experience, but this time I have to say thank you to The Victoria in East Sheen for restoring my faith that there are still pubs who care about their food. Our meal was fairly simple but very well done. The ingredients were good quality and there were some nice touches that I didn't expect. The mid-week lunch menu is good value and I will no doubt be going back soon. Combining lunch with a long walk across Richmond Park was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingvic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
53
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for a family visit to London . There were 7 of us altogether. We had four rooms all of which were very nicely decorated. Our daughters shared a room on the ground floor which was the largest of the four rooms. It was very spacious with a nice sized bathroom and lovely comfortable bed, the down side was that the window looked out on the passage way to the other bedrooms and was very near the kitchen so was quite noisy if you had the window open and quite dark. The other 3 rooms were all smaller but lighter, big enough but with very small bathrooms with inadequate lighting. The towel rails were on the wall above the loo resulting in one towel ending up the the loo during the course of the weekend! The beds in those rooms were a disappointment. They were wooden frames with very firm mattresses meaning they were not comfortable to sleep on. The mattresses didn't fit the frames properly and the framing at the end of the bed was covered with a throw, which looked nice but because you couldn't see the bed frame which stuck out quite a long way, at least 2 of us bumped in to the frames ending up with large bruises on our legs.The rooms were very warm. In the two rooms upstairs we were able to leave the windows open at night which helped but downstairs we didn't like to as it didn't feel safe, especially as one was accessible from the carpark. In all the rooms, even the upstairs rooms it could be quite noisy, mainly from the kitchen/waiting staff, I don't think they realised quite how the noise traveled. On the upside, the food was fantastic! We had a beautiful 3 course meal on the Friday evening when we got there, everything was perfect, not a single complaint, which is unusual for us! The cooked breakfast was very good too, the only disappointment was the price we had to pay for it. We knew there was a supplement for a Full English breakfast but when we came to pay the bill it was more than we had been expecting (although this was rectified), but not as much as the full price on the menu, however, if you had any other cooked breakfast you were charged full menu prices rather than just a supplement which we doesn't seem fair. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely and very helpful, it is a lovely place in a lovely area and the food (however much we were charged) was beautiful. We would recommend it to friends and family but would warn them about the beds and the overpriced breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've been to dine at The Victoria on a few occasions now, but this is the 1st time I've stayed overnight in the hotel.

Situated in a quiet residential area close to Richmond park, The Victoria is owned by Greg Bellamy & Paul Merrett, it's an ideal base from which to explore Wimbledon, Twickenham, Hampton Court, Richmond & Kew Gardens.

Check-in is at the bar, and the rooms are in a separate building at the back of the pub. Clean, modern & adequately furnished, the room I stayed in had an extremely comfortable bed, compact en-suite and garment hanging rail instead of wardrobe (a good idea!), and not forgetting a complimentary tray of tea & coffee. As the rooms aren't above the pub, I could hear no noise from the bar or dining room, so if you need to have an early night there's no danger of being kept awake by drinkers & diners.

A continental breakfast with cereals, fruit juices, pastries, breads, fruits & meats is included in the price of the room - help yourself to as much as you want. A cooked breakfast is also available for a supplement (I had a VERY full English, and it was HUGE!).

Dining at The Victoria is something NOT to be missed, it was voted London's Best Gastro Pub at The Great Pub Awards in 2011. With Michelin starred celebrity chef Paul Merrett at the helm, the kitchen team produce wonderful food of a consistently high quality. This is a restaurant where I am quite happy to try something new to me - and I have never been disappointed. You can choose to dine in the pub area, in the conservatory restaurant or in the picturesque walled garden (which has a fully-functioning outdoor kitchen in use in good weather).

Greg & Paul have created a haven of warmth - their staff are friendly, professional & work extremely hard to ensure your stay here is a pleasurable one. I look forward to visiting The Victoria again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Generally the service at The Victoria seemed to be lacking some what. A couple of members of staff were very friendly and welcoming but the majority seemed a bit confused and overwhelmed by the under-taking of the services that The Victoria is offering.

The room we stayed in was very nice. It was a good size with nice modern décor and most importantly, it was very clean. The bathroom was small but adequate. The only downside to the room was that it was very hot and stuffy. An electric fan was supplied but it was too small for both of us to get any benefit from it.

Breakfast was very nice. There was a continental buffet for guests which had a lot of options including lots of tasty healthy stuff. One morning we had a cooked breakfast (full English) which was one of the best we'd ever had but unfortunately the cooked breakfasts are not included in the price of the room which we found disappointing for a B&B of this standard.

We had a three-course evening meal at The Victoria which was extremely good. There was a great choice on the menu and everything was cooked to perfection. The only downside was that some of the waiters/waitresses didn't seem to know what the food was that they were serving and it seemed a little unprofessional. The food itself deserves 5 stars.

The location is a 5 minute drive from Richmond high street. It is out of the way in a leafy residential area and therefore nice and quiet compared with other hotels in the London area. Richmond Park is also easily reached on foot from The Victoria. There is the added benefit of a car park at the back of the pub which was a relief to find on arrival.

The pub bar and dining areas are very smart as well as comfortable and provides a relaxing environment to spend time. The décor is very tasteful. The garden is also worth mentioning as it is a nice size with plenty of seating and is obviously well maintained.

The best thing about The Victoria is enjoying their delicious food in the beautiful surroundings. The service could do with improving though to make the whole experience extra special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_HSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Really love this place, the food is outstanding, as are the staff. Great location very close to Richmond Park

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markstewart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in April at The Victoria principally because my brother's house is walking distance from it. The pub reminded me of a country watering hole, where locals appeared with their dogs to chat and drink a cup of coffee or a beer -- an English sort of "Cheers", where everybody knows your name. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious -- greek yogurt, fruit, freshly baked bread and pastries, cereal, cappuccino, and I had some very good mussels for lunch one day. The accomodations on the other hand were not comparable. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the room clean, but it was otherwise lacking for the price. Neither My 6'2" husband nor I was able to comfortably shower; the lights in the bedroom and the bathroom left much to be desired. Would we return? Yes, if my brother's house was full to the brim, but I do think something could be done about the lighting and the mirror in the bathroom.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I were visiting London for a friends wedding and this was close to Richmond park so we decided to come a night early have a relaxing meal and stay over for two nights.
On arrival we were shown to our room which was a reasonable size.The welcome we received was really nice, the staff seemed
We had dinner reservations and were sat in the conservatory,The meal was fantastic, great choice of dishes with old favourites sat besides new innovative dishes, the scallops were divine, My husbands rib eye melted in the mouth and if I wasn't married i'd have run away with the chef just for the chips! The wine list had a really good selection.This was one of the best meals we have had in a very long time.
After our wheel we retreated back to our room for a restful nights sleep, we were woken at 7am, slightly rudely by the noise, banging doors and general noise.Not a huge problem but we were hoping for a lie in.The bathroom in the room was very small and the shower was in need of a refurb as was a bit weak and the cubicle was very small.
Breakfast, upgraded to a full English.Wow.Food is very much the Victoria's thing , the breakfast was gorgeous, Well worth the £6.50 extra.We didn't eat again until 6pm!
We stayed another night and had another early morning wake up but otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammygee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
5.6 mi away
The Paddington Hotel
The Paddington Hotel
#855 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#616 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria

Property: The Victoria
Address: 10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria is a public house and dining room with hotel rooms set in a leafy residential area by Richmond Park. All seven hotel rooms, refurbished in May 2011, feature: Queen sized beds • en-suite shower rooms • Egyptian cotton bedding • Wi-Fi access • Flat screen television • IPod docking system • Complimentary tea and coffee • Complimentary mineral water • Preferential restaurant reservations during your stay. The refurbished pub and dining room have some charming new features and some original old features which have been lovingly restored under the ownership of critically acclaimed Chef Paul Merrett and Restaurateur Greg Bellamy. Enjoy delicious food in our conservatory dining room, with sumptuous wine from our extensive list. Relax with a pint and a steak sandwich in the pub. Chill at the weekend with brunch or a roast, while the children enjoy the outdoor play area. Gossip over coffee with home-made cake or unwind with a summer BBQ in our beautiful garden. After all that, you’ll need a good night’s sleep in one of our popular en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing