We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in South Kensington.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Chose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and the location. Lived up to our expectations. Location, decor, ambience, staff, room and breakfast were all great. Would liked to have stayed for longer, so we will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,294 - 2,300 of 3,576 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Superb boutique hotel in South Kensington! The staff was excellent, the room was surprisingly large and impeccable, and the insanely close location to the tube made our trip to London an unparalleled experience!! Definitely a hotel to use again!! We loved the personal touches of the postcards!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A 1 minute walk to the nearest Tube station and very close proximity to all of London's main shopping/dining/cultural sites,the location of this hotel is one of the items of a very long list of reasons to stay here.
On a recent trip to London as an engagement present,my dad paid for us to spend our one night in London at this hotel. Even though we arrived well before the advertised check in time,we were given immediate access to our Superior (upgraded) room. The decor is unique,the bed so comfy you might never want to leave and the heated tiles in the bathroom are that little something else that makes this hotel stand out from your other luxury hotels I have stayed in.
Thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast - excellent range and quality produce,only downside was that I got full before I could try everything I wanted to!
Both myself and my fiancee are tall so the upgrade to the Superior room was much appreciated as this would still have been on the small side if we had more than an overnight bag.
All in all would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to London. Very,very impressed.
The hotel is directly over an underground station so at times you get the rumble as a train passes underneath but this didn't bother us at all during our stay

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple then book Superior room or above,as while gorgeous,the rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minx_in_the_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went to London for our anniversary in December. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a good size and nicely decorated (i think a deluxe room, one with the bird prints on the wall). The bathroom was nice and modern with a powerful, large shower head that I loved.
Our rate did not include breakfast but there are lots of places to pick something up beside the tube station which is very close by - maybe a 2 minute walk. We visited Paul cafe one day and another independent cafe for a cooked breakfast another day. There are a couple of nice restaurants on the pedestrian street beside the tube station, including a tapas one where we ate dinner one evening and would recommend.
We chose the hotel as we wanted to visit the museums and Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. We were able to walk to the Natural History, Victoria and Albert and Science Museum within 5 minutes and we also walked up to Hyde Park from the hotel too which took around 15 minutes.
We did not use any of the hotel's bars/ restaurants so can not comment on service there but we wanted to extend our stay by one night and the staff on the reception desk were very friendly and helpful.
It is not a cheap hotel, but it was worth the money for the service, quality, modern, luxury feel inside and the location. However it is a shame to spend so much money on such a lovely hotel and then spend all day and evening elsewhere out and about sightseeing!
Only scored down on sleep quality as it is an old building and there are a few creaks and noises (particularly one like pipes from inside the wall near the bed) that disturbed me as I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agathaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Ampersand is located in the fantastic Kensington area. You have easy access to parks, museums, great restaurants, and tube stations. Staff was extremely nice, and tea room is lovely.
The only caveat is that the standard room is a tight squeeze for 2 people. The dimensions are posted on the Ampersand site but when you factor in luggage + bed space, there is barely any room left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

had good time here. room was small since i reserved a normal double room, but facilities are new and well-equipped. every staffs are helpful, kind and responsive to my requests. the location is also very convenient. few minutes from v&a museum, south kensington station and many good chain-restauranats.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I especially commend the reception staff, with an extra plus to Indira and Izabel.
The hotel's location is very, very good, as I already knew from previous experiences in nearby lodgings.
I found prices somewhat high for my budget limitations - but overall I think it was worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drosen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,115 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,895 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $230 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing